We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Gian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Gian Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I really enjoyed my two weeks vacation at the San Gian, a beautifully renovated hotel in St. Moritz, Switzerland.- The hotel ambiance is sophisticated and cozy. All the staff welcome you warmly and make you feeling at home. Attention to guests' needs is top priority. -The guestrooms are spotless and the traditional local look of the room perfectly blends with the modern minimalist style of the bathrooms. Breakfast and dinner are two important moments of the day. In the morning, buffet with a big variety of food and in the evening, the curiosity of tasting a mixture of Italian, German, French and the local traditional "Engadina" cuisine, are additions to the pleasure of the stay and the joy to return. If you have a car, parking is not a problem. The hotel location is " strategic" I can say. - Extremely well suited for "wondering about ", going to the spa or for reaching the starting points for walks in the woods, around the lakes or even to the nearby glaciers. And in August, the weather was gorgeous and the view of the mountains capped with snow mesmerizing. -

Room Tip: Hard to say. - It is based on what you like and need. - The hotel offers a selection for everybody...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonetta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    44
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
104
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived here about 1 pm and I was very unwell with a tummy virus. The previously unbooked check in took only a few minutes. I was quickly in our room and it was lovely. Spotlessly clean, lovely bed and very pleasant staff. It turned out I needed a doctor and they made all the arrangements, gave us directions and after a short time I was given a drip, medicated and back in the room. The next day I was better and we had a lovely couple of days. The staff continued to ask about my health and were very friendly. The food at the hotel was excellent, service unsurpassed and absolutely spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were assigned a small room on the first floor facing the street and the room was not equipped with a mini bar. We asked the hotel to give us a wake-up call, but unfortunately we didn't receive any call the next morning. We complained to a hotel staff member about our room having no mini bar and us having received no wake- up call, and all the problems were solved on the following day. The hotel staff member was nice. The hotel is not located near the lake; however, we could have a relaxing time because of this lovely staff member. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yokohama235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biberach (Riss), Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel room is huge and very clean. Bathroom provides separated bathtub and douche. The staff are very courteous and very nice. The hotel is just 5 mins walk from the Signal cable station, it takes just 5 mins to bring you into the amazing Engadiner mountains. By the way, the hotel provides you in sommer a card with which you can use all the cables in the region for free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y_C_Biber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

San Gian hotel is a nice place in St.Moritz.
It's located in a calm place, by the bus stop, which is very convenient, since the buses can take you to all hiking and skiing spots. The hotel is so nice that they provide you with a public transport card which works for buses, lifts, cable cars etc, and believe me it saves a lot.
The minus is that there is a gas station by the hotel, but the plus is that there is a shop at the gas station which works till 21.00, which is very rare in Switzerland.
The hotel is nice, rooms are clean and with interesting design.
There is a kettle an coffee/tea in the room.
Overall comparing to another hotels in StMoritz in terms of price/quality, San Gian is a smart choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flower53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying in San Gian on my honeymoon. The rooms are spacious and clean and with all amenities one looks forward to. The staff is very helpful and attentive to our needs. They not only gave us tips and places to visit but also handed us the engadin card that allowed us to travel for free in buses and cable cars.
The breakfast is good but the staff is the most charming that made our stay even more enjoyable. We were put up in a nice room on the top floor with a good view of the mountains.
Did not get a chance to eat in their hotel that has a Mongolian buffet but definitely tried a few drinks at the bar.
The location is good and the bus stop is just 2 min away.
A yes to San gian and their hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a bit far away from the station, but had reallly amazing and beautiful rooms, huge bed with complementary fruits in rooms, plus you could fell in love with the bathroom as you get up in the morning you could see the fantastic view of the snow covered mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanachowdhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
1.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#1 of 34 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#13 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#12 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#11 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#4 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Gian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gian Hotel

Property: San Gian Hotel
Address: Via San Gian 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your San Gian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gian St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing