We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
68
1
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
1
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews generous hospitality beautiful apartment bus stop little details perfect location kristina centre lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 70 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2018

We just returned from a short stay at Guesthouse Castagnola and couldn't be happier! Kristina, the owner, is absolutely lovely and recommended the Mansarda Suite to us. The room was so perfect, cozy with an amazing view! Yes there are several sets of stairs to get up to the room but even with our large suitcases we were able to just walk around the block and avoid most of them. Kristina was most welcoming and helped us to get our luggage to the room and gave us recommendations for the local area. It was nice to stay outside of the center of Lugano itself and the views are most definitely worth it. The bus was very accessible, we took it from the train station to Castagnola with all our of luggage, and then several times down to the city center during our time there. It was also very pleasant to walk down to the main part of Lugano as well and did not take very long at all. We had coffee and pastries at Bar La Strada every morning, the bar previously owned by Kristina and her husband, and recently sold to her friend Marielle. Marielle was most welcoming and fun to talk to!

One thing that is important to me when looking for lodging is the bathroom. The facilities at Castagnola do not disappoint. The shower was large with a rain shower head and I loved the rustic design.

We hope to return again one day and would definitely recommend you stay with Kristina if you are visiting the Lugano area!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank audge729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2018

My husband and I stayed for 6 fabulous nights at the vacation suite for a mix of business and couples vacation. What a lovely and serene place to stay! The room was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable. The area is charming. You can easily walk to the center of lugano or take a bus. The 45 minute walk to Gandria is very pleasant. Kristina and Mauricio go above and beyond to help you. The place is a hidden gem.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiacoronamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

I spend 2 nights in this little suite , absolutely amazing , I really love everything, the decoration and style of the Room is very original and welcoming , the bed is very comfy. the owner Christina is really kind and make you fell home immediately. Breakfast is very good and fresh ... probably my favorite spot after my home ..
Thank you will be back again

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank irishpubsorengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile

Guesthouse Castagnola owned and run a fantastic couple, Swedish born Kristina and her Italian husband Mauricio, both English speaking, engaging, always helpful. They rent three rooms in their beautiful home, all with separate exterior access, with modern bathrooms. They also have Bar Stada within steps where you may elect to have breakfast, wine, cheese and salami etc.
The location on the outskirts of Lugano, in Castagnola. A city bus stop 100 meters away offers quick, easy CHF 2.50 ride into the city center, about 5 minutes away. Or enjoy a beautiful lakeside walk.
We particularly enjoyed not being in the busy crowded city center.
Especially beautiful is the 45 min trail walk along the sparsely populated lake shore east to Gandia, where you can have lunch or dinner, then take a scheduled ferry boat back!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank SteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016

The guesthouse is a perfect mix of luxury boutique and a peaceful and relaxing guesthouse. The room is spotless, the decor is thoughtful and the personal touches abound. The location is outside of Lugano city central and the perfect launching point for everything! It is also serene and quiet in the evenings. We really enjoyed our stay and the experience Mauricio and Kristina created!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank celtictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews