We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden treasure in St-Moritz”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arte
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in St-Moritz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We only had one night planned in St-Moritz, but if we would have known ahead of time of the charm and warmth of Hotel Arte, we would have planned a longer stay. It's a small hotel with less than a dozen rooms, and every one is decorated with a different theme. We had the 'Venice' room.

We had a warm welcome from Susan, who introduced herself as the manager, but in real life, she does a lot more! She's also present in the restaurant, serving tables and making sure everything is up to our standards. We asked for a wake-up call in the morning, which came on time, but she personally came up and gently knocked on our door, saying that there had been a minor glitch in the system recently and wanted to be sure we would be awake at the desired time.

Breakfast was included in the room rate. It's a well-garnished and varied buffet, up to par with larger hotels.

If we return to St-Moritz, the Hotel Arte will be our choice. It's a little island of quality paired with a moderate price in this resort town where many things are out of proportion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan5701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    34
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
59
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed one night on our trip to Switzerland.
The location is perfect - easy walking to train station.
We had the Japenese room. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated.
The manager was very friendly and helpful.
We have enjoyed breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Choose the room which just suit to your choice. However all are very nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had a great time. Bed very comfortable. Close to town centre. Easy walking to train station.

The place isn't always manned though so you may have trouble leaving a bag with them for the day that you leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reefe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days in the summer. We had the Pyramid room. The hotel was very clean and well decorated. The manager was very friendly and helpful and the price was excellent (via Bookings.com). The pizza place on the ground floor was also very good - excellent thin crust pizza and tiramasu. There is not really a common area - just the bedrooms and the downstairs pizza parlour - but for the centre of St Moritz the hotel is excellent quality/price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I am coming to St Moritz for 30 years and as I move out of my appartment, I went in February to the Hotel Arte.

The hotel is quiet very nice, very clean and beautifully decorated. We had the Venitian room.

The service is friendly is excellent and we extended our stay at the same internet rate. The manager was hadsome speaking 4 or 5 languages . It is a nice boutique hotel that my wife and I recommend

We like also the two restaurants, the unexpensive Pizzeria for locals and the Gastronomic Italian ones, are good and compared yto the St. Moritz prices affordable.
.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerovital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over the place
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We booked this hotel for one night for the Engadin cross country skiing marathon because of the good location. The staff spoke little English but they were helpful. The rooms were clean and yes they are themed. We got the California one. The manager was nice and arranged for the marathon people an earlier than usual breakfast. One thing to complain though... if you wanted to take a shower around 9-10 pm there was no hot water, quite annoying. And there was no internet available either.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

What a terrible hotel. I WOULD DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE. When we arrived in min-afternoon there was no one there to check us in. We had to call someone to come and let us in, which took well over an hour, wasting our valuable time. I’d booked the room for 2 but the hotel manager, who was some Eastern European woman, insisted that we pay more money for the second person – my partner. However, we had no choice as if we went to a different hotel we’d have still been charged so we had to stay the night.

The hotel manager was very rude. Her customer care skills were nil and we ended up wasting a lot of time attempting to get into our room. All of which made this a nasty experience.

The lady who made breakfast was nice and made a effort - she probably felt embarrassed for the way we’d been treated.

Luckily (with reference to the other reviews) we stayed there on a Monday when the Pizza house was closed so we were spared the noise, so it seems.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordTruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#21 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
Hotel Piz St. Moritz
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#16 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arte

Property: Hotel Arte
Address: Via Tinus 7, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arte 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Moritz, the enigmatic address in the magnificent mountains of the Upper Engadine, stands for cosmopolitan diversity. This is the standard that we have also taken up at our Hotel Arte. Each of the nine rooms has its own history. The rooms individual interiors represent a country or a part of the world. Take a little trip around the world - one click on a picture on the left picture rail will take you directly into a room of your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing