We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, clean rooms, incredible views, solid value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garni Millennium
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Davis, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff, clean rooms, incredible views, solid value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Easy walking distance to train station ... priceless location on Locarno's waterfont right across from ferry terminal, yet amazingly quiet nights ... clean spacious room with balcony ... very nice breakfast ... lovely terrace cafes, restaurants and shopping nearby. And the staff were truly gracious, attentive and accommodating. All this at a very fair price!

My only problem -- wishing I was still there ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pravihrvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
58
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

As we were travelling by rail we chose this hotel due to its proximity to the railway station, just two blocks away. We booked a room overlooking the lake. It was very quiet at this time of year and we heard no street noise during the night. Both the room and bathroom were very clean and well maintained. Just across the road we could take a boat to the Brissago islands and to Ancona. The old town and shopping centre (mostly under arcades, so great on a rainy day) was just a two-minute walk away. There are a number of excellent restaurants just along the promenade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in an excellent location for transport and the grand plaza. The room was a good size..however shower was quite small. Very clean and comfortable and rooms were made up daily with fresh towels. Breakfast was simple but more than adequate with choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurts, cheeses, meats and breads etc. Great cafe latte with refills offered until satisfied. A very good quality 3 star hotel .. Price was quite high, however with no other experience to compare with other Swiss hotels this may be typical of Locarno.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Cute rooms b&b atmosphere. Very clean. Tea in room but coffee downstairs. Centrally located but a little noisy. Just 50 meters from the Embarcadero. Take the boat to the Prissogo Islands. It is frequently sunny in Lucarno when it is overcast further north.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Quaint little hotel in the best location of beautiful Locarno. We stepped off the boat from Stressa and walked 10 meters cross the road to the front door of the hotel, and was greeted by a friendly receptionist who helped us with maps, list of restaurants, and other ideas.
Two blocks back is the railway and bus station. Best room in the hotel is the corner balcony room (Billy Holiday Room) where you can see boats coming and going, and entertainers on the foreshore. Nice restaurant just along the lake one block away is SENSI where the waiters are mature men who know their wine and are willing to have a conversation with you while enjoying their work. Locarno is a beautiful town - well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Billy Holiday Room was great for us, but if you want seclusion a back room would be better. We enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks nice and clean.. However i had the most terriable stay in my life.. The hotel changes my room 2 times because they were fully booked.. They moved my stuff from room to another with unacceptable way.. I had a cheese on my fridge they just took it.. And in last night they didnot find a room for us so they decided to book in a different hotel which is in a different area and very hard to reach and put our clothes on a dirty storage.. They even dis not close my shampoo bottle and all my clothes got damaged.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone as you might lose you stuff or they move you from day to another

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hany_Khorazaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnimillennium, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Garni Millennium, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Khorazaty,
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in the hotel this time. It seems a little bit strange to us what you are writing as things were a little different. That's why we would like to answer to your comment.
1. You were already guest in our hotel before and came back again for 2 nights. Strange that a guest is coming back to a hotel he did not like at all and where he was not treated well. Especially when there were plenty of free rooms in other hotels.
2. You have booked for 2 nights at the check-in. At the end of your stay you wanted to stay three nights and you were insisting that you have booked three nights instead of two. A booking for three nights was impossible as we were already fully booked. We wanted to help you and were looking for another hotel just next to ours (not at all difficult to reach) where we booked a room for you.
3. You did not leave the room at the day of departure after check-out time. You left all your things behind and we had to call you reminding you to leave the room. You answered us that you were out of town and that we should put your things together.
4. We for sure did not store your things in a dirty place, there are no dirty places in the hotel. It is possible that we did not close well a shampoo and we would like to excuse us for this! But normally guests are putting there things together when they should ckeck-out, not the hotel staff.
5. You had to change the room, this is correct but you knew about this when you checked-in and we think you agreed, otherwise you would have gone somewhere else.
6. Again about the "unreachable" hotel. We would like to say again, that this hotel is just accross the street and a very well known hotel in Locarno. We have explained the way to you more than once. We have reserved a room for you and the morning after the hotel called us asking us why you did not arrive. We had no explanation for this. In the morning you came again to our hotel because of the cheese you left behind. We asked you where you have been as you did not check-in to the hotel. Your answer was that you could not find it and that you slept in another hotel. We honestly cannot unserstand how this is possible. The hotel you slept is much more complicated to reach.
7. Not to forget: The hotel we have booked for you wanted to have the money from us for the night because you did not go there. We had a big discussion with them as it was not our fault that you did not arrive. We normally collaborate very well with the hotels in the neighbourhood and we never ever had problems before.

We normally take into consideration all critics and if we make a mistake, we always search a way to resolve it and if you look at all the other comments we have very good comments.

We are sorry for what happened, sorry for you but especially sorry for us to read a comment like this on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The perfect hotel for a vacation in Locarno I thought. Everything about this little hotel matches perfectly with the surrounding. It wasn’t business, massive, inhuman, intimidating, cheap, or neglected. It felt just right. Good sized room, bright and comfortable. Bathroom was clean, bright, and roomy. I felt right at home. Floor squeaks a little so you will hear your neighbor upstairs. In the morning they have one very nice lady who was the cashier, concierge, check in, and coffee server for breakfast. I guess that’s why they have a one way mirror at the breakfast room looking into the reception-so she can keep an eye on the lobby while serving us coffee, very good coffee at that. But you would applaud her ability rather than complain about the one woman band. The location was perfect. Hotels in Locarno seem to bunch up either in this area by the upscale lakeside restaurants, or near the Grand Piazza. Anything between are mostly large chain hotel with very little local feel. This hotel is the first building in the lakeside restaurant area so it is closest to all the other attractions. You are also literally across the street from the ferry terminal that takes you all over the lake. I wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else in Locarno. I’m afraid the secret is out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
#10 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Millennium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Millennium

Property: Hotel Garni Millennium
Address: via nuova Dogana 2, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Millennium 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Garni Millennium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing