We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location & Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went to Lugano for the weekend and stayed at the Best Western.

The weekend was flawless, excellent hotel staff support and the views from the hotel are stunning. All in front of the lake.

The hotel il about 800m from the center of Lugano.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XPSM1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 170 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel was lovely but,make sure you get a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. It is well worth the extra cost. The staff was extremely helpful an nice to look at The bus to the center of town was directly across from the hotel but one could take a 15-20 minute walk to the center. The park Civico was definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Stanley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

After a long 5 hour train ride in hot summer, the arrival at the best western lugano was relatively easy and with air condition. The room was nice with a view on the mountain and the swimming pool (closed at night!). The bathroom was extremely small with a tiny squeezed shower. Bed was confy. Breakfast was simple a bit more than a continental breakfast but definitely less than a buffet breakfast. Worth like a good best western with a nice price.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank SushiTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed here a few times over the past years. Main feature is the fantastic location: the hotel is located in front of the Lugano lake, and if you pay the price you can even get a room with a lake view. Walking along the lake promenade, you can reach the city centre of Lugano in about 10 to 15 minutes.
Marvellous service: of course the Swiss have a reputation to uphold, but this hotel succeeds marvellously in this and raises friendliness to a level seldomly seen - especially in nearby Italy...
The rooms are good, with all amenities in working order, and clean - though in Switzerland one does not expect less.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyKingBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I have always been impressed by the standard of Best Western Hotels but this one let me down a bit. The staff were as usual very polite and friendly but this hotel is tired and needs a refurb. The room was large but seriously outdated. I don't think it was ver clean either as there were fish moths crawling about. The heating was bad - either too hot then freezing.

Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice hotel, overlooking the lake of Lugano. Parking is available, at a short distance, in a separate garagebuilding. Competent and friendly staff. The city centre is at a walking distance of 10-15 minutes, but the walk is very nice, along the lake. The hotel itself has probably had better days, but the standard remains very good. The same can be said for the restaurant, the setting is a bit less attractive (sort of veranda) but service and food are excellent. Rooms are nice. It is true that the swimming pool is a bit old as well, but it is still possible to have a good and relaxing swim. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delagioventu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

No offence to the staff which was indeed very friendly but the overall experience and the expected services were very disappointing.

Firstly, we paid 300 Euros for a triple sharing room for 3 adults and were expecting a full size extra bed fit for an adult. However, the extra bed given was hardly comfortable for a toddler.

We booked the room through booking.com which was fine but there was no mention of the hotel not being fully functional. When we got here, the receptionist Janka was quiet helpful and friendly. The disappointment was a closed kitchen. The restaurants were not functional and for having traveled for 4 hours you expect something as basic as food! When we asked if we could get some food heated in the kitchen, it wasn't entertained at all, and on being persistent cause of hunger and out of laziness to step out, I was spoken to very rudely.

When we tried to use the phone, we couldn't make any kinda service calls within the hotel so it felt like you were at home and had to open your door and scream for whatever you want.

I would like to mention again that the staff was helpful with whatever they could do in their domain like getting us extra pillows and hot water for tea but the overall experience at this hotel was extremely terrible.

After all this, the least they could do was offer us a discount due to lack of facilities promised, hence, I feel cheated for my money!

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel, atleast this time of the year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank janki28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Eden
Grand Hotel Eden
#29 of 45 in Lugano
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#8 of 45 in Lugano
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
#10 of 45 in Lugano
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac

Address: Riva Antonio Caccia 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: $235 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Bellevue au Lac, a jewel of the Lugano lake full of tradition and history, is located right on the Lugano lakeside promenade, only a few minutes walk from the historic centre. It offers a superb view over the Lugano bay and the surrounding mountains. New Suites and fully renovated, air-conditioned rooms with balcony and stunning view over the lake. WI-FI Internet connection is available free of charge in the whole building. A heated outdoor swimming pool (24°) with relaxing area and the Bellevue Bar with terrace and lake view will make your holiday just perfect. Moreover Le Gourmet and Il Giardinetto Restaurants offer an excellent local and international Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lugano
Lugano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing