We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun-spirited, comfortable, quiet hotel with a touch of style in the center of St. Moritz.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Arte
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
217 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Fun-spirited, comfortable, quiet hotel with a touch of style in the center of St. Moritz.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

First off: Themed Rooms. Yes, every room has a theme, as in Egypt, India, etc. These are not sprawling suites and nor are the decorations elaborate, but with an towards the artist, the walls of each room, and sometimes furniture/fabric-colors, depict another of the world's exciting locations. (Think "Pyramids" for Egypt, "Taj Mahal" for India, etc). The rooms are complete with quality wooden furnishings, beds and linens and exceptionally clean modern bathrooms. A small table, 2 chairs, and a TV round out your room.
The hotel has no real lobby or reception, but instead has a good pizza restaurant (also the breakfast room) that is essentially run by the same few hotel staff. Pizza was very good, prices affordable (well, in relation to St. Moritz or to Switzerland in general).
Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
The location is a big asset: center of town in the middle of the action of St. Moritz. All the designer shops are on the streets outside the hotel. The nightclubs (King's Club, Diamond, pubs) are all a few feet away. The main gondola/funicular up to Corviglia (center of St. Moritz mountain) couldn't be much closer, just 200m away through the village streets.
The price was good, in comparison with others in St. Moritz. Outside of St. Moritz, this would be overpriced, but St. Moritz really is a world on a different playing field, as you'll discover.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank washbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
58
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

This was a good hotel, very friendly staff, very helpful. Pretty central to everything we needed or wanted. Clean and cmomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsty_lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

This hotel is centrally located and everything is in walking distance. My room was good but the downside of the hotel is that it is above a very noisy late night pizzeria. The problems is that it is open until 1 am and there is music and noise coming into the hotel until that time.

Also the breakfast was very disappointing and the worst I had in Switzerland. There was one dinner size plate of cheese out for everybody and it had about 8 paces of cut cheese on it. The bread at breakfast was only the store bought soft square sandwich bread that no one in their right mind eats anymore.

The lady maintaining the breakfast area gave me one cup of coffee and then sat across the room and just stared at me while I was eating. It made me feel very uncomfortable and I got out of there as fast as I could.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel. If I went back to this city I would do everything I could to stay somewhere else but if I had to I could stay here again.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — Breakfast and the noise until late at night
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank Taniquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muri
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

Noise from discoteque in basement makes proper sleep and relaxing holidays impossible. Sorry.

  • Disliked — Noisy, cramped, no good
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank doenitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

I stayed at this fabulous hotel first week of July 2007. This is the best affordable hotel in St. Moritz. The hotel was lovely and beautiful. The hotel manager was very friendly and helpful. The double room I stayed was so elegantly decorated, it was even better than Carlton or Holiday Inn rooms. A wall sized beautiful painting, comfortable bed, and glorious washroom. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and highly recommend to everyone visiting St.Moritz.

  • Liked — Luxury hotel at affordable price
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cool_sati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2005

We've just spent one night at the Hotel Arte, St Moritz, Switzerland, and it was fantastic! Only a couple of years old, super clean and modern, comfy beds and pillows, centrally located and a third of the price of any other hotel we found. They only have 9 rooms, and their own delicious restaurant on the ground floor.
Highly recommend this place!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#20 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arte

Property: Hotel Arte
Address: Via Tinus 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Moritz
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arte 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Moritz, the enigmatic address in the magnificent mountains of the Upper Engadine, stands for cosmopolitan diversity. This is the standard that we have also taken up at our Hotel Arte. Each of the nine rooms has its own history. The rooms individual interiors represent a country or a part of the world. Take a little trip around the world - one click on a picture on the left picture rail will take you directly into a room of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing