We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great value for a ski holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have now stayed at the Roi Soleil several times, and our opinion is unchanged: Club Med still provides a convenient and cost-effective means of skiing in a superb resort.

Our package included flights, transfers (by coach from and to Zurich), ski school for our son, lift passes, boot hire for our son, accommodation and all meals and drinks, along with entertainment in the Club Med style. It is so good to know exactly what a ski holiday is going to cost - when we were on the mountain we saw very basic basic lunches for 25 Swiss francs and drinks for 5 francs, so without the all-inclusive package it would soon add up. Other than 10 francs for ice skating and a sandwich and drink for the transfer to St Moritz we spent virtually nothing extra.

The transfer to the resort: we were on a fairly full large coach which waited perhaps twenty minutes for arrivals from another flight. We stopped at a rather unimpressive and badly designed service station for 15 minutes. The opportunities to get decent food in that time were very limited; I would recommend bringing something with you from home or from the airport.

Arrival: We were shepherded into the theatre and given our room keys and cloth bracelets which provide access to the bar and facilities. Our bags were taken to the appropriate landing of the hotel. We then went straight to the reception desk to collect ski passes, organise WiFi (for which you do have to pay, and yes, it was slow) and set up a Club Med account (necessary for ski/boot hire and using the shop). We also went to the ski school to book in before the queue developed.

Rooms: We had a double room - these have a toilet and separate bathroom with two sinks, shelving and a shower. There are two wardrobes, safes and sets of shelves, and room on top for a suitcase. There was a kettle and tea/coffee making equipment, but we found it easier to nip downstairs to the bar. There was a television with UK, Russian, Swiss, French etc channels. Our son had a single room. This was accessed off the main corridor with a lockable door. There were then three single rooms, also with lockable doors. These shared a shower and toilet, but had a washbasin in the room. It felt a little like good University accommodation. Our son's 'bathroom buddies' were two younger teenagers - I have a feeling that the hotel deliberately matched them up rather than putting older singles with young teens.

The restaurants: We did not eat in the speciality restaurant which provides a quieter, more intimate environment, as we enjoy the opportunity to meet different people from across Europe. The large tables in the main restaurant seat 8 and depending on timing it is possible to get one to yourself, but we tended to eat at the start of the dining period in the evening. Guests are generally sensitive and you can chat or not as the mood takes you. There was always an extensive buffet with special starters and main courses and plenty of salad and vegetables. There were several options suitable for children, and ice cream, a chocolate fountain and a good choice of desserts, fruits and cheeses. There are red, white and rose wines available free from a cabinet (the red is the best of these). At breakfast there is an excellent buffet (though I missed the sliced oranges from previous years) with pancakes, cooked items, water to boil eggs, smoothies, cereals and numerous cold items including fruit and yoghurt.There are some excellent breads and pastries too.

The bar: After dinner you can retreat to the bar area and sit and watch the world go by, chat or play board games (available from the reception desk) or participate in the activities that are put on (we ended up playing bingo one evening!). At 9.00pm it is possible to collect tickets for lunch in the two mountain restaurants, and every evening there is a show put on by the staff members. Drinks are free as long as you don't ask for particular brands - so you can, for example, ask for brandy but not cognac. If you want something special it is possible to buy it. In the afternoons waffles and pancakes are served in the bar.

The ski room: the ski room is a bit frantic at peak times. There is not much space to store two pairs of skis if there are snowboards on either side, but if you ski at Corviglia every day you can leave your boots and skis at the bottom station for a few francs a day. This saves the 10 minute walk in boots!

Lunch at Corviglia: This mountain restaurant gets very crowded - you can only eat there if you are with a class or if you book in advance. The first day it was impossible to find adjacent seats; when we mentioned this to the manager in the morning he already knew about it, and for the rest of the week an extra sitting was organised. The toilets are always very clean.

Things to do: There is a beautiful walk around the less populated side of the frozen lake. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are often quieter. I wouldn't want to be over the NightClub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 547 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just had a week at this resort and the rooms albeit basic were clean. The food was fabulous and so much of it. ski instructors were great, the hired equipment was top of the line and well maintained. The entertainment was so, so, far too many children runny amok, (thats not the hotels fault, although I would suggest that they have adults only after a reasonable hour) there were kids and running up the corridors late at night . Brazillian girl behind the front desk had attitude like you wouldn't believe, most of the GO's weren't that friendly but Kids club and staff were exceptional.A great resort for skiing but the hotel is quite a walk from the cable car although there is a bus that goes to another cable car mid morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebleeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

the start was already difficult, received online a confusing .XLS sheet( normally used for presentations, statistics etc.) for an online check-in to avoid the queue, but it's not possible to enter the data and mail it back ( strange club med has no idea of computer program administration)so made my own formulaire , but still had to wait till 16.15 to get the room.
The sauna:change cloth in a primitive room and then have to go through a public area to reach a small and renovation overdue small sauna cabin ( man/woman separated). No relax area with chairs or beds. No bath robes in the room.
The bedroom: an electric waterboiler for tea but no plug, have to dive under the the night table to find one, also to be used for tablet and cell phone.
No seating in this 4?star bedroom.
The only hotel in Switzerland to pay for ( bad quality ) WiFi.
The reception and lobby are in former east block style. As I red before in comments , mould between the shower tiles.
Very impersonal GOs. Should send the whole personnel to Cervinia for training.
The lunch hut at Corviglia is way to small and you have to be out in 30 min.
No ski boot heating in the ski storage.
Food ok but sometimes not warm.
Roi Soleil is a disappointing club hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We do not usually stay in hotels when we ski, but the 'Club Med' experience was fabulous and we would recommend it wholeheartedly. We had an absolutely fantastic week's R&R here over February half term. The snow was fantastic and the skiing in St Moritz is just brilliant. What a beautiful place!

The hotel is not pretty or luxurious but it is immaculately clean and well kept. The beds were comfy and there was plenty of seating in the lounge. We were not in interconnecting family rooms as we had requested but actually this posed no problem at all because the doors to our two rooms were immediately adjacent to each other.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Special praise must go to the bar staff, who worked very hard indeed. Every single member of staff said hello whenever we passed in the corridors, and they all turned out at 2am to wave us off! Patrick the Manager was ever-present, which was most impressive. I have never been more pleased to see a mug of hot chocolate than when he greeted us at the bottom of a particularly challenging ski run with an array of drinks!

The only down sides were that the swimming pool was rather chilly and the Internet connection was sometimes slow and sporadic.

The food was excellent throughout the week, with a great choice and variety.

The kids (both under 10) enjoyed Kids Club and liked having an ever-present stream of pals to play with in the early evenings.

Go - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afclovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My family (2 children, 2 adults) stayed at the Hotel for a week over half term. We had an absolutely fantastic time. I knew in advance we were going at one of the busiest times of the year and the hotel is very family orientated, with this in mind we knew what to expect. Service was impeccable, I really could not fault it. The manager of the hotel was present all week and was very happy to answer any questions, like that of all his staff members. The food was excellent both in choice and quality. Being a family with fairly young children convenience is a priority. It was so nice to get everything sorted from ski and boot hire, to lift passes etc etc all under one roof in the hotel. It wasn't 'ski- in/out but it was very easy to walk less than 10 minutes to the local ski-lift or a bus service was provided every 15 minutes to and from the hotel. My children had a fabulous time. We could drop them off at mini-club at 8.30am, which for once enabled us to get quite a few hours of skiing done. We were able to either keep the children in mini-club/ski-school until 4pm or on occasions we took them out after lunch. It was also fabulous to have lunch in the Club Med restaurant on the piste (make sure you book in advance as it gets busy). If you didn't want a full hearty lunch occasionally we opted for a quick stop in the restaurant for a hot chocolate or a quick bowl of soup (no booking required). For me the some of the evening entertainment wasn't really my thing, but that's just personal preference, however, my children loved it - it's their holiday too! The hotel is rather dated, but not run down at all and very well kept. All in all it made all for a perfect family ski holiday. A million thanks to the Club Med team.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a week at Club Med St Moritz and the whole family had a great holiday. This is a busy hotel & resort but the staff & service we found excellent (thanks Patrick, General Manager). The ski instruction was of a very high standard and the food was great. The transfer was long at approximately 4 hours from Zurich and the transfer to cable cars was quite hard work but overall this was great value for money & a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jptower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel and the staff are amazing from when you arrive to when you leave .the staff are very helpfull example Patrick the manager (always there to greet you in the restaraunt ,the ski slopes serving hot chocolate and other drinks to greeting you at the mountain club med restaraunt. All the staff are very helpfull and make an outstanding effort to let you enjoy your stay at the club med . The food has a great variety and is very nice I have never seen so greet full staff ever i definatly reccomend to stay here .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Dylan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.8 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Victoria
Hotel Reine Victoria
#21 of 33 in St. Moritz
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil

Address: Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#17 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: $396 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the snow-covered mountains, Saint-Moritz Roi Soleil stands at an altitude of 1750 metres, near the lake that lies alongside the town. Tucked away in this cosmopolitan and select resort, the Village effortlessly combines luxury and tradition, and offers you the unique spectacle of horse and greyhound racing, polo matches, or the famous cresta runs on the nearby frozen lake. After a day in the snow parents and children can meet up in the play area for a sledging session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Roi Soleil Hotel St. Moritz
Roi Soleil Club Med
St. Moritz Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing