We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Such a nice place!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, nicely renovated and decorated with balconies overlooking the mountains and Lago Maggiore. The decoration of our bedroom was in soft, grey tones, which made it cosy and comfortable. Good service at the reception. Breakfast is served in a spacious room and it was pleasant to have a quiet breakfast to enjoy the food. We even had dinner on the Saturday evening (it was included in the rate was had thanks to a special offer) and it was delicious. On Sunday morning we had some time to enjoy the swimming pool and the spa, which were clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    102
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
69
132
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Payerne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wonderfull old hotel which seems very new.
Rooms are confortables and spacious. Breakfast and meal were excellent. Staff very helpfull and nice. I would recomment this hotel. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Room Tip: View to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas 2013, delightful room very spacious. veiw from balcony breathtaking.
Facilities excellent indoor-outdoor pool very inviting, Breakfast very good..little sausages delicious.
Staff very friendly and the hotel spotlessly clean. Excellent position and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bren65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a very good hight location. The rooms are big enought , maybe to " industrial " , for my taste . The staff was very helpful and very kind. The swimingpool is good. The breakfast is acceptable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Miron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
1,139 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 591 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

i was not sure whether rating this hotel with 3 or 4* in my review. i finally decided for highest choice.

firstly, because the overall value for money is good (or least in low season). i paid 638 sfr for a package, meaning 2 nights in a junior suite, with breakfast included and dinner (one night) for two persons. this is a very good price in this town.

secondly, the staff is really helpfull. i probably had my smoothest check-in and check-out experience that i can remember. the restaurant staff was extremely polite and efficient. even the cleaning staff that you meet at the corridors was extremely polite.

the so called "junior suite" was something between a big double room and a smal junior suite. the decoration was between perhaps outdated, somehow even seemed to be like a hospital room. by unknown reasons i was given a handicapped room, and the aspact of the toilet helped to give that impressions. one could expect some better furniture in a 4 stars hotel, more plugs, better tv channels variety...however beds were acceptable, pillows good, and it was all very clean. the view could be better. a big building in front did cut in two pieces the panorama of the lake. i was in the third floor, so i can imagine that lower rooms have a poor view. the minibar had a poor selection, the air conditioned only threw cold air and despite of the big radiator the room was a bit cold in the morning. the safety box was good. no coffee machine facilities, which i did not like.

the hotel is non-smoking, however smokers can satisfy themselves at the balcony. pets are accepted, and even a small "dog garden" is in front of the main entrance.

breakfast was nothing from another planet, but acceptable. a wider selection of hot dishes should be taken into account by the property. only scrambled eggs (of good quality) and one day, bacon also; another day, sausages also, but never bacon and sausages.

5 course dinner was very good, and its price when not included in a package of 55 sfr is very reasonable.

the water at the indoor / outdoor swimming pool was too cold. otherwise, the swimming pool had been great for this type of hotel. the sauna area is small, unsure if sufficient in high season.

the covered carpark (13 sfr per day) was good to accommodate a big car.

the location is good, very quiet, but very close either walking or by the funicular railway to the city centre. the only remark i would make is that unfortunately, some ugly big buildings were built in the viccinity (when the hotel was opened by late xix century, the landscape should be made by beautifull villas; some of them still are around). as i said before one of these big buildings damages the view from the old bulding of the hotel where i was, so may be asking for a room at the new building is advisable.

the official address of the hotel did not appear in my gps, then i tried with "via ai monti 44" and it worked: the hotel is about 200 metres beyond, in the same street.

in general, i was satisfied and can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: upper floors, new building for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed in the middle of June in a junior suite. Overall the service was good and the room was adequate, quite large with a balcony and air conditioning.
We don't give it an excellent rating, because the bathroom was on the small side, fittings looked a bit old, and the service was a bit patchy. For example, the bar area staff were very friendly and informative, but were sometimes too busy.
The food in the restaurant was good, however breakfast could have been improved with freshly cooked items to order.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haveboots_willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
124 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This resort does it right - everything works and the service is super friendly, breakfast is wonderful, the rooms are nicely appointed and have all the amenities one would look for in a 4 star hotel.
The location of this hotel is very convenient - the views from the room i occupied were stunning and The center of the city was a 10 minute walk away.
All in all very nice and super friendly

Room Tip: I had a room looking out over the lake - I would recommend that.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewaldbiemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locarno
0.2 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.5 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.5 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#2 of 32 in Ascona
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Locarno

Property: Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Address: via ai Monti 44, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belvedere Locarno 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the hill which overlooks the city of Locarno, the Hotel Belvedere offers a breathtaking view on Lake Maggiore and its surrounding mountains, making it the ideal place for a wonderful stay in Ticino all year round. Only a seven-minute walk away from Piazza Grande, the train station and the lake side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Locarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing