We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant, the best in Bellinzona”
Review of Locanda Orico

Locanda Orico
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Bellinzona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $108
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, the best in Bellinzona”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When we celebrate something important we go to this very nice restaurant, where you can enjoy high class food or go for a tasting menue!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivano62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    26
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Celerina, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“The restaurant in Ticino”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Was yesterday evening for dinner. Ambience very stylish and the waiters were very nice when welcoming. The choice of the starters basically follows the season but I can advise the salmon of the house which is excellent. We were offered ouf ot the menu a wild turbot from Bretagne @ the Mediterranean style with olive oil from tuscany and asparagus. Believe me when I tell you that what we experienced I never was able to have in the best italian and french restaurants I visited so far: just gorgeous. The dinner was delighted with a magnificent bottle of Tignanello 2008. At the end we complimented the chef Lorenzo Albrici for his cuisine where you can refind the real values of a blend between italian and french cuisine. Hopefully Micheline finds the bravery to give him a second very much deserved star. Cheers, FP

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Francopoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giubiasco, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

there's no doubt. Lorenzo deserves the étoile Michelin he got many years ago. The right place for a dinner for two.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andycb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Ticino, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoy it”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

It is quite expensive, but very well worth it.
It's number one in Bellinzona: high-class.
Suitable if you want enjoy a refined dinner and relax for a few hours. If you are in a hurry, is better you go next time.
There is a superb choice of wines and for cooking only fresh, seasonal and first-choice ingredients are used.
Qualified staff, that is very kind and always ready to suggest you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Deserves more recognition”
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Can't agree with the previous post. Lorenzo Albrici is a former Philippe Rochat disciple and very talented young chef. His cuisine is fine and while presentation stays simple, the wonderful tastes and scents are the result of the perfect selection of fresh local products and his natural skill to cook them to perfection.

He deserves more than his current 16 pts Gault Millau and the price of his menus remains reasonable in comparison to other gourmet restaurants in the region.

Helpful?
1 Thank CAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Orico also viewed

Bellinzona, Canton of Ticino
Bellinzona, Canton of Ticino
 
Bellinzona, Canton of Ticino
Bellinzona, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Locanda Orico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing