We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We had 2 rooms ; one of them has a great view towards the lake and one facing the back(very quiet, could sleep with the window opened)- both were spatious enough.

A very elegant hotel! I would deffinitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinziana_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    157
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
82
159
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

For 11 nights we stayed at the centrally located International, and found the experience a delight! The atmosphere of old world charm and the friendly welcome plus the efficiency of the staff all added to making our holiday one to remember. Our room was very quiet and very clean and we enjoyed seeing our night clothes laid out artistically by the chambermaid every evening - a rarity in this day and age! The air conditioning was excellent. Every evening we looked forward to dinner in the well appointed a tastefully decorated restaurant. A very interesting menu and delicious food tempted us every day. The terraced garden was an oasis and the ideal place to chill out on the very warm days.
This is a family run hotel and it shows! We must give hearty congratulations to Signor and Signora Schmid and every member of staff for the smooth and efficient running of one of the best hotels we have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

While traveling with our toddler we stayed at this hotel recently while visiting Lugano. We had a corner room with balcony overlooking the lake. Great views and very comfortable room. Best features of the room were plenty of closets, drawers, door hooks, etc for storing all the items needed for traveling with a toddler. On the back terrace they have a playhouse stocked with a tea set and toys as well as small riding toys. Pool also very inviting! The staff was very friendly and spoke very good English. The kitchen staff supplied me with ice twice a day in order to keep milk cool in the cooler I brought (no fridge). Location was fantastic right in the center of town and very convenient to all Lugano has to offer. Would definitely recommend to those travelling with children!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mommytravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 719 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel International au Lac in early April 2009. This historic hotel sits at the end of the "luxury mile" near the Louis Vitton store just off the lake on a car free street. While there are no cars on the street immediately in front of the hotel (Via Nassa) there is significant traffic on Riva v Vela or the street fronting Lago di Lugano which is near the hotel and therefore was a significant amount of noise at all hours of the day and night.

This is definitely a budget, historic and classic hotel in downtown Lugano. I took the funicular (1.10 CHF) from the train station then turned right and easily walked to the hotel
with my luggage in about 15 minutes. Some rooms (not mine) had lake views and a balcony. The rooms are very small and drafty with dated bathrooms. The water pressure, if that's important, was amazing and there was nice heated towell rack for those cold mornings. The room had not been vacuumed before my arrival and the floor was dirty.

I will not return to this hotel in the future. The rooms, while reasonably priced in a very expensive city, were very small and dated, the breakfast staff (not the front desk people, they were very helpful and informative) were rude and indifferent and there was significant noise from outside the hotel and between rooms (televisions and shower/toilet/water draining).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

I stayed here in October of 2006. I wish the weather was better, it was cold and rainy, but the views right smack in front of the hotel are breathtaking. The lake is a few steps away. The location is great, it is on the outskirts (by 3 minutes) of the center of the cobblestone shopping district, so it is quiet. The rooms are decent, comfortable with small shower and tv. The reception was fine and helpful. They had a cute bar and a computer i didnt have trouble using for email etc.. The price was very good at that time. It took me 30 minutes to walk the entire city central. 5 minute trolly ride to the funiculars for San Salvatore and Monte Bre. The buses are very easy to take or the little red tourist trolly makes all the stops.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank midgetlali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

Lovely old fashioned hotel on the lake in the centre of the shopping district. Very central with secure underground parking. We had a family room which was 2 double beds with a little balcony and views of the lake. Garden, terrace with games and outdoor swimming pool. Excellent staff who were really helpful. Traditional rooms and furnishings all very nicely done. Fab bar area.

Perfect for a city break and children very welcome.

  • Liked — Traditional hotel
  • Disliked — Switzerland is expensive!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammyjo_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

This was our first visit to the International. We were very impressed by the meals and by the friendly and efficient service. The hotel is very well situated for all the attractions on Lake Lugano and the surrounding area.

  • Liked — The convenient location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHarryFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#8 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Property: Hotel International au Lac
Address: via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing