We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sit outside in the middle of the stairs in Lugano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trani

Trani
Ranked #19 of 352 Restaurants in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dubai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sit outside in the middle of the stairs in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good food, good ambiance and good service. Their burrata cheese salad was really good and the lasagna too. If you are in a hurry better go to a fast food chain resto; in order to enjoy your evening don't be in a hurry and just enjoy being there and watching people going up and down the stairs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taruko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    103
    30
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great Italian food. Small menu with very nice varying selections. Good wine.
Understand the negative comment on service from another reviewer, which we experienced in the beginning of our night until we understood that the staff's English wasn't that good and made them uneasy. The moment we tore out our 3-penny Italian mixed with some French we got there and enjoyed a very nice dinner evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked this restaurant for a special meal to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday.

We had read some good reviews on trip advisor, so decided to book a table for 7.30pm on a Saturday night. We arrived to find the waiter standing outside talking to a friend, with her child climbing all over the restaurant furniture. When he eventually tore himself away from his conversation we noticed only one other table occupied inside of the restaurant, so opted to sit outside.

Another waiter brought out some menus and the wine list, all of which were tatty, falling apart and dirty. We didn't see any staff again after that - after around 20 minutes of waiting for someone to at least take a drinks order, we gave up and left.

Absolutely dreadful service for a place which had such promising reviews. Really disappointed. We went to Spaghetti Store on the lake front instead which was brilliant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank leapea29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A charming Italian restaurant in Lugano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Trani is a charming Italian restaurant located near the top of a hill. Homemade gnocci and other pastas were mouthwatering, and the charming waitstaff tried their best to ensure we had a wonderful meal. Very comfortable place to have an intimate dinner. I'll definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CamilleD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A rather nice Swiss-Italian restaurant. Great ambience and the service was good. It seemed quite busy but they still found us a table/

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trani also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Trani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing