We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needed the pool!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel International au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel International au Lac
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needed the pool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

More expensive than we would have liked but the staff are charming and helpful. Great location. It was very hot when we visited so we were very glad of the pool. Slept well. Don't miss the gorgeous church next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    157
    47
    13
    5
See reviews for
82
159
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

A great location and warm service from this hotel that has been family run for over 100 years. Traditional styling with a beautiful hidden garden and pool. Fine for relaxing and exploring Lugano and the lake.

Room Tip: Many of the smaller rooms have recently been upgraded with new baths and decor. Even the side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrProPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is an old, classic hotel harking back to the 1940's and 50's. It is perfectly located at the end of posh Via Nassa and literally 25 steps from the lakeshore. It has a private parking space, which is a great advantage if you arrive by car as we did. Rooms and bathrooms are smallish and rather poorly maintained; they look aged and in dire need of investments. Breakfast was plentiful and very good. The staff at the main desk were great in assisting us with our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Perfect location, Great bed, nice breakfast. Helpful staff. Terrace pool area was wonderful. Elegant but comfy and not too expensive. Very close to everything. Would definitely stay there again. While in Lugano, suggest a paddleboat ride and then rent bikes and ride along the lake. Park is perfect for picnics.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Position: 95/100 Centrally located, overlooking a small square along the lake. Many rooms (453-456 for example) have a small balcony where from you can see a piece of the lake. Other rooms have quite a cramped view, overlooking a narrow road, thus the opposite flats.

Garden with swimming pool: 90/100 Delicious, comes with many chairs, tables and fun games for children. The pool is small, but we are in the city centre.

Rooms: 40/100 obsolete, rather small, they offer modest furniture and beds a bit uncomfortable. There is no wi-fi, air conditioning seems to be old and a bit noisy. The bathroom is basic, with no window, a bit sad.

Breakfast: 50/100 Not disgusting, not glorious. A classic buffet with standardized mostly pre-packaged foods in a large hall rather crowded

Price: 50/100 Quite expensive by European standards (maybe a bit less by the Swiss ones). One night in a double room without balcony where they sleep two adults and two small children, costs 280 Swiss francs, including breakfast. The garage costs 20CHF extra per night.

Overall 65/100: the atmosphere is that of a fashioned hotel, like the ones you can imagine in a book by Thomas Mann. The pleasure of staying in a hotel that preserves the charm of the beginning of the 20th century can possibly repay the high cost and the lack of the modern comforts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clabarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecheria, Venezuela
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night. We are driving from Swizerland to Austria, and decided to be spontaneous and stay where the wind took us (for 2 nights only). Without wifi we hunted around and got lost, and found a few hotels in Lugano, all on the expensive side as we wanted to stay in the city center and near the lake. The other hotels either had no parking or had to reserve a spot at the Hotel International. This led us to the hotel.
The parking garage was onsite which was a plus, the breakfast buffet had many options, the shower water pressure was good (with heated towel rack), and front desk staff were very friendly. Good location next to the Louis Vuitton store (and the lake)!
Our room was dated and dark, with Pink carpet, and small with a tight bathroom. The balcony was too small for both of us to fit on, but you could stand on it and see a nice view of the lake to the right.
I feel that this hotel is not good value for the price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Expat_Chiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am very pleased with this hotel. It's got a Renaissance feel to it with its furnitures and decor. The pool was relaxing, overlooking the lake. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was excellent! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandosPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International au Lac

Property: Hotel International au Lac
Address: via Nassa 68 | Piazza Luini, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel International au Lac 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prime location in the old-town quarter and shopping district of the city centre and on the lake-promenade.Historical Downtown Hotel with extended facilities such as private garage parking, lobby-bar, garden with swimming-pool and WiFi Internet. A variety of restaurants, pizzerias and typical bars are located close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel International au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Au Lac Lugano
International Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing