We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right at the Piazza Grande and good value”
Review of Hotel Dell'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dell'Angelo
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Right at the Piazza Grande and good value”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The room is not super great but it is practical. If you are looking to be near the buzzing Piazza Grande but not break out the bank, this place is perfect for you. Just don't expect luxuries or comfort. If what you're looking for is location and a good bed to sleep with breakfast, this is the right place. I didn't have many expectations as it is a three star so when there were shortfalls in service, it didn't frustrate me that much. The room is simple (with freaky angels decor theme all over the hotel, found it a bit cheesy/spooky) yet practical - small shower, sink, ladies makeup mirror, bedside lamps for reading in bed and wifi. I was upset that I could not get an iron when I called in the evening, being informed that the laundry room closes at 4. I said is there a manager perhaps who can open it? I just needed to iron, and no help was provided. In the end I had to use the steam from the hair dryer which didn't help much... Restaurant was ok, food is decent and you get a nice breakfast nothing lavish but they had enough varieties of black, fruit and herbal teas along with good breads, yoghurt and juices.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mademoiselle_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    128
    110
    53
    59
See reviews for
92
145
28
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Bernardo Do Campo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Dell´Angelo is a small hotel very well located .. multilingual , friendly staff. It is very near a shopping area and a few blocks away from the Railway station. Good breakfast and food in general.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had visited Locarno in March 2012 with Family .

(+) Great location- Piazza grande !!! . Though it is a good 15 mins walking from the Train Station .

(+) We had dinner at the Restaurant . The food was good and the serving staff was indeed much more hospitable than the reception staff !!!

(-) Old Rooms / Furniture - The rooms / furniture seem pretty old . Same with the pillows and bed sheets !!!

(-) The staff at the reception seemed to be a bit unreceptive . Requests for information about nearby places / locations were met with answers like " have a look at the brochures in the lobby " . Other requests were responded with a standard answer " Please visit the local tourism office , they could help you in English "

(-) Breakfast was almost over when we arrived . Though we were well within the time limit , the exhausted items were not refreshed , which really limited our choice for vegetarian items .

Apart from a good location , this place doesnt earn too many good points to be recommended .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VINAYLOGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Quite a good hotel with excellent location. Our room was clean and tidy, furnitures back from 60's-70's. Buffet breakfast was good. Well worth of 130 CHF which we paid for one night (July 2012).
Car park only 7 CHF/24 hrs in a nearby parking house. Ask from the hotel reception.
Staff was not rude, but not very polite either. They speak only Italian and German.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

we booked a `standard room' through laterooms.com. When we arrived, we were given a hostel room, without any toilet/bathroom facilities, and told to use a shared bathroom or pay 50 francs extra for a room with private bathroom. I had the printed receipt from laterooms and it says I had paid for a standard room, nothing written on the booking slip says that the bathroom was excluded, I showed it to the staff at checkin but they refused to accept any responsibility. They even told us that we had to pay extra taxes too because they had somehow forgotten to include them in the prices on laterooms. This really spoilt our whole experience of Locarno, as we felt we had no choice other than wasting the first day of our holiday going to another town or giving more money to these thieves. The type of person who puts their customers in that dilemma is really despicable.

Room Tip: another hotel, it is only 5km to Italy where the hotels are half the price. Como is very nice and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank objective_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Locarno hotels

Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Good location and rooms very clean and tidy. Breakfast was good continental one.

Breakfast Staff should be more helpful and perhaps smile a bit more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pommyygozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Da Vinci B&B
Casa Da Vinci B&B
#14 of 28 in Locarno
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 28 in Locarno
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
0.0 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#9 of 28 in Locarno
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dell'Angelo

Property: Hotel Dell'Angelo
Address: Piazza Grande, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dell'Angelo is an historic building, located in the centre of town, in the most important area of Locarno, Piazza Grande, just a few minutes from the station and the lake.Combining the charm of the past with all modern comforts, the hotel offers a family atmosphere, carefully supervised cuisine with traditional Ticinese and Italian dishes (pizzeria with wood-burning oven) and a cellar stocked with regional and classic wines. The first-floor banqueting room can seat up to 140 people.All 55 rooms are equipped with private bathroom/toilet/shower, hair-dryer, satellite TV, radio, telephone and safe; some rooms also have a balcony. In just a few words: the ideal holiday location in a lovely hotel at attractive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dell Angelo
Dell Angelo Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing