We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful off the tourist track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trani

Trani
Ranked #18 of 355 Restaurants in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful off the tourist track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Brush up on your Italian as this gem is up the stairs from the water in central Lugano. The gnocchi was superb and I recommend skipping the salad course in favor of two courses. Service was good but not great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EWWarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    106
    30
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great wine menu and rissoto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Recommended by hotel concierge as place where local Swiss-Italians like to eat rissoto. Ambiance, food quality and wine selection were great. Would highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank swampv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sit outside in the middle of the stairs in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good food, good ambiance and good service. Their burrata cheese salad was really good and the lasagna too. If you are in a hurry better go to a fast food chain resto; in order to enjoy your evening don't be in a hurry and just enjoy being there and watching people going up and down the stairs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taruko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great Italian food. Small menu with very nice varying selections. Good wine.
Understand the negative comment on service from another reviewer, which we experienced in the beginning of our night until we understood that the staff's English wasn't that good and made them uneasy. The moment we tore out our 3-penny Italian mixed with some French we got there and enjoyed a very nice dinner evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked this restaurant for a special meal to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday.

We had read some good reviews on trip advisor, so decided to book a table for 7.30pm on a Saturday night. We arrived to find the waiter standing outside talking to a friend, with her child climbing all over the restaurant furniture. When he eventually tore himself away from his conversation we noticed only one other table occupied inside of the restaurant, so opted to sit outside.

Another waiter brought out some menus and the wine list, all of which were tatty, falling apart and dirty. We didn't see any staff again after that - after around 20 minutes of waiting for someone to at least take a drinks order, we gave up and left.

Absolutely dreadful service for a place which had such promising reviews. Really disappointed. We went to Spaghetti Store on the lake front instead which was brilliant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank leapea29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trani also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Trani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing