We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garni Millennium
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Cute rooms b&b atmosphere. Very clean. Tea in room but coffee downstairs. Centrally located but a little noisy. Just 50 meters from the Embarcadero. Take the boat to the Prissogo Islands. It is frequently sunny in Lucarno when it is overcast further north.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 112 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Quaint little hotel in the best location of beautiful Locarno. We stepped off the boat from Stressa and walked 10 meters cross the road to the front door of the hotel, and was greeted by a friendly receptionist who helped us with maps, list of restaurants, and other ideas.
Two blocks back is the railway and bus station. Best room in the hotel is the corner balcony room (Billy Holiday Room) where you can see boats coming and going, and entertainers on the foreshore. Nice restaurant just along the lake one block away is SENSI where the waiters are mature men who know their wine and are willing to have a conversation with you while enjoying their work. Locarno is a beautiful town - well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Billy Holiday Room was great for us, but if you want seclusion a back room would be better. We enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks nice and clean.. However i had the most terriable stay in my life.. The hotel changes my room 2 times because they were fully booked.. They moved my stuff from room to another with unacceptable way.. I had a cheese on my fridge they just took it.. And in last night they didnot find a room for us so they decided to book in a different hotel which is in a different area and very hard to reach and put our clothes on a dirty storage.. They even dis not close my shampoo bottle and all my clothes got damaged.

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone as you might lose you stuff or they move you from day to another

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hany_Khorazaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnimillennium, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Garni Millennium, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Mr. Khorazaty,
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in the hotel this time. It seems a little bit strange to us what you are writing as things were a little different. That's why we would like to answer to your comment.
1. You were already guest in our hotel before and came back again for 2 nights. Strange that a guest is coming back to a hotel he did not like at all and where he was not treated well. Especially when there were plenty of free rooms in other hotels.
2. You have booked for 2 nights at the check-in. At the end of your stay you wanted to stay three nights and you were insisting that you have booked three nights instead of two. A booking for three nights was impossible as we were already fully booked. We wanted to help you and were looking for another hotel just next to ours (not at all difficult to reach) where we booked a room for you.
3. You did not leave the room at the day of departure after check-out time. You left all your things behind and we had to call you reminding you to leave the room. You answered us that you were out of town and that we should put your things together.
4. We for sure did not store your things in a dirty place, there are no dirty places in the hotel. It is possible that we did not close well a shampoo and we would like to excuse us for this! But normally guests are putting there things together when they should ckeck-out, not the hotel staff.
5. You had to change the room, this is correct but you knew about this when you checked-in and we think you agreed, otherwise you would have gone somewhere else.
6. Again about the "unreachable" hotel. We would like to say again, that this hotel is just accross the street and a very well known hotel in Locarno. We have explained the way to you more than once. We have reserved a room for you and the morning after the hotel called us asking us why you did not arrive. We had no explanation for this. In the morning you came again to our hotel because of the cheese you left behind. We asked you where you have been as you did not check-in to the hotel. Your answer was that you could not find it and that you slept in another hotel. We honestly cannot unserstand how this is possible. The hotel you slept is much more complicated to reach.
7. Not to forget: The hotel we have booked for you wanted to have the money from us for the night because you did not go there. We had a big discussion with them as it was not our fault that you did not arrive. We normally collaborate very well with the hotels in the neighbourhood and we never ever had problems before.

We normally take into consideration all critics and if we make a mistake, we always search a way to resolve it and if you look at all the other comments we have very good comments.

We are sorry for what happened, sorry for you but especially sorry for us to read a comment like this on Tripadvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The perfect hotel for a vacation in Locarno I thought. Everything about this little hotel matches perfectly with the surrounding. It wasn’t business, massive, inhuman, intimidating, cheap, or neglected. It felt just right. Good sized room, bright and comfortable. Bathroom was clean, bright, and roomy. I felt right at home. Floor squeaks a little so you will hear your neighbor upstairs. In the morning they have one very nice lady who was the cashier, concierge, check in, and coffee server for breakfast. I guess that’s why they have a one way mirror at the breakfast room looking into the reception-so she can keep an eye on the lobby while serving us coffee, very good coffee at that. But you would applaud her ability rather than complain about the one woman band. The location was perfect. Hotels in Locarno seem to bunch up either in this area by the upscale lakeside restaurants, or near the Grand Piazza. Anything between are mostly large chain hotel with very little local feel. This hotel is the first building in the lakeside restaurant area so it is closest to all the other attractions. You are also literally across the street from the ferry terminal that takes you all over the lake. I wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else in Locarno. I’m afraid the secret is out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a very small hotel located just down the hill from the train station and across from the ferry dock. There are many restaurants, bars, shops nearby. The staff is friendly and helpful with limited English. At 9:00 pm, the desk attendant leaves and locks the doors. You must enter a code to get in after that time. We were there during an extremely hot spell. Our room had air conditioning ....barely. We have had this problem on our other stops as well. Running AC all day, our room is down to 82 degrees. Our room is very small. The bed is comfortable, the carpeting needs to be refreshed. The bath has been updated and is nice. There's a mini refrigerator, wardrobe and flat screen tv - but we found no English speaking channels. The wifi works well. Breakfast is simple but adequate

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

What a great choice for location and quality. We stayed in the Louis Armstrong room which had a great balcony and view. Breakfast was adequate and free wifi. Staff were kind and helpful. Planning on a return trip for 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beloskur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

You can walk from the rail station easily as long as you are pulling your luggage. It is very clean with smallish rooms, but ample for a two night stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating offering all good tips. You can walk directly to the ferry, the Historic District and all the fine restaurants. There is a bazaar every Thursday that takes up the entire Historic District. Great bargains.
The hotel breakfast is more than ample...great selections and very good Expressos.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of lake front rooms available. Suggest you request same at the time the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shitzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.2 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 27 in Locarno
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 27 in Locarno
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Millennium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Millennium

Address: via nuova Dogana 2, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range: $123 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Millennium 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Garni Millennium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garni Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing