We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Classic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This is our 50th wedding Anniversary and we were charmed to stay in an up to date classical hotel from an era past. Our room overlooked an old church with bells just feet away. We awoke from our nap being serenaded by the old bells. :)
The dining room is manned by the best old world service. The kitchen produces a wonderful six course dinner for a price that can not be beat. The clientele is an even mix from young to ... us. The location is perfectly sited at the beginning of the shopping walk. Just passed the hanging salami, is the funicular straight up (or down from) to the rail station. (1.20 Fr). We easily walked to the boat dock for a two hour lunch tour/ride of Lake Lugano.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    157
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
82
159
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in April, the hotel was quaint, well decorated and the staff was excellent. I loved how we had the same staff in at reception, housekeeping and servers every day. The breakfast buffet was delicious, lots of variety, the pool area was nice and warm in the sun.
This hotel is centered perfectly around all the shops and on the weekends the little booths, steps away from a main bus route, close to the Casino and right at the water.
Our room only had a shower and no tub, but we knew this is a norm in Europe. The bathroom was beautiful... all the stone/ tile work is amazing in Europe and Switzerland. This hotel also had a lot of history and a little library/ museum. We had laundry done here and it came back very quickly.
Also from this hotel it is a short train ride or about 80 CHF to the Fox Town Outlet mall and a short train ride from an attraction of Splash and Spa which was excellent (the Spa side amazing).
I have no complaint about the hotel... just all tourists need to remember, stores close at 6pm during the week, early on Sat and are usually close on Sunday, as well as we found few places to eat after 830- 9pm. Though the hotel recommended a place called Alice's... on the water front and it was excellent. The Sea Bass was indescribable.

Room Tip: If a tub is necessary, let them now on reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeggyS0533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have just returned from an Easter break based at the International au Lac.

Superb hotel located just off the lake. Room had a uninterupted view of the lake, superb pleasant staff from check-in through to check-out.

No need for a car as the hotel is only 8 minutes walk from the main train staion and about the same distance from the lake steamers

Room Tip: pay the extra for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKTAFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

From the time we arrived for our 3 night stay until we departed everything was first class.
We had a suite at the back of the hotel (no view there of course but right next to the swimming pool and courtyard) and having stayed in much more expensive hotels all over the world, this was one of the best rooms we have ever had, there were even two separate bathrooms and the room was just huge. The free wifi worked perfectly, the included breakfast was great, the bar was cosy and comfortable, the parking was just perfect (entry right by the check-in area), but the real bonus was the location it could not be better, right in the centre of the town in the very best area of Lugano.
My wife and I are just so glad that some of the more so called "grand" hotels were booked out for a medical conference as we would not have booked here, but would never stay anywhere else when we return to Lugano as this beautiful old hotel has a fantastic warmth, charm and style. We would like to thank all the staff once again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Location is not counted in Lugano since its a tiny town, yet you need a hotel with a lake view which was the case for International au lac, stunning views for the rooms facing the frontage.
I loved the historic style of the hotel and how its maintaining the feel of old and very clean. Beautiful bar on the first floor with a nice small french-balcony directly facing the lake. An amazing tiny-museum like room on the first floor having all the hotel's belongings since the beginning of the 20th century, displayed in an excellent way.
Breakfast hall is beautiful and food is good. Very nice swimming pool area if you go in summer with nice wooden seatings.
Rooms need to be renovated somehow while keeping the old style.

Room Tip: Try to check-in for front-side rooms with balconies and more towards the west side of the hotel, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdarwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here one night and the hotel was fine for my purposes. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was plentiful and the room was clean. The only reason I would try somewhere else next time is that the room had just one socket and you had to go to the bar for wifi. Not a major inconvenience in itself and I suspect that many patrons of this hotel like it for the location and the rather traditional upmarket style bordering on old-fashioned. So, not to my taste, but many people will like this hotel for its location, ambience and service.

Room Tip: Although I did not ask for a room with a view I got one on the side where you could just see the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Yes, it could do with some updating as previous reviewers have mentioned, but it was still a most comfortable experience spending a couple of nights here. It has real character and atmosphere which is preferable to some of the plastic modernised hotels. Breakfast was amazing, and dinner was also first class. The outside areas and swimming pool (which unfortunately we didn't use because of a thunderstorm!) were also a bonus. Fantastic location, great staff, and great atmosphere were the highlights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BozNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#8 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Property: Hotel International au Lac
Address: via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing