We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some very good aspects, some less so but we gad an enjoyable time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our family of four stayed here from 18 to 26 December 2011.

We travelled to St Moritz on the wonderful Glacier Express to reach Club Med in the early evening. Check-in was fairly quick and our rooms fine although both had single beds.

Getting our skis and equipment was quite chaotic with so many people in small spaces but the staff did their best to assist. A few well placed signs would have helped a lot eg no 1: check the size of your foot, no 2: try on ski shoes, no 3: collect poles, no 4: have skis adjusted, no 5 put all your stuff on the shelf at your room number etc. Allow at least an hour for a family of four.

Some of the arrangements were quite confusing so first timers be ware - some people got told to take a better category of ski which ended up costing them substantially more yet they had no idea of the difference, benefits or cost implications. We did not have any real problems and were pleased to be able to rent helmets as well.

Next we proceeded to dinner and were a bit shell shocked by the number of people and that we could find nowhere to sit. It was madly busy and unfortunately not a great first impression but we were quickly helped to find a table in the adjacent restaurant. This meant we had to walk around into the bigger restaurant to fetch food from the buffet where the was a fair amount of jostling or queuing at times. We ate in the smaller restaurant where you had to reserve a table one night but it was still a bufffet set up but just with fewer people, we didn't bother again.

Our attemp at skiing was cut short by our total inexperience and struggle to follow the French speaking instructor who himself struggled to explain what we had to do in English. This combined with a shoulder injury that flared up during the lessons and which then needed doctors attention the next day, meant we decided to stop the ski lessons. In stead we joined the organised walks which we loved and was made so enjoyable by the excellent guides Werner and Didier. We walked on top of a mountain, near Sils, walked at Monteratch to see the small glacier, around the St Moritz lake etc etc. Our sons opted to change to snowboarding and they had a great time with their instructor Pierre and most days were gone for the whole day.

The facilities and rooms generally were very clean, by far the majority of staff were friendly, helpful and often amazing in their range of abilities. Bar one or two we thought the shows were of a high standard and often very entertaining.

The food got better as the week progressed, initially we were quite disappointed but just before Christmas it was really good and the variation with some Asian inspired food one night was a welcome change. On Christmas Eve the resort went to a lot of trouble with the food but the table booking system was chaotic - the request was book a table if you want to sit together in larger groups. It meant that anyone who didn't book a table were left walking around looking for a table and were put together at tables -why not ask everyone to book and have it all pre-arranged so people don't mill about trying to find a seat?

Others things to take note of:
The ski pass is for seven days but the equipment rental only for 6 days. The cost of renting the equipment for an extra day is disproportionate and rather confusing, again if you are a first timer this is not crystal clear as you are so busy trying to understand all the equipment, when to be where etc that it came as a total surprise and cost quite a lot - CHF 128 for one day additional equipment rental for snow boarding. Also, activities such as toboggan has to be arranged by yourself outside of the resort. Ski instructor Marco, a great guy arranged a session at Preda on Christmas Eve afternoon with his group, which we joined. It was such fun and concluded with a drink at a lovely little hotel at Berguen.

Note that you can rent very good walking shoes at the resort.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves, met some great people and loved the area, the snow, the white Christmas and atmosphere. Would we come back here? Maybe, but not sure as Switzerland is also very expensive, returning to a beach resort is very tempting... I hear Bali calling....

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room otherwise you will hear the disco music all night. First timers, make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 547 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed here during Xmas holiday. Staff at front very nice and lots of help. I found ski instructor arrogant and not nice but they are separate from the club med. cleaning staff come early to clean room everyday one day I forgot to put sign out and they never came back to restock or clean up the room. Food and drink was great endless and alot of variety
They do try to change it everyday.
Rooms warm and bed comfortable .

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed at the Club Med in St Moritz in January 2011; it was our second ski
holiday with Club Med. We have stayed at one in La Plagne and one in Les Arcs in
previous years. .

Frankly I can’t believe some of the reviews on here as we couldn’t find fault and
considering what we paid we found it great value for money.

In fact let me tell you what we paid, (we always book our ski holidays with a travel
agent Ski Line and they always seem to come up with the best prices) We paid £766
for a package with flights and transfers, this price included a lift pass worth which
costs £230! We had lunch included; we normally spend about €20 per day we always
book our two children into ski school which normally costs about €120 per child, so
deduct these costs from what we paid and you are left with about £300! Now you try
and find a package holiday in St Moritz for that!

We found the common parts of the hotel spacious and spotlessly clean, the staff are
trained to a very high standard and all spoke good English. The food and table wine
was as always, high quality.

The hotel even has its own mountain restaurant which serves lunch (included in the
price)

Reaching the slopes isn’t an issue we did walk it on the first day and it took about 5
minutes flat walk, but then we realised coaches are laid on so we didn’t walk again for
the rest of the week!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our St Moritz Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality, our staff commitment and the Resort facilities.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at the Club Med in St Moritz in January 2010; it was our second ski holiday with Club Med. We have stayed at one in La Plagne and one in Les Arcs in previous years. .

Frankly I can’t believe some of the reviews on here as we couldn’t find fault and considering what we paid we found it great value for money.

In fact let me tell you what we paid, (we always book our ski holidays with a travel agent Ski Line and they always seem to come up with the best prices) We paid £766 for a package with flights and transfers, this price included a lift pass worth which costs £230! We had lunch included; we normally spend about €20 per day we always book our two children into ski school which normally costs about €120 per child, so deduct these costs from what we paid and you are left with about £300! Now you try and find a package holiday in St Moritz for that!

We found the common parts of the hotel spacious and spotlessly clean, the staff are trained to a very high standard and all spoke good English. The food and table wine was as always, high quality.

The hotel even has its own mountain restaurant which serves lunch (included in the price)

Reaching the slopes isn’t an issue we did walk it on the first day and it took about 5 minutes flat walk, but then we realised coaches are laid on so we didn’t walk again for the rest of the week!

Room Tip: We asked our travel agent to get us the biggest room, we ended up in a disabled room on the corner a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This was our third Club Med holiday, previously stayed in France and also Mauritius. We had heard that this hotel was a bit dated and so weren't expecting expecting amazing facilities, but honestly we were shocked and surprised at how bad it was. The two prior Club Meds we stayed at were both amazing and we thought that Club Med was making an effort to revitalise the accommodation in all hotels. The main lounge had all the charm of a bus terminal; stiff plastic seats in an array of awful colours, harsh lighting and horrible fixtures. It was a scene straight from the 1970's and doesn't look like it's been remodelled since.

In many ways this resort was more French than the resorts in France. There was not enough English speaking ski instructors and so we were made to join a French group which was hopeless. When we complained they said come back on Friday, given we were leaving on Saturday seemed pointless.

On the positive side, the location is good, a little bit out of town, but right next to a cable car. The skiing was amazing, with fabulous facilities and great snow. We would definitely go back to St Moritz, but wouldn't stay at Club Med.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Oz459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2011

Dear Oz459,

We would like to thank you warmly for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday experience at our Saint-Moritz resort.

We are sorry that you were not pleased with the appearance of the hotel and that you were expecting a higher standard of accommodation at the above resort. We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you as a result and we will be investigating your feedback.

Regarding the lack of spoken English at the resort, we understand that our customers feel concerned that speaking French might be a barrier for them on their holiday, and our sales team can tell you which resorts have a higher ratio of English speaking staff and clientele at the time of making your booking.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company by welcoming you to another Club Med resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Your Club Med UK team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We are regular Club Med visitors and wouldn't consider any other hotel for ski. Ski classes were great. However Hotel was over crowded with little space in the communal areas and restaurant. Food was very poor in comparison to other Club Med ski resorts. Holiday not helped by the invasion of corporate groups which diluted the Club Med spirit even further.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frenchchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Dear Frenchchelsea,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your holiday experience at our Saint-Moritz Roi Soleil resort.

We are deeply sorry to read that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your holiday. Having looked into the matter of overcrowding and high number of business groups, we are advised that our staff on site endeavoured to offer the same level of service to all our guests present, irrespective of whether they were attending the business conference or not, and that they did their utmost to satisfy as well as usual all the GMs. On behalf of Club Med, we would like to apologise for the inconvenience and the dissatisfaction caused to you and your party on this occasion.

With regards to your comments concerning catering, please note that our operating restaurants are doing their best to offer the most diversified menus possible in order to satisfy all kind of customers.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company by welcoming you to another Club Med resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Your Club Med UK team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I went with my husband, my 3 year old daughter and my 70 year old (very active) mother. They gave us two rooms with no significant change in price.
Ski lessons were included. If you are a beginner, make sure to ask for an instructor called Andre, very patient, very very great teacher. Make sure also you enroll on Sunday and don't miss a class, otherwise you may miss the rest of the course. This is not made very clear at check-in. It is not so close to the ski areas, so you may have to walk a while on heavy boots in some cases.
It was a "sale" because of the end-of-season period, so the hotel was full. The all inclusive service was generous, lots of seafood (which I am allergic to, but the rest of people were loving it!).
Also there is an option to use a laundry and a drier, which was very useful, although a bit expensive (7 francs).
The city is beautiful and the hotel rooms and bathrooms were clean. Only pitty is that the indoor pool was not warm.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sissoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.8 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#8 of 33 in St. Moritz
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reine Victoria
Hotel Reine Victoria
#21 of 33 in St. Moritz
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil

Address: Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#17 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: $396 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the snow-covered mountains, Saint-Moritz Roi Soleil stands at an altitude of 1750 metres, near the lake that lies alongside the town. Tucked away in this cosmopolitan and select resort, the Village effortlessly combines luxury and tradition, and offers you the unique spectacle of horse and greyhound racing, polo matches, or the famous cresta runs on the nearby frozen lake. After a day in the snow parents and children can meet up in the play area for a sledging session. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Saint Moritz Roi Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Roi Soleil Hotel St. Moritz
Roi Soleil Club Med
St. Moritz Club Med

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing