We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection, passion and professionalism”

Ristorante Al Portone
Reserve with
Ristorante Al Portone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 434 Restaurants in Lugano
Price range: $50 - $120
Cuisines: Deli, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Chef Francis offers fine dining in the legendary restaurant with the historic entrance gates. A quiet space where you can have lunch and well furnished with colleagues, friends or dine by candlelight. Come and discover the different tastes proposed and accompanied by fine wines selected by our sommelier. At the gates is the ideal destination to make a break in life, to spend a moment out of time to get pampered palate.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

As food lovers the title sums up my feeling to this restaurant. Upon arriving we were greater with a broad smile and handshake by the co owner Patricia. After seating us she explained that she and her husband Francis the chef treat customers as if they were guests to their home. And except for large catered affairs the limit the number of diners to simply a dozen of lucky people in order to provide dining perfection, superior service, and high professionalism. The staff is only Patricia and Francis and their passion for food and great dining shines brightly.

Everything we ordered was superb!

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Codfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis C, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you very much for this superb comment. Our goal is to share our passion and to make each one of our guest to keep in memory a special enogastronomic's experience... We hope to see you again in your next visit in Ticino.
Best regards
Patricia & Francis Carré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you want to feel like you are personal guests in the home of a top chef and are going to be treated to a special dinner prepared with top ingredients, then this is a place for you. Graciously greeted at the door by Patricia we were seated at a lovely table. As we spoke with Patricia, who served us, it became clear this restaurant is a personal passion of her and her husband (who is the chef) and their objective is to share their joy of food with their guests. Make no mistake, you are special guests. For dinner, they do not take reservations for more than 12 people so she and her husband can make sure each person is well attended. My husband had carpaccio and I had scallops...excellent. I had the seafood pasta which was wonderful. For dessert it is worth the wait for the tartin, which was just perfect. Francis, the chef came out after the meal and we had such a lovely conversation, like old friends sharing stories. Warm hospitality with marvelous food. You could not ask for a better combination.

Date of visit: July 2014
3  Thank eve1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis C, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

We would like to thank you very much for this beautiful comment. Was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again on your next visite to Lugano...
Best regards
Patricia & Francis Carré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I drove to Ticino for the weekend. We stayed in Locarno but wanted to visit Lugano and have a nice dinner there. We wanted authentic Swiss Italian food and decided to pick a restaurant from TripAdvisor. Al Portone was our top choice, so we drove there. It's nestled in a building and you have to look out for it- it does not have a scenic view, but everything else made up for it. From the looks of it, people usually make reservations (we didn't). We waited while Patricia seated the other guests who reserved first, and then we were seated in our little corner. We decided to order the tasting menu and asked Patricia to serve us wine by the class for each course.

With only Francis working in the kitchen and Patricia manning the floor, the service and food was still impeccable. Our favorite was definitely the truffle duck foie gras- you cannot get this anywhere else, only in Al Portone! The pairing of the wine and food was very appropriate. It was one of the best dinners we've ever had together and I recommend anybody who loves to eat fine dining and doesn't mind spending a bit more than usual to make a reservation and diner here.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Xmuahz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis C, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you very much for this beautiful comment. Our goal is to make each one of our guest to keep in memory a special enogastronomic's experience... We hope to see you again in your next visit to Ticino.
Best regards
Patricia & Francis Carré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This restaurant is too good to be true. The cuisine is the best that we have had in many years, and is comparable to the top restaurants around the world. If you are in the Ticino area and looking for an exquisite, romantic dinner, this is the place. The owner was extremely pleasant, and provided outstanding wine recommendations to go along with each course of our meal. It was very clear to us that they make it a priority for each of their customers to have a memorable experience. We would travel halfway around the world again just to dine at this restaurant. The truffle agnolotti and the torta are truly unique and beyond words to describe the
experience. We look forward to our next visit to this wonder in Lugano.
Brent & Tracey - visited in June 2014

Date of visit: June 2014
2  Thank Brent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francis C, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you very much for this beautiful comment. We are really happy that our restaurant was a great experience for you... for us it was the same and it was a real pleasure to meet you. Maybe see you soon...
Best regards
Patricia & Francis Carré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The restaurant is beautiful and the food is absolutely phenomenal. It is a very expensive place but it is worth every Swiss Franc.

Date of visit: April 2014
Thank MrsJuicePlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cibo_dasogno, Owner at Ristorante Al Portone, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your great comment. We are pleased to see that you had great moment in our restaurant. Hope to see you on your next visite to Lugano.
Best regards
Francis & Patricia Carré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Al Portone also viewed

 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Ristorante Al Portone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing