We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel in a beautiful place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Eden
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a beautiful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a great hotel located in beautiful Paradiso in walking distance of the Lugano city center. Spectacular views on the Lago di Lugano.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anaef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear "anaef",

Thank you for your sharing your views about your recent stay at our hotel.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Grand Hotel Eden on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    119
    42
    27
    13
See reviews for
46
92
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
452 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our car was parked at the other end of the bay and we determined to walk the whole way round to where we saw a huge water fountain spouting out of the lake like the one in Geneva.It was further than we expected and were not going to fail to reach our goal. Lunch was going to be our reward. At the end we came to some steps leading down to a waterside bar where we asked if they were serving lunch there. Little were we to know we had come to the Hotel Eden. The waiter lead us up another set of step which, do excuse me but the poet in me can't resist, I can only describe as 'a stairway to heaven'. Here was a picturesque setting of linen clothed tables set on a shaded deck overlooking the whole bay. We were able to take the one right up front and center. The staff were very traditional, a profession of which Italy must surely be very proud. We quickly realized this was going to be a five star experience. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. We chose the local pikeperch fish dish, quite easily the best fish to date. Most likely just caught from the fish farms on the lake in front of us which we had stoppe to read about. Extensive wine list but for lunch a light Sauvignon blanc was perfect. Jr waiter under close supervision from Sr waiter served us perfect coffee after it was quickly spotted that fresh milk was needed! Thank you Oasis, for a lunch we'll fondly remember.

Room Tip: I cannot speak to sleep quality but couldn't find a way to remove that rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive review about the Oasis Restaurant.

I am pleased that you could spend some unforgettable moments at our hotel and enjoy the fine cuisine of our restaurant and also the attentiveness of our staff.

As all of our personnel strives to improve our guest satisfaction, our Chef, Maître D’ and all the team is pleased to read your remarks about the lunch.

I look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back again at the Grand Hotel Eden.

Yours sincerely,
Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The first thing that impressed me was the courteous staff, extremely accommodating and ready to assist you with anything. Secondly the location and view from the room and the breakfast area is simply breathtaking. Will definitely recommend this hotel in Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KVSPune_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
We are honored to read your positive review about the experience at the Grand Hotel Eden.
I am very pleased that the friendliness and courtesy of our staff impressed you and also that you enjoyed the beautiful views from your room and breakfast area.
Together with my team, I look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back again at the Grand Hotel Eden.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We booked at very short notice to stay at this hotel, and upon arrival were upgraded to a deluxe suite, a luxurious room overlooking the lake with a large balcony. The view is fantastic day and night. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, despite the hotel winding down as it was the last day before their winter break. Breakfast was fine with a good variety of food to choose from the buffet, but nothing exceptional, which you might otherwise expect. We were very happy to have real orange juice though! And we were glad to be there early so we had a good choice of tables. We also used the swimming pool and jacuzzi in the morning, but could not use the sauna as it had not been switched on. In any case the pool is a good length for some light exercise, but don't expect to be able to do a full workout there!
As another guest already mentioned, I missed a WiFi connection in the room, this would be a great additional service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inselaffe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Direttore at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Eden in Lugano and thank you for your positive comments. I am glad to read that you appreciated the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff and that you enjoyed the lake view and large balcony of our deluxe suites. I hope you will visit us again sometime in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I recently stayed at the Eden in Lugano, Switzerland (just north of the Italian border). Overall the hotel was excellent and the surrounding area is incredibly beautiful.
The Eden staff was incredible during my 2+ week stay - they are very helpful, friendly and accommodating and knew me on a personal level. The hotel offers an incredible lake view and ability to see the sunrise and/or lake from most any room. The restaurant is incredible from breakfast to dinner with a great selection and gourmet food. While a bit pricey, the food is THE best hotel food I have ever had with hundreds of different hotels from over 15 countries as a sample size. The gym is not great, but adequate with a nice running path around the lake. The walk is a bit longer than a few hotels but still fairly short to the downtown area. Housekeeping is very prompt, room fridge and other amenities were very nice. Great place to stay for business or personal travel – I highly recommend the Eden.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTLugano, Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Eden.
I was delighted to read about your experience at our hotel and especially the positive comments regarding our great selection of gourmet food in our restaurant Oasis.
I am glad you could experience the friendliness of our staff and enjoy the beautiful views from your room which offers, as you mentioned, “an incredible lake view”.
Together with my team, I look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Though Lugano has almost more hotels than inhabitants, the Grand Hotel Eden is probably still the best one - as long one is in the wing directly on the lake (as the other wing faces the noisy street). It is rumoured though it will be converted to Apartments (like so many hotels these days). So it needs careful checking beforehand.

Room Tip: Demand a room facing the lake straigght on (note sideways)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWLugano, Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear SydneyPierrot,
Thank you for your positive comments!
I noticed that is not the first time that you stayed in our property and I am very pleased to read that you describe the Grand Hotel Eden as “probably still the best Hotel in Lugano”!
I look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had a room with a great view of the lake. The room itself was very comfortable and clean, but were dissappointed there is no free WiFi provided! Breakfast in this hotel is served in a great room with floor to ceiling glass windows facing the lake, absolutely beautiful!. Breakfast was also great, large selection of fresh produce.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goslats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOWLugano, Manager at Grand Hotel Eden, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear 3Slaters,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, it’s comfort and cleanness and also our breakfast buffet.

I look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Massimiliano Trombetta
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Eden

Property: Grand Hotel Eden
Address: riva Paradiso 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Eden 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Eden lies on the water front of Lugano Paradiso one of the sunniest spots in the area of Canton Ticino. Modern and charming, the spacious bedrooms provide all the comforts needed to make our guests' stay an unforgettable and relaxing experience.An ideal place for meetings and business trips alike, the Convention Centre is equipped with the latest communication and conference technology, including video conferencing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing