We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Come for the views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maraini Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maraini Resort
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Come for the views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We absolutely loved the views from our balcony, as well as the spaciousness and convenience of having an apartment. If you are looking for a quiet retreat above the hustle and bustle of Lugano, this is it! We took the train and walked (about 10 min.). When you exit the train station, get on the #4 bus 1 or 2 stops if you don't want to walk. To get down to the water and town, take the funicular from the train station (a 2 minute ride).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuba_Kim_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
16
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We headed to Lugano for some shopping and being new in Switzerland (barely a month), we did not want to get lost in the italian speaking region of Switzerland, thus! Our main priority was to get a hotel near the train station so as to minimize chances of us getting lost. And, we stumbled across the Maraini Resort. It is actually more of like a serviced apartment. It is a straight forward walk down, probably within 300metres from the train station, a short 5-10minutes walk.

What did I love about the place? Everything. The rooms were clean, theme of the room was red and white, had everything that you needed. From dishwasher, full sets of cutlery, oven, fridge, soap etc. It was fantastic. Also, depending on the units you got, ours had the view of Lake Lugano and I'd say it was a very pretty sight at night when the hill lights up at night from the little houses on the hills. As a guest there you could use the additional facilities like the indoor heated swimming pool as well! :) Definitely a plus point in the cold cold winter.

Downside of the place? I stayed with two others, there was a king bed in the master bedroom, and the third bed provided was actually in the living room. Thus our poor friend had to sleep in the living room. The third bed was a foldable bed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We booked this hotel rather last minute, mostly based on availability and affordability (though with current rate of CHF, ouch...). We were pleasantly surprised. Friendly welcome. The two rooms we had (334 and 337) both had a nice lake view, the latter maybe even better with a view on Mont Bre as well. The rooms are very spacious with a small kitchen and nice balcony, which is nice to wind down after a day in Lugano. Also the pool which is open till 10 p.m. was something we enjoyed. Well situated close to the station and not too far from the center.
Breakfast buffet was ok (usual standard fare). Agree with earlier review that entrance to the parking is a bit tight.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casteko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

No A/C in the rooms?
no curtains

the room is large and clean
the parking is complecated !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iBader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid, Spain
Level Contributor
211 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Reception closes at 5 pm so we had to "find" someone ( a nurse from the clinic next to the hotel in this case. Extremely kind nurse I must say) that showed us the " check-in procedure". If we had not found this lady, only a sheet of paper stuck on one door would have been our "instructional guide" in the complex .As the reception was closed, I needed extra pillows for my back and it was IMPOSSIBLE get them . I slept really badly that night.
The apartment was very large and newly furnished, perfect in equipment (kitchen, hair dryer,kettle...) but no one to ask (for example heating or air condition was "fixed" and there was not even a programmer or "button" to turn on or off, it did not mind if you were cold or hot. I had to put my fur coat on my bed to keep warm in the night, no extra blanket or cover/ duvet.
We booked a room for 3 people and there was a bedroom with a very nice bed but the other BED??? was in the living room and it was "something -like-a-bed", bended in the middle and just fine for a child under 10 for example.
Breakfast is really "scarce" and poor ( some croissants and bread, juice and coffee,tea and some "ghostly"cheese and ham). Not strange it is included in the price.
Price is very very high for what it is offered.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmmier1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Great surprise! The hotel is in a parc with a beautiful view over Lugano and the lake. The appartement is very big - two rooms, flat screen TV, very quiet.

It's a bit of a walk down to the city but not more than 5-10 min.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urshinterwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Awesome!! Had a corporate apartment - it was a beautiful place. Great service and staff!!

Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jfelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Hotel Colorado Lugano
#28 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.7 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.3 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maraini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraini Resort

Property: Maraini Resort
Address: via Massagno 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maraini Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful park, the Maraini Resort is a 10-minute walk from Lugano's city centre. It offers an indoor pool and individually decorated apartments with balconies overlooking the lake or the park. From the top of the hill you can enjoy panoramic views of Lake Lugano and the Southern Alps. All of the spacious apartments features a kitchenette and views of the lake or of the Parco Maraini. Free WiFi is available. Ticinese and Mediterranean cuisine is served in the Ristorante Parco Maraini, featuring a summer terrace shaded by the park's trees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maraini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraini Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing