We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spacious rooms in an unusual complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maraini Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maraini Resort
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms in an unusual complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The Maraini complex is a little odd, being part hotel and part clinic, but I thought the advantages well outweighed the peculiarities. In any case, it means it has good facilities including its own grounds and a pool, and is quiet. There is no getting away from the fact that Lugano is hilly and the Maraini resort is at the top of the hill whereas the city centre is at the bottom, but it is more or less level with the railway station, and there are buses into town if you cannot face the walk. My room was enormous with a double bed, sofa bed, dining table and kitchen well spaced out. There was also a large and pleasant balcony with a table and chairs. The kitchen was well-equipped (although I would have liked a coffee maker). The minimalist décor rather reflected the clinical nature of the establishment, and a bit of updating would not go amiss. Nevertheless, considering the amount of space, it was very good value for money for Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viermabru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    36
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
15
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Let me start by saying we were not given any instructions for how to check in on Sunday. Maraini Resort is located in a complex of many buildings-a retirement community. We arrived and walked around the compound for a while before asking a waitress who ended up "checking in" for us. Turns out there was no one at the front desk and no one to help us get our key. No sure what would've happened if we arrived after the waitress got off work...

The property advertised itself as having a washer/dryer but after asking a cleaning lady in broken Italian, she told us to go to the basement. Let me warn you that the basement is a labyrinth and connects all the buildings together. Long story short, after getting yelled at by a man who worked there in Italian, and finally finding a washer dryer that looked like it was for the staff, we couldn't figure out how to use it and gave up.

We also left for dinner only to find the gates were closed and locked when we got back at 9pm. he only directions posted on the gate was for visitors to go to another gate somewhere 100 meters away. Thank goodness someone was leaving and we were able to get in.

We didn't find this to be a very professional "hotel". We were not given any instructions for the things I mentioned above and feel that the stay could have been much more pleasant if there was more information available.

The rooms were finre. We had a view from our balcony. Definitely for old people (emergency button in the bathroom). Showers were designed quite poorly and couldn't close all the way, which means it's pretty much impossible not to leak water onto the floor after showering.

This is away from the center of town, on the other side of the train station. It's about 10-15min from the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandervne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The resort is easy to reach by car and by train though not necessarily easy to find. Walking distance to the city is less then 1 km, partially alongside one of the busy roads in town and as the resort is placed in the upper part of the city - as the main station is - the way back from the city center can be a little cumbersome. The reception is polite and efficient. Rooms are very spacious, can have a very nice view on the lake, and have a kitchenette supplied with the most important. Rooms are furnished with IKEA furnitures and look fresh and modern. The resort offers the service of an restaurant as well as a basic spa.
All together a good place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GerhardCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights last week. The apartments are enormous, the views are stunning and there is a good gym and swimming pool. It is only a ten minute walk to the station and the walk into town is easy. The walk back is harder (uphill), but there's always the funicular. Can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: They are all good, as long as you are at least two floors up - to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dona Di Piave, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went there for 4 days on the occasion of our daughter's FIRST Birthday ,January 2012. Enjoyed every single day ... it's clean and the view from the balcony was awesome, the thermal pool was added enjoyment ! Highly recommend for family with kids :)

Room Tip: rooms with balcony are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiroshree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Maraini Resort the views from our room of the lake were spectacular and even though the mountains were capped in snow the weather in mid December was perfect for enjoying local wine and produce from the balcony! The room was well appointed and there was ample space for a family of 4. Cooking facilities were adequate but a washing machine would have been great as hotel laundry was quite expensive. Breakfast was minimal in choice and I thought quite expensive. In hindsight we should have opted to not have breakfast and purchase breakfast provisions from the supermarket. All in all an enjoyable stay in a beautiful part of the world!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room on the upper levels to enjoy the beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaN76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed there for 3 weeks and have to say it's OK. The apartments are pretty sapcious which is nice but on the other hand, they look a bit "empty" at the same time. There is a sleeping couch which is not really for sitting and far too far away from the television, a couch table which is to small and dinner chairs which are a bit uncomfortable.. they could improve the lights, there are ceiling lights but for a more cozy light there is nothing. the view is nice, the balcony is big and the kitchen has all it needs to cook basic food. it's ok in the end but things dont really feel valuable, and a more comfortable couch would have been great. Staff is helpful though, speaks italian/french/german and english and it's pretty close to the station where you can find an (overly expensive) supermarket which is also open on sundays (when 90% of everything in lugano is closed)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.5 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Colibri
Hotel Colibri
#20 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#10 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maraini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraini Resort

Property: Maraini Resort
Address: via Massagno 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maraini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful park, the Maraini Resort is a 10-minute walk from Lugano's city centre. It offers an indoor pool and individually decorated apartments with balconies overlooking the lake or the park. From the top of the hill you can enjoy panoramic views of Lake Lugano and the Southern Alps. All of the spacious apartments features a kitchenette and views of the lake or of the Parco Maraini. Free WiFi is available. Ticinese and Mediterranean cuisine is served in the Ristorante Parco Maraini, featuring a summer terrace shaded by the park's trees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Maraini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraini Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing