We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Sadly we only spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel.
The staff were marvelous - really helpful and very polite. We took half board and found the food and service excellent. The buffet (Thursdays and Sundays was amazing.
The grounds are beautifully kept. Our room was spotless and extremely comfortable. The spa (European style so lose your inhibitions and enjoy!) was excellent.
The hotel is a little way up the hill so you get great views and the walk up and down does you good although there is a funicular that stops right at the hotel but unless you are really unable then walk even on up to the church. well worth it!
I can't wait to go back

Room Tip: higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    106
    23
    2
    3
See reviews for
74
138
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Hotel Belvedere, despite its outside appearance, is a modern well appointed hotel. I agree with other reviewers with regard to the staff, the cleanliness and high standard of the rooms and public areas, all of which are excellent. I also agree that it is expensive. Be prepared to pay 40-60 chf for a bottle of wine.

The hotel is located a short walk down to Piazza Grande, the ferry point, tourist office and railway station. Only problem is the fairly steep walk back up again. Good news is that the funicolare stops at the hotel, so for a modest sum you can ride back up. The elevated position affords some rooms with a view of the town and lake. We had room 215 which had a balcony and good views. Some rooms however have their view blocked by a building called the Villa Erica. Why this was allowed to be built is difficult to understand. I suppose nobody can own a view.

Trips worth making during your stay are to Ascona; Isola di Brissago botanic garden; Brissago; cable car to Cardada; Centovalli Express to Domodossola; lakeside walk to Minusio.

In summary, a superior hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathandPeteBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night holiday at this hotel. I cannot comment on value for money as I did not pay to stay here and my review is purely from a quality point of view.
This is not a holiday I would have chosen for myself and so the fact that this hotel caters mainly for older clientele is not a criticism but merely an observation. Consequently the hotel is very quiet at night (a definite bonus) and also quiet during the day with few noisy guest/children (another bonus). The interior of the hotel is very modern despite it's age and we stayed in recently refurbished rooms which were a little impersonal but very neat and tidy.
the food is very, very good here, a pleasant surprise, my only criticism is that the dining room is often stuffy and hot with very little use made of the fantasic large windows/air con.
The hotel is in an ideal position in my opinion, especially if you want to spend lots of time hiking in the mountains: not too far from town either with its excellent transport facilities to large urban centres or small towns/villages around lake Maggiore.
There is a small pool, a spa and somewhere to have lunch should you wish to do so at the hotel.
My criticisms would be: no tea/coffee in the room, poor pillow quality, maids had a tendency to turn off air con when servicing room resulting in a hot room, hot dining room, buffet breakfast often a scrum with delays in replenishing the food, tea (drink) was self service at breakfast causing delays/blocking and water in urn often cold or urn empty - seriously guys, you need to bring tea to the table, not just coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank healpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

this 4* property has been upgraded with a "new" section with spacious rooms, and while there are huge balconies with views of Lago Maggiore, the hotel is quite a bit back from the lake, perhaps a half mile, which was not cleat to me when a made last minute reservations for three nights, negotiating a much better price that what was quoted over the phone by telling them that I could book for much less by using trip advisor. Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff was mostly very helpful, but the restaurant, with excellent cuisine, disappointed with its haughty service. It's not easy to get away from the hotel, there's a privately operated finicular every 15 minues, a walk along dangerous roads, or spotty and expensive cab service. It was, all in all, a pleasant stay, but I'm not sure we'd go back.

Room Tip: View of lake very important, the higher floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Returning to the Belvedere after many years, it was good to find little had changed. The hotel facilities and grounds immaculate, reception staff welcoming and helpful all week. Our large room, so clean & comfortable, overlooked Locarno to the lake and mountains beyond. The restaurant service was faultless, complementing the kitchens superb meals, making a stay in this hotel one of the best Swiss experiences.

Room Tip: We like the annexe rather than main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

despite the fact the hotel has been here a long time it is in fact very modern and contemporary inside. Hygiene was hospital standard. Staff were excellent and very helpful, but all came at a cost this is not for someone on a budget break, Parking and access to funicular railway all add up. We ate lunch in the hotel and although well served and tasty was expensive for very simple cuisine.
There is a very nice swimming pool and sauna / Turkish bath and is one of the highlights of the Hotel. Beautiful views from the rooms are some compensation for the cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrycullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Only problem with this hotel was it was quite difficult to find not well signposted. We should have phoned ahead from the station and they would have collected us. Instead we took the funicular which stopped at the hotel. Other days we walked in and out of town. A lovely walk but quite steep. Locarno is a beautiful town. The location of the hotel is excellent, beautiful views and very quiet. We dined twice at the hotel, once a snack type meal and once a la carte, very good food, restaurant staff very pleasant, helpful and attentive. Breakfast was good too.
Reception and bar staff very friendly and helpful. Room and bathroom excellent size and very very clean. Beautiful views of the lake from the balcony.
Pool a good size, although outdoor area was a bit cool because of the weather. In hot weather the pool and grounds would be marvellous. There is also a grotto bar in the grounds.
On the day of our departure we were provided with a free taxi to the station.
I highly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony and a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanmoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locarno
0.5 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.2 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
1.6 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
0.4 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
629 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Locarno

Property: Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Address: via ai Monti 44, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Locarno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Belvedere Locarno 4.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the hill which overlooks the city of Locarno, the Hotel Belvedere offers a breathtaking view on Lake Maggiore and its surrounding mountains, making it the ideal place for a wonderful stay in Ticino all year round. Only a seven-minute walk away from Piazza Grande, the train station and the lake side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Locarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Locarno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing