We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an institution ... but don't expect gourmet”
Review of Cafe Hanselmann

Cafe Hanselmann
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in St. Moritz
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
zurich
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It's an institution ... but don't expect gourmet”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The views out the windows are spectacular and the people watching can be fun. One primarily goes here to eat pastries and drink coffee or tea. We often stop here during "iffy" weather, reading the newspapers provided and enjoying a milk coffee. The decor is a little worn - but who wants to change an institution. It has its charms and the service is not bad.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZurichKashew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    133
    90
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Amazing food especially the appetizers. Great wine selectionj

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank patelsk142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant has seen its best days, but good bakery”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

It's kind of an institution in St. Moritz and famous for its bakery.
Going to the restaurant though can be prizy for food on a level you might expect better.
So try the bakery, probably take something from the counter and sit down to have the view but don't eat there proper dinner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texmex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Next time I wish I could have the Internet connection to read the review”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Absolutely astonishing and incomprehensible how I could have paid €35 for
2 croissants,
2 small sandwiches,
2 slices of a salty pastry with a sort of pâté,
2 salty croissant with minced meat which remember me the sausage roll.

That's without considering €5 for 500ml of still water.

Despite the croissant was ok, I won't never come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very expensive and service was poor”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

5 euro for a bottle of water, almost 9 euro for a tea! Prices are immoral. Service was poor, we had to ask twice to bring us a plate of french fries! I would never come back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank simleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hanselmann also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Cafe Hanselmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing