We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A very nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had the chance to stay at Hotel Atlantico for some nights, in June. I know Lugano and its hotels pretty well, yet I found this place to be a very nice surprise.
The owners are kind and polite, the rooms are clean and well-equipped. The breakfast with home-made jams and fresh bread/croissants is simply remarkable.
All my requests (having a room in front of the Monte Bré, as well as an hair-drier) were easily met and I am ready to suggest this hotel to everyone wants a quiet, honest, clean and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canzonedelbosco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
21
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
254 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was very clean and tidy, secure, comfortable beds, relatively central, uncluttered, straightforward, parking, buffet breakfast was average continental style. A few local restaurants and bars close by. The hotel is a 2 star and cannot be compared to 5 star standards but compared to many hotels I've stayed across the world I have no complaints with the Atlantico.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grivola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

stayed here just 2 nights on business - I suppose all hotels here are very expensive - can't imagine in the 'season'. room was very basic, nice to have the balcony tho it didn't look onto anything, can't see the lake from the hotel, no fridge or hairdryer (and I knew this from another review so brought my own but it still wouldn't fit in the strange outlet.
breakfast also average, nothing 'hot' but staff VERY kind. the cold drink vending machine on the honor system is a cute touch. note no restaurant either...and note that many places don't serve food till 6 pm..you can use euros BTW no need for SW francs...internet fine

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatinRzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is very simple, but clean and in a quiet area of lugano. Parking is availabe and the berakfast is included too. A nice walk brings you to the center of Lugano.
The staff is excellent and very friendly and has very good tips for sightseeing and places to eat. They speak several languages too and are very helpful. Perfect B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zurigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Located in a residential and commercial area, the hotel can be reached in about 15 minutes from the center walking along the lake, or in 5 minutes by bus.

The place is rather old and the facilities are basic, but everything is clean and well maintained. Small, free outside parking lot. There's no room service and no restaurant or bar in the hotel.

Breakfast is fine, with fresh bread and croissants, a selection of home-made jams and good coffee, cappucino etc.

Staff and owners are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GloballySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

It 'a simple hotel close enough to the center of Lugano, where you get a pleasant walk. Managers are very nice, the rooms are very clean and there is a small parking lot available to guests. It 'very expensive, as all dwellings in Switzerland, so it's a good solution for those who decide to stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marioge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel before but it has recently changed hands and the new owners have made improvements which we noticed during our recent stay. There is a new breakfast bar area with a wider selection of yoghurts, cereals and meats and cheeses. The new coffee machine is excellent and the selection of home made jams is a nice touch. Our room was spacious with a nice sunny balcony and there was a small but adequate shower room. All the staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. The hotel is stuated in a nice area with shops, cafes and restaurants close by and just a couple of minutes walk from the lake. There is a short, pleasant walk through the park to central Lugano wnich makes it a very convenient for tourists. We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room and also a hairdryer. There was a vending machine from which cold drinks and snacks could be chosen and a hair dryer at reception. We felt that the hotel was expensive considering the lack of equipment in the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwynnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Hotel Colorado Lugano
#28 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Hotel Lido Seegarten
#29 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zurigo
Hotel Zurigo
#38 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Property: Hotel Atlantico
Address: via Concordia 12, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing