We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent hotel for outstanding staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for outstanding staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

I decided to try the Dante rather than the usual hotel I use in Lugano... And I was so glad that I did. The hotel was superb with clean and well-furnished rooms. The service was the best I have ever experienced. The staff was friendly, informative and genuinely helpful. It was also in a great location -next to downtown Lugano and only a 10-minute walk from the main rail station.

The hotel was a bit more expensive that my usual hotel in Lugano. But all the extras include in the normal tariff (free non-alcoholic mini-bar, free breafast, free coffee service, free extremely fast Wi-Fi) easily makes the higher price a real bargain.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Dante and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adeytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    288
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
321
623
150
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

great service
amazing breakfast
perfect location
one of the best hotel ever!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meli8095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hotel has the perfect location in the city center, either for business or pleasure. Shops, reaturants and businesses are close by. The rooms are comfortable in size and interior. Wlan is free within the entire hotel which is a great plus compared to other business hotels in Lugano. Breakfat buffet is large and well supplied, staff is very friendly and attentive. Overall the staff are friendly, very eager and anticipate the needs of their guests. You feel welcome at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PascalPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel is very conveniently located at the bottom of the funicular from the train station with the entrance on to an open square. It is close to the lake and is in the main plarfely pedestrianised shopping area of the town. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby.
Our first impressions on arriving at the hotel were very good. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were numerous jars of sweets, etc on the desk to help yourself to!!
Our room was a bit small but this is a hotel in the middle of a large town. Our window overlooked the square outside. The only problem with this was the funicular starts very early and is a bit irritating if you have the windows open as we did. The bed was very comfortable and the choice of pillows was superb - a real plus for me as I hate the soft pillows so many hotels seem to supply. There were even mini toblerone chocolates on the bed for us! The downside for us (and the reason for a rating of very good rather than excellant) was the bathroom. It contained everything you needed, including the best set of toiletries we had come across, but it was all far too squessed in. The shower cubicle was almost touching the toilet which was nearly under the sink. There was also a bidet which took up space that could have been better used by moving the toilet to where it was. There was also a plastic duck which had a 'please take me home' sign!
As others have said the breakfast provided in this hotel is absolutely second to none. There was everything you could think of available and it was delicious. There were even cakes and similar items that had been made by named members of staff. I have never seen so many different varieties of croissant!
All in all this is a great place to stay in a great location within the town. I would certainly stay there again - I will be dreaming of those breakfasts until then!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have stayed twice in this hotel. First stay, I chose it for the perfect location with a reasonable rate. Second time, not only for the first reasons, but also a great service. It is located at the heart of Lugano.If you come by train, you need to take a "funiculare" to get down to town. And the hotel is just by the funiculare stop. If you come by car, they have a very interesting indoors parking place. Service is great, staff is very friendly, rooms are moderate but very comfortable (and the mini bar is included in the price) and the breakfast is great. Generally in Swiss hotels of this range, the breakfast is quite poor. But in Dante it is rich and satisfying. Also the room rates are quite reasonable compared to Swiss hotels in general, considering the fact that it is in the center of a very popular destination that is Lugano. I visit Lugano at least once a year and will never look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

The hotel is located in the centre of Lugano. If you arrive by train there is a funicular from the train station to the entrance of the hotel.(Cost Sfr 1.10)
The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room (402) had a shower, no bath. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have ever had.The selection of food was endless.They also have complimentary coffee and pastries in the lobby.
I shall definitely stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeT0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This was our second visit to this charming hotel.
Our initial room was not to our satisfaction but we were immediately resettled without a fuss.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is great especially if you are arriving by train.
Breakfast is excellent and room quiet and clean.
We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: higher floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELLER795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.9 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lugano Dante Center is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 83 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing