We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuisine from Tuscany”

Osteria Gallo d'Oro
Ranked #33 of 393 Restaurants in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Trieste, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cuisine from Tuscany”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

When you are abroad and you can find a restaurant where the cooking is exactly the one you can find at home what else you can ask for? A small restaurant above Lugano with nice service and good wines. Recommended for business lunches.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank danieldenoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    56
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
1,116 reviews
582 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 918 helpful votes
“Not good enough for the price paid.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My Darling and I visited this restaurant on a busy Friday night travelling from down town Lugano by taxi ( 71 euros return trip , only 8-10 minutes each way , on each occasion having to endure loud and politically opinionated Sicilian drivers... but it was a Mercedes, at least.)
The restaurant is quite impressive perched on the hill, its a stylish and modern place filled with movers and shakers of the upwardly mobile.
The menu was dictated to us by the waiter , which seemed like a nice touch , but to me whose first language is not Italian, might have been more comfortable with a written menu , especially with some evidence of the prices charged for the dishes.
We chose the two mixed appetiser platters , one from the sea one from the land. A scallop shell with a dissected scallop with a rather dry and tasteless topping of fine bread crumbs. Two battered and fried prawns, batter was a bit stodgy, a crostini with a tartar of fish , a little bowl of fresh mussels in a tomato sauce, marinated small fish and a kind of carpaccio of a fish of unusual texture and taste ... all in all the dish was quite enjoyable , but nothing mind-blowing enough to warrant the price of the dish . My Darling was impressed with his taste of the land, which included some bur rata, small tomatoes, a crostini with liver pate on top, fried fiori di zucca, in the same batter that could have been more enjoyable with more delicate batter. A slice of melanzana which might have been more enjoyable two days ago.
For the main course my darling chose the swordfish , which was excellent , simply served , but the great let down were the veggies accompanying the dish ...really over cooked green beans and uninspiring carrots and zucchini. a splodge of hash potato ....
My fritto mist di mare , was a tad over cooked therefore a bit dry which for the price i think more attention should have been paid to. The presentation of all the dishes had the same ubiquitous garnish of a curly lettuce leaf and some rather tired lemon wedges, that might have been fresh yesterday.
The desserts we chose were the chocolate fondant , which was excellent ... the mille feuille filled with creme chantilly , which squished all over the place when one attacked the pastry with a fork. Accompanied by some wild strawberries was a nice touch , the cream filling could do with some reconsidering IMO. The combo was not as harmonious to the palate as to the eye.
I had a glass of excellent prosecco.... and two small bottles of water.... The damage 181 euros. with taxi 252 euros.
A very expensive experience for something not quite good enough .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Saskiagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olen
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicioso”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a great experience. Top class food, Matteo, owner, waiter, charmer, explains in a mouthwatering way the menu and the different dishes.Jokes a little bit, flirts a bit with the women, all sympathetically. He also gave me a nickname It is a fantastic moment. We went there 3 times and 3 times a great experience. Simply, it is the best. And the staff recognizes you, remember you name, knows what you had last time. The wine list is great and Matteo recommends the wines that go with your dishes. Just one advise: go there!!!!!!
We traveled around the world, ate in many great restaurants, but the Osteria is on the top of our list. Matteo, we will be back. Arrividerci e all prossima volta.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johan_christel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top Quality Restaurant”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have been going to Gall' D'Oro with my family since I was a little girl. The owner, Matteo, is a fantastic character that speaks four languages and will always tell you a joke if you are willing to listen. There is no menu and no prices. Matteo comes to your table and tells you what they have. Although they pretty always have their classics: amazing t-bone (choice of Italy or USA), tagliolini with crabmeat and spicy sauce (my favorite) or scallops gratin, they change their menu around the seasonal ingredients so that the food is always the best quality. I had many chats with the owner about the origin of the meat and fish they buy and I feel confident of having the best when I visit. My favorite dishes are the burrata, the artichoke salad, the baby goat (capretto) during Easter season and they also make a really good liver Venetian style. The wines are also fantastic and they always know what to recommend or have something new for you to try. In the winter it's cosy (and small so you can't really go without a reservation) and in the summer it has a big terrace and you can dine under the stars. It is good for any occasion but be careful, the prices are steep so it better be a good occasion!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lopalops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top class food and only 3 km to travel”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The food here is probably the best in Lugano. We have been a few times, and have never been disappointed. We shall continue to visit. Parking is a bit tight.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Gallo d'Oro also viewed

 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Osteria Gallo d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing