We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great french dinner in family style atmosphere”

Ristorante Al Portone
Reserve with
Ristorante Al Portone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 434 Restaurants in Lugano
Price range: $50 - $120
Cuisines: Deli, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Chef Francis offers fine dining in the legendary restaurant with the historic entrance gates. A quiet space where you can have lunch and well furnished with colleagues, friends or dine by candlelight. Come and discover the different tastes proposed and accompanied by fine wines selected by our sommelier. At the gates is the ideal destination to make a break in life, to spend a moment out of time to get pampered palate.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Patricia and her husband as the chef are running the restaurant as family business. The food is top notch, similar to two star restaurant. Just not the formality of two waiters serving at the same time, but friendly Patricia..

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank love_travelling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis C, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you very much for this beautiful comment about our restaurant. This is helping us to follow the line that we have in order to make each of our guest feeling like at our home.
Would be a pleasure to see again and to share a gastronomic evening.
Best regards
Patricia & Francis Carré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

The previous tripadvisor reviews were spot on and it was exactly as expected. Or better....
Friendly welcome from Patricia in a smallish restaurant.
We didn't make it past the tasting menu when we looked at the menu as all dishes sounded delicious and they delivered . Especially as we went with wine pairings that Patricia selected.... the fois truffles with a pear chutney, the basil and lemon sorbet, the turbot came with a delightful fennel confit (fennel never tasted so good) and the guinea fowl came with a lovely sauce and trimmings. And then the light desserts completed the meal.
We spent hours, My boyfriend thought that maybe there should be more time between courses but we would have needed to have arrived a lot earlier! We were there about 3,5 hours in the end and had a peek in the kitchen at the end too.

A bit higher end on the prices and more French than Italian but a great dining experience and worth the trip to Lugano... Will go back I suspect !

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis C, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

We thank you very much for this beautiful comment and we are glad to see that you enjoyed each one of the dishes of the "Degustazione Menu" and the wine that we have proposed to you to accompagned your dinner.
We hope to see you on your next visite to Lugano.
Best regards
Patricia & Francis Carré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The moment you step into this very quaint restaurant you feel so welcome.
Patricia greets you at the door very warmly. Everything about this restaurant is caring,
the preparation and execution of each dish, the personable service, the friendly
atmosphere. At the end of dinner, your leave with the thought ' this was indeed worth the visit!'

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LEONIDAS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis C, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you very much for this beautiful comment. It was a pleasure meeting you... We are glad to see that you had a wonderful moment with us in our restaurant and hoping to see you on your nest visit in Lugano.
Best regards,
Patricia & Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a gem of a restaurant. Between Patricia's hospitality and Francis' cooking skills, dining at Al Portone is a special experience. This is the perfect pairing of inventive fine dining food with the experience of spending the evening at a friends house.

My wife, daughter and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner in July, 2014. We spent 4 hours slowly enjoying the delicious food and ambiance of their small but extremely elegant dining room. Patricia (and her son) were wonderful to our daughter and entertained us throughout the evening with stories about food, wine and their adventures around the world.

For such a small local restaurant, their wine list is amazing and we enjoyed a wonderful bottle of Vieux-Château-Certan. Patricia knows her wine and made several additional wine pairings during the evening that were outstanding... so if you're not sure what you want let her be your guide.

We can't wait to come back to our new favorite restaurant in Switzerland.

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis C, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Lauren, Adri and Robert,
It was a real pleasure to meet you and share our passion for gastronomy and wine. We hope to see you again when you will come back in Lugano.
Best regards
Patricia, Francis & Gaël

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

As food lovers the title sums up my feeling to this restaurant. Upon arriving we were greater with a broad smile and handshake by the co owner Patricia. After seating us she explained that she and her husband Francis the chef treat customers as if they were guests to their home. And except for large catered affairs the limit the number of diners to simply a dozen of lucky people in order to provide dining perfection, superior service, and high professionalism. The staff is only Patricia and Francis and their passion for food and great dining shines brightly.

Everything we ordered was superb!

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Codfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis C, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you very much for this superb comment. Our goal is to share our passion and to make each one of our guest to keep in memory a special enogastronomic's experience... We hope to see you again in your next visit in Ticino.
Best regards
Patricia & Francis Carré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Al Portone also viewed

 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Ristorante Al Portone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing