We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, lovely and so comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Castagnola
Ranked #3 of 21 Lugano B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My friends and I stayed at the guesthouse for more than a week. We had a wonderful experience. The suite was nicely furnished and well-maintained. It was spacious and so comfortable with a bedroom, dinning and living rooms. The small kitchen was well equipped and we prepared dinner at home on several nights. The bathroom was modern and a joy, especially the heated floors. Kristina was warm and engaging. There is no view of the lake but there are public spaces to view the lake that are a short walk away. The bus-stop is conveniently a short walk away and a very short ride to the centre of Lugano.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miso13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Kristina has done a great job furnishing the vacation suite. We stayed for 4 nights- family of four. There is a separate bedroom, separate kitchen-meals area and the lounge (with sofa bed). This is a much better option than a hotel- not only is it stylishly furnished with all features of a hotel room (umbrella, mini bar options, breakfast) but the added benefits of an apartment even a washing machine with soap etc. Kristina went out of her way to help us when we had banking problems and was really very helpful- i agree with the last reviewer- engaging, generous, thoughtful! A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Guesthouse Castagnola for a few days and loved every minute. Kristina was the perfect host. She was engaging, generous, and easy to work with. Our room was inviting and thoughtfully furnished. Castagnola was a nice surprise for us as well. The tiny town is perfectly situated midway between Gandria and Lugano. I would highly recommend a stay at Guesthouse Castagnola!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KPisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the guesthouse late August of this year. Although the owner had to be away up on our arrival, Kristina left written instructions on our room etc. As soon as she was able to get back, Kristina called in and introduced herself and apologised for not being present when we arrived. Whilst this small act may seem not impressive, on our trip, to date this was sadly lacking. In addition, Kristina and her family live on site - again, a huge relief to us as we had stayed in several places were rowdy guests had to be dealt with by us.

There was nothing that was to much trouble to Kristina. She was helpful accommodating and friendly. The room and facilities were of the highest quality. She did our washing and dried it. - she gave advice re local attractions and to us, it was clear that Kristina and her family take this guesthouse very seriously and love the work. I give this guesthouse the ingest recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouldyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great hosts !Really friendly and easy going .The apartment was tastefully renovated and had everything we needed! Castagnola is an nice area a few minutes from center Lugano (by car).Hope to come back soon

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onecloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I surprised my husband with a long weekend in Ticino. After much looking I found this place which seemed to match our needs (we were traveling with a 11 months old baby). The place more than confirmed what I saw on Internet...the house it's beautiful and has been recently renovated with a lot of taste. The bed is very comfortable (unlike what it was said in another review). The hosting family is very nice and welcome...they are very discrete but always available if you need them...our boy got sick and facilitate us medicines, medical contacts,etc.
They had prepared everything for the baby (bed, high chair, etc) You can sense that they have taken care of the little details. The breakfast in the morning is perfect! although it is not included in the price of the room, impossible to get anything better for such price (10 CHF): fresh bread and croissants, cheese, coffee, cappuccino, juice, homemade jam, honey, nutella...and all that perfectly set every morning in a nice patio just in front of your door! The bus to Ticino centre stops almost in front of the house.
It felt like being at home...pity our stay wasn't longer! We will definitely recommend it to my friends and will go back ourselves!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noeliagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are planing to visit Lugano, my husband and I really would recommend the amazing Guesthouse Castagnola. The freindly owners recently renovated the beautiful building that radiats warmth and hospitality.

In the morning a basket filled with homemade marmelad and fresh newbaked bread is placed next to your door. The guesthouse is neat and clean and your room is cleaned every day. We are very happy with our stay and have nothing but wonderful words to say. Thank you so much family Delnevo for making our stay in Lugano so wonderful! Gunnar and Maria Claesson Stockholm

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gnr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.7 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
1.4 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#12 of 45 in Lugano
372 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Gabbani
Hotel Gabbani
#2 of 21 in Lugano
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Locanda Castagnola
Locanda Castagnola
#1 of 21 in Lugano
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Castagnola

Address: Salita degli Olivi 2 | Nucleo di Castagnola, Lugano 6976, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range: $124 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing