We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It helps to know some Italian here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Eden
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It helps to know some Italian here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although you are in Switzerland and pay in Swiss Francs, you may as well be in Italy and can get there, technically, on one of the boat cruises on the lake to some small villages. Our 2 days there, we had overcast the entire time so we couldn't see all of the beauty there. The hotel has a good view of the lake and directly across the street is their bar, restaurant, gym, and indoor pool. The staff is helpful and the room as well as lobby are nicely decorated.

Room Tip: When checking out and given the choice of paying in swiss francs or us dollars, choose the swiss fra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimPFairOaksCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    119
    40
    26
    13
See reviews for
45
91
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

this place feels like the inside of a mausoleum or a crypt. everything is terribly dark, furniture, carpets, walls. if you add a winter the view on the lake you feel like you're in an hospice of the soviet era. more than paradiso it should be an emotional purgatory

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay here during a Tauck World Discovery tour. This hotel is distinguished in a old world charm kind of way. The location is perfect for long walks along the lake and the views outside our room facing the lake and small villages was beautiful. The mountains and lake views are something you can look at all day. I found the rooms to be comfortable and clean. Every single meal at the restaurant was great. The staff was well trained, helpful and pleasurable in every way. We enjoyed the dock side dinning and meals, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyforffun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is located very well - close to the Paradiso train station, lake lugano ferry stop and just next to the #1 bus line that connects central Lugano to Paradiso. It's also right by the lake. We stayed in the building that's not right on the water (i.e. on the other side of the road) but the angular configuration of the rooms ensured a spectacular view of the lake, surrounding areas and the water jet. Staff was very helpful and assisted us a lot with figuring out the train to Milan next day. Free wifi worked pretty well. The breakfast area is simply magnificent offering wonderful vistas of the lake and the breakfast spread was quite good with some fishes! The rooms, at least in the building we stayed in, while quite decent overall, is probably due for some renovations/updates in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepdebroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Probably this five star hotel in a real life draws for four stars. The hotel hasn't looked fresh and new one. Sometimes I felt like in some care home.
I had my late flyght so in the hotel have been around 23.00. I wanted to order some food from the restaurant, but reception told me that it's not possible, because kitchen closed. HM.... Interesting!!! If you are hungry just go to McDonalds!
The service in a hotel is the real Italian service- sometimes rude and so slow.
But one thing what I really liked and drove me crazy its view from the window.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrkaJerka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

very nice hotel .. i like staying there and i will viset it again .. however the concerge are so corporated and welcoming for any question ...
the hotel is facing the beautiful fountain of Lugano
the hotel has many facilities like a fittness area
i recomended you to stay in the hotel if u are going 2 Lugano

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kozito1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hill, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Grand Hotel Eden is situated along the shore of a very beautiful lake but it is showing its age and has outgrown its lustre. Probably the time has come to renovate and give it a facelift. Our room was big and clean, has a beautiful view of the lake but it looks dreary and antiquated the bed was not as comfortable as I expected it to be. We found this to be disappointing. I feel the elevators should be updated, It is small and although it says it holds 4 or 5 people, 3 can be really tight.

The staff was very nice and helpful, they were attentive to our request and tried their best to please, which I consider that an asset to the hotel.

Buffet breakfast has limited selection but it is good.

As you step out of the door of the hotel, you can take a nice and leisurely walk along the lake and enjoy the beauty around it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor with the view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racoonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.2 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Property: Grand Hotel Eden
Address: riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing