We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Gently Fading Glamour in Fab Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Gently Fading Glamour in Fab Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed in an unrenovated balcony room, and it was very pleasant. Excellent lakeside location, amazing private garden and pool, friendly staff, complete breakfast buffet with lavish artisan cheese each morning, good WIFI. Good quality beds, pillows and linen.
Needs a minibar/fridge, and coffee machine/kettle, and hopefully renovated rooms have better showers, but overall impression was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    136
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
66
132
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We made an unplanned stop in Lugano and this hotel was a great choice. The staff were very welcoming and happy to show us the available rooms. We were happy with the room and the services and would stay here again. The bar is a particularly nice spot to enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel, and great people who works there. All of them help me when I needed it. Very clean and silent...maybe a little bit expensive but this is Switzerland...all is expensive. Normal price for the country. Location perfect, just in front the lake with a lot of shops and coffee close to the hotel. Very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Os G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We love to stay at Hotel International au Lac on our way to and from Italy. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the designer shops of Lugano and secure, private car parking is available. The rooms are beautifully furnished, the beds are equipped with the finest quality linen and the bathrooms are spacious. Breakfast is excellent and all the staff are friendly and obliging. Dinner is served at 7.00pm and as we prefer to eat earlier, we always eat out. We look forward to staying again in September!

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PPAGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is 105 years old, established by the current owner's grandfather, and the charmingly old-fashioned decor is perfect for such a building. Our room was one with a lake view, modernized, and the bathroom was not poky at all. There was a great rain shower in addition to the hand-held one, and lots of storage and marble and glass. I am particular about my "amenities" and always take my own, so a lack doesn't matter at all. The wait staff in the restaurant and bar are true professionals. The breakfast was lavish, and not the same each morning.

The garage is a treat, with a car elevator that rides you to the upper floor if the lower one is full. We had a hard time finding the street entrance, even though we could see the hotel from the lakefront street. There is construction in front of the Santa Maria church next door (DO NOT miss the church) and the turn through the fence is all but invisible the first time. The city has not allowed the hotel to put up a helpful sign, which is a shame.

We investigated the lovely terrace and pool, but we did not use them. A real oasis in the city. All in all, the Internationale is a convenient place to stay, and all the staff make one feel right at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoshitoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Overall is a pretty nice place - located right on the lake, and in the middle of the tourist area. The place is a little out-dated, but in a charming kind of way. The brekky is great - more than enough to fill you up - and all of the staff in the bar and restaurant were lovely.

The rooms are nice, though the bathrooms are really pokey and hardly any toiletries. Also, the shower is handheld. And no exhaust fan in there so it gets really steamy.

The wifi in the common areas was good, and quick, but didnt reach to our room at the end of the corridor, so we had to sit outside the room in the hallway to use the wifi, which is not airconditioned and was stuffy (and also you feel a bit strange sitting out there...)

Overall, was not perfect, but I would maybe stay there if ever in Lugano again, mainly for the nice staff and the sort of dated charm of the place - feels a bit like the 1960s with the faded pool chairs, giant chess board and games room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room where the wifi works!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoSchmid, Owner at Hotel International au Lac, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear kathdot,
Thank you for posting this review and for letting us know how you feel about your stay with us.

The Hotel International au Lac was opened in 1906 and belongs today to Lugano’s historical buildings. Constant renovation works and up-grades (the last in 2013 extending on 2 floors) made every room unique. Shape, decor and layout varies from one room to the other. We put great effort in keeping the traditional feel in our property by choosing noble materials and a classical design.

We sincerely regret your inconvenience regarding the limited access to our free WiFi Internet service. We had a week-end plus 2 working days where the system was partially malfunctioning due to a missed update. I can assure you that our supplier was working hard to solve the matter swiftly. Unfortunately, unlike for our core hotel services, for WiFi we rely on external contactors.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Roberto Schmid
Hotel International au Lac, Lugano * * *s
Fam. Giulio Schmid, propr. dir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

At the end of the main pedestrianised shopping street, next to Santa Maria degli Angeli and overlooking the lake: what more could you ask for? The staff were without exception excellent, but the guys in the breakfast room have to be especially praised. I wish some of the managers of swish five star hotels could visit to see what professional service really looks like: relaxed, unstuffy, charming. The terrace was a treat, our room delightful: I know everyone says 'we'll be back', but we really mean it!

Room Tip: The superior doubles overlooking the lake are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnT0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Property: Hotel International au Lac
Address: Via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing