We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casatgnola Ramba Zamba”
Review of Locanda Castagnola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Locanda Castagnola
Ranked #1 of 21 Lugano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

From Lugano main station take the number 2 bus and get off at Castagnola Posta. The journey is about 15 minutes. Backtrack 50m down the street and the hotel is in front of your face. Anyone could do it, special needs no exception, though if you have lots of heavy suitcases, best take a taxi.

Upon seeing the hotel, you will perhaps be surprised that it does not look like the photos put up on the opening page for the hotel on Trip Advisor. These photos are actually of the surroundings. I have posted appropriate pictures so you don’t get lost or become disappointed.

The welcome scored highly, so was the politeness of the staff throughout our 1 night stay. Value was also superb at CHF 135 for the double-room with breakfast.

We had room 203. As we went up the beautiful red-carpeted stairwell we realised there wasn’t a lift, so the wheelchair bound would be making all the wrong noises.

Room 203 is spacious, clean and has an obstructed view of the lake and an unobstructed view of the lane and street. The bathroom is equipped with a bath/shower and a powerful toilet with a cistern hidden behind a false wall. TRT (Total Refill Time) on this was a cool 58secs, so those on a gastronomic holiday would marvel at its functionality. Unique for me in this bathroom was a supplementary Inspector-Gadget designed mirror with X2 magnification, so it is a godsend for intricate make-up work or nasal hair extraction, or both because Lugano boasts an exemplarily gay-scene.

On the whole, there was a lot to like about the room. However, if you open the window at night when the restaurant-cum-bar on the street-corner is putting on entertainment, the noise can be a nightmare. While we were there it hosted a karaoke evening and a band that may have been called Pubic Phat. But the rabble does eventually stop. Then you notice the heat. Air-con is a ceiling fan, so it’s rather limited in its purpose. I sweated so much that in the morning I could have passed the bed-sheet off for the Turin Shroud, but this in itself is certainly not a complaint.

The buffet breakfast was accompanied by great coffee and wads of orange-juice concentrate. Food included freshly pre-baked croissants, industry-standard jams, shaven cheese squares, hard-boiled hens’ eggs, natural yoghurt with muesli and ham-square flutes so tightly and beautifully rolled that they’d fit in the nostril cavity of anyone aged 5 and up. I loved it.

To sum up, if you haven’t got a mobility handicap, I’d recommend this place for its hospitality and cleanliness. I’d go back and pay the same price again. Well done Locanda Castagnola!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Spekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel staff were highly accommodating. Breakfast was excellent with a very good selection for a small hotel. The evening meal was very well prepared with fine attention to presentation. We should have dined there both nights we stayed. Desserts were tasty and beautifully displayed. The staff spoke several languages and were very tolerant of my beginning Italian. Other features were mentioned by another reviewer; bus stop within a few feet, close to the funicular, not far from Lugano Centro if you want to walk a bit.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bikefor2ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I loved it, and here are the reasons why:
1. It is within 50 m from the nearest Bus Stop.
2. The Staff speaks excellent English.
3. Staff is extremely helpful. They politely gave us the directions and suggestions and maps.
4. Rooms are clean.
5. View of the lake from our room was nice.
6. Our room had a Balcony.
7. TV and Fridge was available in the room.
8. Breakfast was excellent, even for vegetarians :)
9. They have a Hair Drier in the Bathroom..yaay :)
10. Its close to Mt. Bre.
11. The staff was extremely nice in themselves offering us to keep our luggage for a couple of hours after we had checked out.

1 thing that you might want to know:
There were no Tea or Coffee bags, not that I needed them but just telling.

Room Tip: Go for a Lake View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriankaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and comfortable for a great price. The view if you have a room facing the lake is very nice. The free breakfast is a standard buffet, no hot food but the staff will make you a great coffee. Affordable and clean, would recommend to anyone on a budget.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank JasonandJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this place for 2 nights and here is my opinion on it.
Nice and clean basic hotel located in a city named castagnola which is 10 minutes from Lugano , bus #2 takes you there but if you have a car it's better because parking it's free.
Out room did not have lake view which was not a big deal but it was located at the front of the property and it gets really noisy with all the cars and bikes passing at night.
No air conditioning in the rooms but you don't need it, room had a safety box which you won't need because people in switZerland are so educated they won't steal from you.
The family is very pleasant and friendly and they speak about 4 languages, and the breakfast is delicious normal for Europe. No elevator so you carry your things. Prices are little high but everything is high here in this country so enjoy a couple of nights here and make sure you follow the olive trail , it's a couple of steps from the hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We keep coming back here because the staff are so helpful, the rooms are so clean and comfortable (all seem to have been refurbished recently, with soft beds, new linen and decent toiletries) and although the Locanda is simple, it has everything we need. The restaurant stayed open late one evening just for us, because we got very delayed on our journey, and the chef was totally kind and helpful, making us a fresh, lovely meal. Stay here - its a little way out of Lugano, but very affordable, and the breakfast is also excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view. They cost the same as the rest, and some have nice little balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyonTiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

...but close to a little village of local renown whose name escapes me. There's a lovely trail along the lake that will take you there. The hotel itself was pleasant, no complaints. Good breakfast. View of the lake. Great, personalised service from a multilingual gentleman. The hotel is a bit far from Lugano centre however - bit of a hike on foot. Better by car or bike. There are a couple of restaurants right nearby, although I can't recommend the one we went to - it's right across the street on the corner. Overall - recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalalaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#11 of 45 in Lugano
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.7 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#7 of 21 in Lugano
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Castagnola

Address: via vecchio Municipio 1, Lugano 6976, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lugano
Price Range: $116 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Castagnola 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing