We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value skiing in top resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Good value skiing in top resort”
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We were met off our flight by a taxi driver who drove us to St Moritz via the scenic Julierpass. The journey from Zurich took 3.5 hours, largely because of a huge traffic jam in the city. The manager came outside to greet arrivals - he was a very visible presence throughout the holiday (at the entrance to the restaurant, in the shows, at ski-school departure in the morning....) and made a real effort to welcome everyone.

Check in was much improved from last year. We were given two clean and comfortable adjacent rooms with a view of the mini-ski school and mountains. Queues for ski-hire and ski-school can be avoided by picking your time (and in the case of the ski-school desk, watching from the bar).

We skied at Corviglia, booking lunch tickets the night before, and leaving our boots and skis in the bottom station of the Signal cable car, which is a 7 minute stroll from the hotel - we timed ourselves! The Club minibus operated in the morning and afternoon for those who didn't feel like walking. Corviglia is sunny and varied and there is plenty of scope for six days' skiing just on the one side of the valley. Our teenage children joined classes and were placed with others of similar age and ability in English speaking groups. They explored the whole area. The mountain restaurant on Corviglia had both a salad buffet and a hot buffet; although at times it was busy (particularly on a snowy day) it was actually a lot less crowded than many public mountain restaurants we have visited in Switzerland , and some of the dishes were excellent.

The main restaurant is large and rather noisy, but we found the food generally very good. We found plenty to choose from, apart from the evening we tried the Italian restaurant where the selection was rather limited. The selection at breakfast was also good with freshly sliced oranges and grapefruit to compensated for the watery fruit juice, fresh eggs, breads, pancakes are more.

We did attend some of the shows, and found them entertaining. Of course, the performers are not professional actors or singers, and it was necessary to take the entertainment in the spirit it was offered.

Overall, the Club Med package - which includes ski passes, ski tuition or guiding, all meals and drinks - is excellent value, and this should be set against any minor niggles.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    207
    102
    44
    29
See reviews for
232
142
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We were really looking forward to this holiday. We have been to Club Med before and had a wonderful time. Unfortuately this time we had a very bad experience.

On arrival at the hotel we were give the key to our room and then told we had to subscribe the kids to the miniclub and go and pick up our ski rentals. We first went to the miniclub where we found complete chaos. Under staffed and zero communication! All the parents were complaining, the kids were restless and we were all left waiting for 2 hours to subscribe our kids to the miniclub. It felt like it was the miniclub staff first day and they didnt quite know what to do.

We then went to the ski service to collect our ski gear and that was just as chaotic. Under Staffed and a real nightmare with long queues and a 1hr 30 min wait.

We eventually made it to our bedroom and we found the room to be very basic for a 4 star (Trident) hotel. I have stayed in better fitted motels before.

On our first morning we took the kids to the miniclub and their ski gear had gone missing and noone knew where it was. Some of the other parents had the same problem so you can imagine the panic and chaos. We missed out first mornings ski lesson because of the miniclubs disorganisation.

The FOOD - Very basic, cooked for the masses.
The after dinner show was very basic, I felt like we were staying in Butlins.

The PISTE is a 15 mins walk from the hotel which you can imagine how uncomfortable this it is walking in ski boots.

All in all a very disappointing holiday although St Moritz was a beautiful location, I wouldn't go back again this CLUB MED.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobtrotterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Before leaving to go to Club Med in St Moritz, I typed reviews of club med St Moritz into google - this is the website it came up with. In a lot of ways it made me think twice about the holiday i was going on, now i have returned I think that maybe other reviewers are being sarcastic, or have very high expectations of which could never be met.
My experience with Club Med this year has been amazing. For the second I left home to the second I returned there was no money that had to be spent because it was all inclusive. We were met at the airport where we had our transfer to the resort, during this transfer we were given drinks, and amazing hospitality. On arrival we were warmly welcomed, and given our room key. We were in standard club rooms for the first 7 nights, and these rooms were nothing but excellant - fluffy towels, feathery duvets and amazing views. The furniture was far from 'crap' it was just what was required in a skiing hotel. The general decor of the whole hotel was fine, and the GO team were excellant.
The restaurant had a wide range of foods and the service was excellant, the 2 mountain restaurants were just as good. The bar had an amazing range of drinks, and the service was also excellant here too. The swimming pool, fitness suite, and all other facilities were excellant too.
I have also read on this website that the manager is never seen, something has obviously drastically changed, or its sarcasium. The manager welcomed us on arrival, came around and spoke to everyone in the bar of the first night. Danced in the show, welcomed us onto the slopes, and was always around if anyone wanted to speak to him. He also thanked us and waved goodbye on our departure.
We were due to leave St Moritz on the Sat however there was so much snow that the railawys were closed the roads were closed and there was no exit. The GO team were very apologetic (To include the manager), gave us free accommodation in their top class rooms until we were able to leave. There was 2 meetings informing us of the latest and when we would be able to leave. We were able to leave on the sunday and a GO took us and put us on the airoplane, after another goodbye from the manager.
Generally this holiday was the best holiday I have ever been on, and I definatly wouldnt like people to read other reviews on this website and not go with club med. I think that maybe these people may be coming from the fact that there is always entertainment, bands and dancing at club med, so unless you plan to sit in your room for the week - it isnt a quite holiday.
I have now been to 3 club meds, and I will continue with these holidays FOREVER.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and presence of the manager
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SkiLoverEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Me and my family had a very good time at this hotel. You stay at this place, because you want to ski and have very good facilities, and have entertainment everynight. Thats why people go there. When you've been skiing all day on the mountains, cold and beautiful views and slopes. The thing you need next is a nice hot chocolate waiting for you as you leave the ski room. The service provided is great. It's a nice laid back feeling and atmosphere. Theres a show everynight, party club everynight, and free drinks and cocktails provided by the bar. You dont go to this hotel to stay in your room all day, you only want a bed to sleep in and a place to hang your clothes. It has all the food you could wish for, including 30 plates of desert, everynight. The choice there is amazing. Defently a hotel to stay at in the future. It's easy to make friends their and if you have kids, you can put them into a group which they are looked after. It allows you to keep your mind free and to do whatever you want whenever, and it keeps everyone happy!! I had the time of my life at this hotel.

  • Liked — Skiing
  • Disliked — Skiing Line to get onto slope
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank warby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Having just returned from a week's skiing holiday in St Moritz, I'd like to offer my experience of Club Med Roi Soleil.
Good first impressions on arrival, our luggage was taken from us and transported to the floor on which we were staying. Check in took 10 mins but would have been quicker if a Parisian lady had not been haranguing the staff at some length over a minor detail of her arrangements.
Our club room on 3rd floor was fresh, spacious and modern with good ensuite facilities (power shower, twin basins and separate WC). Nice touches were decent towels and bathrobes which were useful for visiting the pool.
The buffet breakfasts were the poorest aspect of meals provided: a good overall selection of hot and cold items but cold meats were chopped ham/pork/turkey variety rather than decent gammon or mountain ham and I can confirm that the reconstituted orange/grapefruit juice was vile although fresh squeezed blood orange juice was on offer one day.
We took advantage of the buffet lunches provided in two mountain restaurants run by club med (you're booked in automatically if taking ski lessons or you can select your lunch slot by requesting a ticket the previous night) Lunches were of a good standard with salads, choice of hot mains and cheese/ice cream. Hot drinks including vin chaud were available in the entrance area.
Access to the Corviglio ski area is from the Signal cable car c350 metres from the hotel: a good warm up in the morning although from 3:00pm the hotel minibus ran a shuttle service back to which was nice after a tiring days skiing.
Access to the Corvatsch ski area was by public bus (lines 1 and 6) and took about 10 minutes. The bus service is apparently not included on any lift passes but in practice everyone piles on from the mid and rear entrances and no charge is made. it is possible to return from Corvatsch via the Hahnensee run (a black which can be icy and a bit tricky) to within 250 metres of the hotel rather than take the return bus.
I can't comment on the quality of Club Med ski hire: we hired (and were pleased with) skis at a discount over the internet from Boom Sport which is about 150 metres from the hotel.
On return from the slopes, hot drinks and cake were available in the reception area which was kept meticulously clean. Dirty glasses and plates were whisked away by friendly and attentive staff. We never had to wait more than a minute or two for bar service. Unless you must have champagne or premium brand spirits, the selection of free drinks was quite acceptable: basic but drinkable white and red wines, a choice of cocktails draught beer etc.
I would rate dinners the best of the meals: there was a choice of the main restaurant with its large communal circular tables or two smaller separate dining areas where individual tables were prebookable from 5:00pm the previous evening. Swiss restaurant alternated between cheese fondue and pierrade with a plentiful supply of pork, chicken and beef strips and accompaniments. Italian restaurant had pizza slices and similar. Eating in the Swiss/Italian restaurants did not preclude you from visiting the main buffet which often had some nice nightly specials eg large prawns pan fired in garlic, sushi, mountain ham, seafood (fresh oysters, mussels etc).
The main reception area could be a bit noisy with live music but we found the bedrooms very quite. I had wondered if the free drinks create a problem but didn't see any evidence of abuse.
Overall, I thought the holiday represented tremendous value for money. It is not a luxury hotel with room service but more along the lines of a chalet hotel.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — some skimping on food quality
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enretrait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#6 of 33 in St. Moritz
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil

Property: Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil
Address: Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#17 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the snow-covered mountains, Saint-Moritz Roi Soleil stands at an altitude of 1750 metres, near the lake that lies alongside the town. Tucked away in this cosmopolitan and select resort, the Village effortlessly combines luxury and tradition, and offers you the unique spectacle of horse and greyhound racing, polo matches, or the famous cresta runs on the nearby frozen lake. After a day in the snow parents and children can meet up in the play area for a sledging session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Roi Soleil Hotel St. Moritz
Roi Soleil Club Med
St. Moritz Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing