We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Schweizerhof(St. Moritz)
$320
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Soldanella(St. Moritz)(Great Value!)
$157
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nolda(St. Moritz)(Great Value!)
$171
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hauser Hotel St. Moritz(St. Moritz)(Great Value!)
$227
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arte(St. Moritz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Suvretta House(St. Moritz)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Steffani(St. Moritz)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveler rating
226
245
128
56
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
245
128
56
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski schoolski instructorchef de villagetable winegreat holidaymountain restaurantequipment rentaloff pisteother resortsthe resort managerwonderful weektable tennishalf termblue runssnow conditionsan excellent instructorcost effective way
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 693 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent 1 week at Club Med from the 9th March, as a group of 17.
I was very sceptical given all the negative reviews, but the hotel was great.
The rooms are clean, large and very light, with unusually for Club Med, coffee making facilities in the rooms.
The bar area is large with plenty of seating, even for a group of 17. The bar staff were, in the most, very pleasant and friendly. The entertainment is very European but unlike some Club Meds, it is in a seperate theatre, so you dont have to watch it.
The restaurants are great, the food was great all week, on the Seafood night, there were other options, as i am not a fan of seafood.
As we were in Ski classes we were automatically booked into the mountain restaurants, lunch was served in shifts, but there was space outside to sit after lunch in the sun, have to say not sure what you would do if the weather was bad. On the last day when you dont have ski lessons, we booked the restaurant for us at recepetion without a problem.
The ski lessons, were in the main, very good. One member of our group who was a beginner had a bad experience, but this seemed more to be down to the instructor himself. There were 7 of us of a similar level who wanted to ski together and the instructors were very acommodating.
The only downside to the hotel is the distance to the lifts, 2 of the ski areas are a coach ride away, which is provided by Club Med if you have lessons and the other is 500m away which is quite a long walk in ski boots. Coming back there is a shuttle bus, but this does get full easily. This isnt a complaint as we were aware of it before we went, but makes you realise how lucky you are with the Ski to the Door hotels.

The hotel is excellent value given the cost of the food and drink in St Moritz, for example a Vodka, Lime and Lemonade at one of the bars on the piste cost 17Fr, which is approx £11.70!

I thoroughly enjoyed our week as did the rest of the group, i probably would not go back to St Moritz but that is my preference to do with the disjointed ski areas and not Club Med. Having said that the area is stunning, views are amazing and the skiing great.

Room Tip: Book into the free ski classed as transport and restaurants are organised for you.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissNyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My son in his 20's and I searched for a European skiing location and spent hours and hours looking for a perfect location with good food, at realistic prices, bars and veining entertainment not forgetting accessing great skiing.
He found Club Med Roi Soleil. I admit I was very concerned about his choice especially where I have been very fortunate and spoilt experiencing some of the best there is on offer. On arrival we were handled as 'expected' and was not that in amid with the first impressions. I felt ..."Yes I knew that this was what to expect" for the very reasonable price pre paid for the week. I must admit, that, with my stress level on arrival, negative attitude and in need of a proverbial chill pill and kick up the backside I loved every thing and everyday thereafter. Everything was taken care of and I at no stage had to prepare search check or plan a thing. It was WONDERFUL. For a family holiday no matter the age groups it was faultless. I even got used to the rug rats ripping the place apart and the fun they ALL had.
The staff were all fun, the food buffet were massively impressive and the we were spoilt for choice. The sea food evening a knockout! For those travellers who love good home type grub Roi Soleil was fantastic and met everyones choice and whim. Beer, wines, booze, free, on tap and unlimited, coffee, snacks afternoon high tea it was ALL there. My eating habits took one hellova smack between the eyes. It was great.
We were shipped transported taken entertained fed away from the hotel up mountains all for free and un- expected. We were taken to "local" places via luxury bus where needed. Taken to places and areas one would normally never access let by the local expertise and experience of the ski instructors. Not normal in this day and age.
JUST FANTASTIC.
Rooms were average and bathrooms generous size. TV channels selection was not great and could be uplifted in terms of more channels however it was no big issue to us. Wi Fi bandwidth was effective and efficient.
For those cost conscious families here is the sure way to know exactly what your budget is and not one penny more, no hidden surprises or unread small print. The only extra cost was a mere CHF 25.00 for high speed internet connectivity I needed for the week for two devices.
The experience/ offering is generous, very generous in terms of value for money, and I am not very easily separated from my hard earned cash.
I left this hotel having had a great holiday de-stressed and very satisfied in every respect.
I however would have loved to have tripped up one of the brats that thought the lounge was a playground. Maybe I should have targeted the parents who let their kids run riot instead.
Book it you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th Floors town facing have great views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The mountains of St Moritz is undeniably gorgeous and breathtaking. Definitely a must-go place for skiing and Club Med makes the ski trip fun. The food were good, entertainment/games were fun, rooms were clean, some GOs were friendly but not all unfortunately. Overall I had a memorable and wholesome ski trip with my family.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank SpicySik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

St Moritz is a great skiing area, but Club Med is disappointing. First the web site is not up to date, and we were surprised to see that the second restaurant is not offering Fondues and raclettes as you want, but you have to book and pay for Fondue. The food is very low quality, the dishes are just warm, it is more like a "cantine". Regarding the room, they are small but well equipped, though the WiFi did not work in ours! The service at reception was very fast and well done(thank you Christine). The info we got regarding the skiing were different according to who we were asking(bus schedule, restaurants on slopes..). Big shame that the restaurant in Corvatsch is not open every day, skiing there is fabulous and the restaurant is very nice. On the other hand the restaurant in Carvali is very dark, you have the feeling you are eating in a cave, and very small. St Moritz is a great place for skiing, but the Club is not what we are used to. On the other hand we usually go to Club in Asia where the quality of the food is for sure much better!

Room Tip: Top floor, view towards St Moritz, wifi might not work in room
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have now stayed at the Roi Soleil several times, and our opinion is unchanged: Club Med still provides a convenient and cost-effective means of skiing in a superb resort.

Our package included flights, transfers (by coach from and to Zurich), ski school for our son, lift passes, boot hire for our son, accommodation and all meals and drinks, along with entertainment in the Club Med style. It is so good to know exactly what a ski holiday is going to cost - when we were on the mountain we saw very basic basic lunches for 25 Swiss francs and drinks for 5 francs, so without the all-inclusive package it would soon add up. Other than 10 francs for ice skating and a sandwich and drink for the transfer to St Moritz we spent virtually nothing extra.

The transfer to the resort: we were on a fairly full large coach which waited perhaps twenty minutes for arrivals from another flight. We stopped at a rather unimpressive and badly designed service station for 15 minutes. The opportunities to get decent food in that time were very limited; I would recommend bringing something with you from home or from the airport.

Arrival: We were shepherded into the theatre and given our room keys and cloth bracelets which provide access to the bar and facilities. Our bags were taken to the appropriate landing of the hotel. We then went straight to the reception desk to collect ski passes, organise WiFi (for which you do have to pay, and yes, it was slow) and set up a Club Med account (necessary for ski/boot hire and using the shop). We also went to the ski school to book in before the queue developed.

Rooms: We had a double room - these have a toilet and separate bathroom with two sinks, shelving and a shower. There are two wardrobes, safes and sets of shelves, and room on top for a suitcase. There was a kettle and tea/coffee making equipment, but we found it easier to nip downstairs to the bar. There was a television with UK, Russian, Swiss, French etc channels. Our son had a single room. This was accessed off the main corridor with a lockable door. There were then three single rooms, also with lockable doors. These shared a shower and toilet, but had a washbasin in the room. It felt a little like good University accommodation. Our son's 'bathroom buddies' were two younger teenagers - I have a feeling that the hotel deliberately matched them up rather than putting older singles with young teens.

The restaurants: We did not eat in the speciality restaurant which provides a quieter, more intimate environment, as we enjoy the opportunity to meet different people from across Europe. The large tables in the main restaurant seat 8 and depending on timing it is possible to get one to yourself, but we tended to eat at the start of the dining period in the evening. Guests are generally sensitive and you can chat or not as the mood takes you. There was always an extensive buffet with special starters and main courses and plenty of salad and vegetables. There were several options suitable for children, and ice cream, a chocolate fountain and a good choice of desserts, fruits and cheeses. There are red, white and rose wines available free from a cabinet (the red is the best of these). At breakfast there is an excellent buffet (though I missed the sliced oranges from previous years) with pancakes, cooked items, water to boil eggs, smoothies, cereals and numerous cold items including fruit and yoghurt.There are some excellent breads and pastries too.

The bar: After dinner you can retreat to the bar area and sit and watch the world go by, chat or play board games (available from the reception desk) or participate in the activities that are put on (we ended up playing bingo one evening!). At 9.00pm it is possible to collect tickets for lunch in the two mountain restaurants, and every evening there is a show put on by the staff members. Drinks are free as long as you don't ask for particular brands - so you can, for example, ask for brandy but not cognac. If you want something special it is possible to buy it. In the afternoons waffles and pancakes are served in the bar.

The ski room: the ski room is a bit frantic at peak times. There is not much space to store two pairs of skis if there are snowboards on either side, but if you ski at Corviglia every day you can leave your boots and skis at the bottom station for a few francs a day. This saves the 10 minute walk in boots!

Lunch at Corviglia: This mountain restaurant gets very crowded - you can only eat there if you are with a class or if you book in advance. The first day it was impossible to find adjacent seats; when we mentioned this to the manager in the morning he already knew about it, and for the rest of the week an extra sitting was organised. The toilets are always very clean.

Things to do: There is a beautiful walk around the less populated side of the frozen lake. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are often quieter. I wouldn't want to be over the NightClub!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews