We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Edge of Heaven”
Review of Engadine

Engadine
Book In Advance
More Info
$146.96*
and up
Swiss Alps Bernina Express Rail Tour from Milan
Ranked #6 of 34 things to do in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“On the Edge of Heaven”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Mere words cannot describe the breathtaking beauty of the winter landscape. The frozen mountain lakes, soaring mountain peaks, draped in snow. Deep powder - I do not think skiing can be better anywhere else, spectacular! The slopes wide and excellent for skiing on all levels. It is VERY expensive but this one one of those places you have to see at least once in your life. Stay in an apartment, cook your own meals and your bank account might survive. All the people connect to the skiing scene are very friendly and helpful. Lots do do and see. Walk in the woods, feed birds or just sit and enjoy the wonder of nature.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    32
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ascona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very nice place to be!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It is really a nice region, nice landscapes and nature. Lots of things to do and see. The only problems are that due to the presence of many rich people the area is becoming increasling snob and expensive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
273 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful, very touristy and overrated”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Quite nice valley and mountains but much of it is a tourist trap for the rich. I found the facilities and general service levels quite poor considering what everything costs and the fame of the area, and was left with the impression that much of the name and fame of the place is because it's a jet set winter sports area. There are places that are just as beautiful, cheaper and more genuine in Switzerland.

Take the train from St. Moritz to Tirano in Italy, it's a beautiful ride. Then eat in Italy... better food, better service, better atmosphere and cheaper.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A wonderful area”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Until we decided to visit St Moritz I had never heard of the Engadine! Turns out to be one of the most interesting parts of Switzerland. We were surprised to discover that a well known travel guide does not seem to favour this region as much as others eg. Jungfrau area but we loved it. We travelled by train from Zurich via Chur and had spectacular scenery a lot of the way. We then did another portion of the area travelling from St Moritz to Tirano and back....What a day. You are almost jaded at the end seeing so much incredible scenery!
There are lots of hiking opportunities for toughened hikers and also for families. We were there in late summer but it must be even more wonderful in the winter snow.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hamilton44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to relax in summer and autumn”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It is our favourite place to visit over a long weekend or small holidays. It has everything one might need: charming lakes, mountain tops (3000-4000m) with glaciers, rivers and huts, hotels for any taste and price, good food and culinary diversity. One can not only visit Sils-Maria where Nitzsche was used to live but also move further away along the valley and visit Bergell, i.e. Vicosoprano, Soglio. Soglio is a particular place, a village on the mountain slope where sunsets and sunrises are nature performances!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Engadine also viewed

St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
St. Moritz, Engadin St. Moritz
 

Been to Engadine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing