We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Locarnese

Locanda Locarnese
Ranked #1 of 124 Restaurants in Locarno
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Small restaurant in old town. We were looking for a place to eat and accidentally we found a quite Street, and found this food paradise. we had actually been 4 times in Locanda, so we tryed everything :) :) Food was excellent and the service was very friendly.
Next year we came back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    40
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Possibly slightly overrated [?]”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Knowing more or less all the good, excellent and fashion Locarnese restaurants, we intended to conclude our autumn holiday with the visit of this from everybody highly commended "Guide Michelin 2012/Gault Millau" restaurant. The anticipation was high and the subsequent disappointment a bit later relatively great. However, the reception in the decent environment, which was likely styled by an excellent interior architect was very professional, obliging and polite and the welcome from the kitchen was a sweet and soure work of art in a little plate. The menue was as expected and corresponding with the restaurants reputation. The disappointment was then the main course, which was entirely misleading in the menue, or who would anounce an 'ossobuco', (usually the Italian veal-shank "bone with a hole" ) and then present a huge plate with a few ravioly stuffed with minced meat [?] The spagetti "vongole" [?] made us frown completely. We abstained from a dessert, because we felt that the waitress became a bit uptight by passing of time, so we just asked for an espresso, and almost had a fit of laughter when we realized the little "Toblerone" in the espresso saucer [!]. That was the least expected in a 13 point Gault Millau restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
520 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“One of the very best in town. You should go. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very small and intimate with a charming and warm wood burning fireplace. The very talented chef creates excellent dishes. The service was flawless. Excellent wine list. If you find yourself in this breathtaking part of the world, you must go to this wonderful little restaruant just off the Piazza Grande. You will not be disappointed here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This traditional ticinese restaurant is something unique in the region. The atmosphere is very welcoming and the gastronomic offer is outstanding.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank zueua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Locarnese also viewed

 

Been to Locanda Locarnese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing