We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”
Review of Garni Dolcevita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garni Dolcevita
Ranked #16 of 25 Locarno B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great views, wonderful breakfast, stayed here last December and had the place to ourselves. Wish we had more than one day to spend at this amazing location. Awoke to a view of pink skies outside our window. Would be our first choice if we return to Locarno!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbaddaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Garni Dolcevita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in August and would definitely recommend this hotel. Lake views from our top floor room balcony were gorgeous, worth lugging our suitcases up 5 flights of stairs. We opted for a room with a private shower and sink (extra $25/night), but toilet was shared. This wasn’t a problem because there were only 3 rooms on our floor and no other guests at the time. Room and bathroom were spotless. Breakfast was good, nice selection of croissants, fruit, ham, cheese, yogurt, etc. Breakfast dining area was lovely with views of the lake. Parking was easy and cheap – there is a metered parking lot across the street with about 20 spots. Cost is 3 Swiss francs a day (8am-6pm). Then it is free after 6pm. The cable car station is a short walk from the hotel and the ride down to town is less than 10 minutes. We bought roundtrip tickets at the hotel’s front desk ($4 each way). In the summer the cable cars run until midnight, which was nice since we ate dinner in town. There is also a long staircase leading down to town right next to the hotel, for those who prefer to walk. We were debating whether to stay in Locarno or above the town in the hills, and we’re glad we chose the latter because of the views – the minimal extra cost for lake view rooms is well worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The couple that runs the place were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was spotless with hot shower and a bathtub as well. We took the room with the balcony which had a good view but we didn't use the balcony much as it was extremely cold.

The restaurant offers great views of the lake which we enjoyed while relishing our sumptuous breakfast which included ham, salami, other cold meats, cheese, preserves, fresh fruits, orange juice, muesli, milk, croissant, other breads and tea/coffee.

The bus stop is right outside the hotel and buses leave every hour for the downtown area.

Room Tip: You can also take the santuario della madonna del sasso orselina (uphill train) right to the top and...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johny_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I booked the hotel with a friend during Locarno film festival and we were both absolutely happy.
Breakfast: excellent with fresh bread and a good choice of cheese/ meet.
Location: 5min away from furnicular that runs every 15min from the Locarno train station and takes just 5min to get up. However, there are also stairs leading straight to the city centre - that takes ~20min. We did the way up 2 times! The best exercise you can imagine!
Cleanliness: everything super clean. We had booked a room with shared bathroom/ toiler, however, the sink was in the room. No problems with availability of the bathroom whatsoever and, as said - very clean overall.
Service: extremely helpful! They even packed us sandwiches upon departure because we did not manage to get to the breakfast on time!
The only minus: the street next to the hotel is quite busy with cars, but we were too tired to hear it anyway! Oh, and no conditioner, at least not in our room.
Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel has a great location overlooking Locarno and Lake Maggiore. The rooms and public areas are very comfortable, and the owners/managers are cheery and helpful - and they provide a really nice breakfast as well! It is quite a hike up there from Locarno, though - you may want to take the funicular up to Orselina and from there it is just a few minutes walk to the hotel. Prices were great for Switzerland in late spring/early summer.

Room Tip: We were not much bothered by street noise, but if you are a light sleeper you would probably prefer...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtpaulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a room with marvelous view over the lake and it became one of the highlights of our Ticino short trip. Owner coulple were really friendly and helpfull and making a big effort to give you a great time. The room was nicely furnished and super clean, so were the shared bathroom and toilet.The small path to the town centre was also very intersting.
We can only recommend to stay this hotel.

市街地からは車で6~7分ですが、ホテルの真横に階段の小道があり、そこから探検するように街まで降りていくことが出来ます。趣があって非常に楽しかったです。
ホテルはオーナーカップルの努力によって、個性のある温かい雰囲気になっています。
共有の浴室とトイレですが、他の人が使用した形跡もないほど綺麗です。
部屋から見える景色には、文字通り息をのみました。
とてもお勧めできるホテルです。

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stkprth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

A small hotel, 200 meters above the lake. Splendid view of the city and the lake. Comfortable room with balcony. Everything well thought. The staff is very kind and helpful, the (included buffet) breakfast not spectacular but very good and adequate. Parking around there is not easy, but after some circling we have always found a place (free). The Madonna del Sasso is a 10 minute walk, and so is the station of the small train that connects the town centre with the hotel area till past midnight in the summer (july-august).

Room Tip: all rooms with balcony
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wvdm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Locarno hotels
0.6 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 27 in Locarno
636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dell'Angelo
Hotel Dell'Angelo
#23 of 27 in Locarno
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.0 mi away
Osteria Grotto Monti Motti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garni Dolcevita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garni Dolcevita

Address: via ai Monti 160, Locarno 6605, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Locarno
Price Range: $103 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Garni Dolcevita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing