We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to lake and boat tours.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Close to lake and boat tours.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is opposite Lake Lugano over a main road. This can be a bit noisy with windows open but it did not disturb us. Boat trips on the lake are just over the road and are nice to do. If you do the afternoon trip to Porlezza where you can step off for a coffee or a lovely ice cream bear in mind this town is not Swiss it is Italian therefore uses euros. From the hotel towards the town end there is an amazing shopping area and it is not very far away, we drove but I am sure there is a bus, it can only be a few stops. Limited car parking outside hotel with a charge, we always found a space. If you do not want to eat in the hotel there are a few restuarants just a few minutes walk away. There is a swimming pool at the rear of the building but it was far too cold to swim in during August!

The room we had was a superior room with Lake view. Although the balcony was on the side of the hotel we could see the lake, we also had a window on the front of the hotel looking straight out onto the lake. The room was large with a small bathroom which was the cleanest bathroom I have ever had in a hotel.

All the staff were cheerful and helpful. The breakfast room was in a conservatory type room added to the side of the hotel. It was not particularly a nice room but the breakfast was ok, nothing special. We never ate dinner at the hotel as there was a good restaurant, near by so I don't know if dining was in the same room as the breakfast room. For nice food turn right out of the hotel, cross a busy corner road but do not turn right, and a very short walk away, opposite a bank that is on the corner, is a very nice restuarant. Do give it a try it is better than the one actually on the main road.

All in all a nice two night stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking the lake are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bessiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    137
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
66
134
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel takes you back to an era of European travellers - from the initial welcome to the helpful staff at dinner, breakfast and in the bar, comfortable beds and a lovely pool in the terraced gardens. Only minutes from the lake, in all a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This Hotel makes you feel the best moments of the past but in a very clean and modern comfort and popped with a very great attention and hospitality. The location next to the lake and the superb hidden garden with a very nice pool is a gem among real traditional Hotels. One just need to relax in the readingroom with a charming bar or to visit the small museum with the history of the Hotel to feel, that this house has a very real tradition and is not one of the many Hotels pretending to have a history but in reality is just artificial. We also very appreciated the Buffet-Breakfast, great value overall!

Room Tip: we booked an interior room for maximum silence but were upgraded to a lakeview room slightly hidden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Well located, about a ten-minute lake-side walk from the city centre, this was ideal for our one-night visit. Arriving on a hot late-afternoon, we were able to cool off in the delightful swimming pool within minutes of arrival. As the dining room doesn't have any view, we opted to stroll and eat elsewhere (more expensively!), and for a bit of people-watching; but the breakfast offered a good buffet. What I really enjoyed was the sense of history, as I think the hotel has been owned by the same family since it opened in the early 1900s. There is a room full of artefacts (old phones, original china, pieces of furniture, and many photos, showing its location (without being surrounded by the shops of today), previous owners and staff, room lay-out and furniture, and its turn of the last century feel. This is a hotel that should never have too much modernisation imposed on it - it's simply a classic!

Room Tip: Lakeside view rooms are probably more expensive, but if you want easy convenient use of the pool, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

An old building, in the center of Lugano, showing its age.....
Very convenient underground parking.
Very helpful and polite staff.
Breakfast was good, but could be improved.
According to a friend, living in Lugano, not the best choise!

Room Tip: There are 3 different priced rooms - try to avpoid the 'cheap'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickPapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location for a reasonable price.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

The room are very basic, however do try to get a room over looking the lake as makes up with the lack of luxury in the room. There is a nice garden space behind the hotel for enjoying the sun.

Breakfast is a huge buffet and great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammielc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was fortunate to have this hotel recommended by a friend who had travelled to Lugano before.
You can't beat the location and reasonable price. Rooms are fairly sparse but I wasn't there looking to lounge in my room.
They have a restaurant and bar inside, and it's an easy walk from the Funicolare.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandy712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Property: Hotel International au Lac
Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing