We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a rip off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Bre

Monte Bre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“What a rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having visited many mountains all over Switzerland this must be the worst. We took our 8 year old son up on our trip to Lugano. This is the ONLY cable car/funicular that I know of that charges the same price for adults and children. Very un-Swiss very un-family friendly. Unlike most funiculars it was difficult to get a good view. On arrival we were very disappointed with the facilities. Monte San Salvatore across town is far better and a lot friendlier. If you are short of time give Monte Bre a miss.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank swissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    125
    32
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing view !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Monte Bré is one of the hills surrounding Lugano. It will take you two cable card and 15 minutes to get on top, but it is worth the wait and the trip is beautiful.

Once at the top, you will be blown away by the view ! And if you're hungry or thirsty, they have a restaurant which is literally at the cliff ! Again, amazing, and the food is good too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danyweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

amazing views and nice walks when on top. Easy and charming access via the funicular. A place not to miss on a nice day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lpb_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun, easy, accessible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice trip for the whole family via funicular to the top of Montr Bre, which overlooks Lugano and its lake. Best to go on a clear day to enjoy the best views. You return on the funicular or hike down. I saw people on mountain bikes too. Looks like a great ride down. My wife and I hiked down to Gandria, where we had a picnic lunch on the "Olive path."

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely trip on a fine day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good ride on funicular with super forest walks and trails at the top of Mount Bre- suitable for all ages. Lovely panoramic terraced restaurant and bar- but you need a clear day to visit! Also you may catch sight of deer or red squirrels.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Queenswood18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Bre also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Monte Bre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing