We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Gian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Gian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Biberach (Riss), Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel room is huge and very clean. Bathroom provides separated bathtub and douche. The staff are very courteous and very nice. The hotel is just 5 mins walk from the Signal cable station, it takes just 5 mins to bring you into the amazing Engadiner mountains. By the way, the hotel provides you in sommer a card with which you can use all the cables in the region for free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y_C_Biber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    50
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
119
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
351 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

San Gian hotel is a nice place in St.Moritz.
It's located in a calm place, by the bus stop, which is very convenient, since the buses can take you to all hiking and skiing spots. The hotel is so nice that they provide you with a public transport card which works for buses, lifts, cable cars etc, and believe me it saves a lot.
The minus is that there is a gas station by the hotel, but the plus is that there is a shop at the gas station which works till 21.00, which is very rare in Switzerland.
The hotel is nice, rooms are clean and with interesting design.
There is a kettle an coffee/tea in the room.
Overall comparing to another hotels in StMoritz in terms of price/quality, San Gian is a smart choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flower53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying in San Gian on my honeymoon. The rooms are spacious and clean and with all amenities one looks forward to. The staff is very helpful and attentive to our needs. They not only gave us tips and places to visit but also handed us the engadin card that allowed us to travel for free in buses and cable cars.
The breakfast is good but the staff is the most charming that made our stay even more enjoyable. We were put up in a nice room on the top floor with a good view of the mountains.
Did not get a chance to eat in their hotel that has a Mongolian buffet but definitely tried a few drinks at the bar.
The location is good and the bus stop is just 2 min away.
A yes to San gian and their hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a bit far away from the station, but had reallly amazing and beautiful rooms, huge bed with complementary fruits in rooms, plus you could fell in love with the bathroom as you get up in the morning you could see the fantastic view of the snow covered mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanachowdhary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Aust
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First, the service. We had some difficult travel problems while staying in St Moritz, and our German is zero. The hotel staff helped us in every way they could and enabled us to get back on track. They also arranged a room change and gave us free local travel passes. We are very grateful for their assistance.

Second, the restaurant. We think this is one of the best eating options in lower St Moritz on a price/quality basis. And in upper St Moritz the price can be scary.

Finally, the rooms. They are high-tech, with some good features and some not so good. There is no Aircon and rooms may warm up at night. Our front room was a warm room, and the traffic noise was too loud for open windows. Rear rooms are cooler and quieter. All rooms are spacious and are well-equipped.

The location is not inspiring as the hotel is next to a gas station in a semi-commercial area (but on the plus side, the gas station includes a shop). But all in all, on a price- performance-service basis, San Jian is a good option in lower St Moritz.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is very nice. A lot of care has been taken in fitting out the rooms to an extremely high standard and they are just beautiful. The bathroom is fantastic. Plenty of storage space both in the room and in the bathroom. The room we had, although facing the road was extremely quiet. The bed is fantastic, so much so, that we asked for and were given the address of the supplier. The staff are very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much for them. Breakfast was excellent, with a choice of a cooked breakfast in addition to the standard buffet. The overall experience was well worth the cost of the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissKiwiMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel will allways be my first choice. The guys in the reception are extremely helpfull and kind. And we didnt even stay at the hotel, we just drove by and needed help with mountain pass info but we got alot more than just info. The wonderful young lady made sure we we're comfortable with everything while waiting for better weather and snow clearence. With Info about laws, policy enforcement, traffic and mountain rules, and possible alternative routes, they made our day. Imagine what kind of service and great time we would have got if we we're to stay for a night or two :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
1.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#1 of 35 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#6 of 35 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 35 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#4 of 35 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 35 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Gian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gian Hotel

Property: San Gian Hotel
Address: San Gian, Via 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your San Gian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gian St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing