We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - great Service”
Review of Enoteca Osteria del Portico - CLOSED

Enoteca Osteria del Portico
Price range: $44 - $88
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food - great Service”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I did a romantic trip to Lugano with my wife and we had no clue where to go so we checked on Tripadvisor for local food and Osteria del Portico was the number one.

All was as expected. The food was really tasty and we liked the suggestions. The waiters were really friendly and professional. They really took the time for everything. There is no English Menu, but there is no need as they translate the menu for you in English and German... always keeping the charming Italian accent :)

The prices are all OK for what you get and the biggest compliment has to be done to the waiters, as they really give you the feeling that they just want you to be happy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely seasonal menu and great wines”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Situated along one of the main streets, this place looks nothing from the outside. But go in and you get a friendly welcome, a seasonal menu with delicious food served by helpful and well informed staff and an excellent wine list - with good recommendations. Particularly liked the fact that each of the puddings came with its own carefully chosen dessert wine.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorians63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent wine and food”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

wow really good, i work in the restaurant business and this is an excellent and sincere place. some of the well choosen wine are offered from a magnum- cool and unusual.
good food more italian artisan than swiss, it was bussy when i went but they still managed to fit me in, proper chefs in kitchen and professional wait staff, they are on the right course.
-enjoy

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday2010july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, delicious & family-friendly”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We came on a relatively slow Saturday night with no reservation. Service was very friendly, they catered to our 2 1/2 year old with humour, patience, a small plate of pasta and an extra helping of chocolate mousse! My orrechiette were original & fabulous, the tuna wonderful and the Sicilian wine excellent for an open bottle selection. 134 chf total incl. drinks, desserts and coffee - not cheap, but for this country not overpriced. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Lugano Restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have been visiting Lugano to work for 3 years, and Osteria Del Portico is our favorite restaurant for a enjoyable special lunch or dinner. Over the years we have come to appreciate the warm hospitality and lovely dishes, and have spent many evenings enjoying local wines next to the oldest building in Lugano. Be sure to try the grapefruit and red orange sorbets!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ATCongress2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Osteria del Portico also viewed

 
Fornasette, Lugano
Massagno, Lugano
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing