We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect short stay and business hotel in the heart of old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We (mature couple) decided to catch a bit of spring and the mall in Mendrisio. Decided to stay in the old town of Lugano, with a small train connecting hotel with main railway station. I had spent a night at this hotel years ago on a business trip. The service, the quality of the room, bed, lighting, bathroom, is absolutely impressive. Breakfast buffet spread is very generious and very good quality. All staff seem to enjoy what they are doing and are keen to make the guests feel at home and make the Lugano Dante their first choice in Lugano. The reception area with comfortable seats, coffee, tea and lots of newspapers is a great plus. Hope to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: reception knows the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADStocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

It's not often you stay in a hotel where you start panicking because you only have 25 minutes for breakfast and that's never going to be enough time to have all the things you want. The breakfast is amazing, such a wide range of delicious fresh sweet and savoury options.

Aside from that, I have only positive thoughts. The rooms are nice, I'm in a single which is small but that's what you get when you travel on business! It's fine though, and the shower is superb and drains properly, which isn't always the case! Free minibar (booze free, understandable) is good and there are always cakes and sweet about in reception which is a nice touch. Free wi-fi anywhere in the hotel is also much appreciated.

Finally, all the staff are great. Every single person says hello to you and are happy to help with anything. I really cannot think of a single negative thing to say, especially for a hotel blessed with such an ideal location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissTGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The staff is attentif, nice and helpful, very good service! our room was comfortable and quiet, the breakfast had a variety of choice and was very good, the reception area is cozy with free coffee or tea and small nice things to eat and newspapers. The free wireless through the whole hotel for several accesses per room was well functioning, the conference room had a good atmosphere, was functional, the after-conference apéritif good, well presented and the lady who served attentif, discreet and friendly, always with a smile. Maybe a small minus: no view, but in the center, 5 minutes (with the "funicolare" from the main station and few walking minutes from the lake. We plan to come again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohimesama2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Outside the weather was very cold, in hotel very much like at second home, friendly and warm.
The position is very convenient and in few minutes we could reach every where.
The ideal place for lovely romantic weekend. The day start with one of the best breakfast we ever found around the countries we travel regularly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzoHongKong_Cina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Staff was very nice and helpfull. No need to write a long review, I concur the the other positive comments. Very good, central location. Excellent buffet breakfast.
I will go back for sure.

Room Tip: rooms are sound proof. I had no complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

It is an elegant and quiet hotel although it is located in the center of Lugano in the proximity of the lake, shops and restaurants. Rooms were lovely, perfectly clean with comfortable beds and different types of pillows. The buffet breakfast was fantastic. Free Wifi and non-alcoholic minibar, complimentary afternoon tea/coffee. Staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dennis6723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel a week every summer for the past 15 years or so. All my family members enjoy staying here. This is an establishment that is well managed and you see this in the personalized service and in the developments that the hotel undergoes regularly. Step outside the hotel and you're only a few steps away from Piazza della Riforma with its lovely little restaurants and boutiques, and the lake is a 5-minute walk away. Don't miss breakfast here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.9 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
International au Lac Historic Lakeside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $204 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing