We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location / Old rooms / Bit expensive .”
Review of Hotel Dell'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dell'Angelo
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had visited Locarno in March 2012 with Family .

(+) Great location- Piazza grande !!! . Though it is a good 15 mins walking from the Train Station .

(+) We had dinner at the Restaurant . The food was good and the serving staff was indeed much more hospitable than the reception staff !!!

(-) Old Rooms / Furniture - The rooms / furniture seem pretty old . Same with the pillows and bed sheets !!!

(-) The staff at the reception seemed to be a bit unreceptive . Requests for information about nearby places / locations were met with answers like " have a look at the brochures in the lobby " . Other requests were responded with a standard answer " Please visit the local tourism office , they could help you in English "

(-) Breakfast was almost over when we arrived . Though we were well within the time limit , the exhausted items were not refreshed , which really limited our choice for vegetarian items .

Apart from a good location , this place doesnt earn too many good points to be recommended .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VINAYLOGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 450 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

Quite a good hotel with excellent location. Our room was clean and tidy, furnitures back from 60's-70's. Buffet breakfast was good. Well worth of 130 CHF which we paid for one night (July 2012).
Car park only 7 CHF/24 hrs in a nearby parking house. Ask from the hotel reception.
Staff was not rude, but not very polite either. They speak only Italian and German.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

we booked a `standard room' through laterooms.com. When we arrived, we were given a hostel room, without any toilet/bathroom facilities, and told to use a shared bathroom or pay 50 francs extra for a room with private bathroom. I had the printed receipt from laterooms and it says I had paid for a standard room, nothing written on the booking slip says that the bathroom was excluded, I showed it to the staff at checkin but they refused to accept any responsibility. They even told us that we had to pay extra taxes too because they had somehow forgotten to include them in the prices on laterooms. This really spoilt our whole experience of Locarno, as we felt we had no choice other than wasting the first day of our holiday going to another town or giving more money to these thieves. The type of person who puts their customers in that dilemma is really despicable.

Room Tip: another hotel, it is only 5km to Italy where the hotels are half the price. Como is very nice and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank objective_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Good location and rooms very clean and tidy. Breakfast was good continental one.

Breakfast Staff should be more helpful and perhaps smile a bit more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pommyygozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hotel dell'Angelo for 2 nights. We mainly spent most of our time outside so can say little about every detail of the hotel.

Good:
- clean room
- not too noisy (depends on the other guests)
- good location in town
- spacey safe

Bad:
- some breakfast items obviously expired, choice rather limited (no vegetables)
- staff quite impolite (e.g. waiter just dropped menu on table, receptionist ignored us for some time at desk, waiter gave an attitude when asked for things and brought wrong things)
- dinner items potentially undercooked
- limited remote control for TV (could not choose languages for programs)
- wifi only available in lobby/restaurant

Room Tip: Ask for king size bed or end up with two single beds pushed together (move easily when active in bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AaronRubinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed for two nights in the hotel during a trip to Locarno & Lugano.
The hotel is in a great location, about 10 -15 minute walk from the train station. It is at the farther (from the station) end of Piazza Grande. It is a typical small Swiss hotel. Clean and basic which is all you need when one is out exploring the area all day.
I booked a single but was given a double room which was nice.

Good points:
The safe in the room was large enough for me to leave my laptop.
Breakfast was a good continental one with excellent selection of bread & hams, cheeses etc.
Very clean
English speaking TV channels - something not to take for granted in continental Europe

Not great:
Wifi didn't work
Bed & pillows were the hardest I have come across in a long time. I think the pillows are so old the feathers are just completely compressed and all air gone out of them
Tiled public corridors meant a lot of echo whenever anyone was walking, talking or/and dragging luggage around.

Room Tip: Corner / end of corridor so you are less affected by noise when people are walking in the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertQueen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I booked a room at fairly short notice for my sister and I. There obviously weren't many left as we ended up with an interestingly shaped room in the roof with five beds! So we had plenty of space, it was very quiet up there and of course we were very grateful for the lift.

The hotel is clean, staff are not overly friendly but do accommodate requests, for example to deposit luggage etc. The location is good, about ten minutes walk from the train station and lake, and on the end of the main square in Locarno; you can go to the terrace on the fourth floor and watch the world going by. There is plenty to choose from at breakfast, but didn't spot anything cooked.

All in all, a good place for a couple of night's stay but probably not for a whole holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are probably quieter, as well as those not facing the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Inselaffe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 27 in Locarno
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 27 in Locarno
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel America
Hotel America
#14 of 27 in Locarno
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Muralto
Hotel Garni Muralto
#3 of 27 in Locarno
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Da Vinci B&B
Casa Da Vinci B&B
#15 of 27 in Locarno
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#2 of 2 in Muralto
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dell'Angelo

Address: Piazza Grande, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range: $53 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dell'Angelo is an historic building, located in the centre of town, in the most important area of Locarno, Piazza Grande, just a few minutes from the station and the lake.Combining the charm of the past with all modern comforts, the hotel offers a family atmosphere, carefully supervised cuisine with traditional Ticinese and Italian dishes (pizzeria with wood-burning oven) and a cellar stocked with regional and classic wines. The first-floor banqueting room can seat up to 140 people.All 55 rooms are equipped with private bathroom/toilet/shower, hair-dryer, satellite TV, radio, telephone and safe; some rooms also have a balcony. In just a few words: the ideal holiday location in a lovely hotel at attractive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dell Angelo
Dell Angelo Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing