We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“High-level service and High-tech Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Gian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Gian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Aust
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“High-level service and High-tech Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First, the service. We had some difficult travel problems while staying in St Moritz, and our German is zero. The hotel staff helped us in every way they could and enabled us to get back on track. They also arranged a room change and gave us free local travel passes. We are very grateful for their assistance.

Second, the restaurant. We think this is one of the best eating options in lower St Moritz on a price/quality basis. And in upper St Moritz the price can be scary.

Finally, the rooms. They are high-tech, with some good features and some not so good. There is no Aircon and rooms may warm up at night. Our front room was a warm room, and the traffic noise was too loud for open windows. Rear rooms are cooler and quieter. All rooms are spacious and are well-equipped.

The location is not inspiring as the hotel is next to a gas station in a semi-commercial area (but on the plus side, the gas station includes a shop). But all in all, on a price- performance-service basis, San Jian is a good option in lower St Moritz.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    49
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
115
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is very nice. A lot of care has been taken in fitting out the rooms to an extremely high standard and they are just beautiful. The bathroom is fantastic. Plenty of storage space both in the room and in the bathroom. The room we had, although facing the road was extremely quiet. The bed is fantastic, so much so, that we asked for and were given the address of the supplier. The staff are very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much for them. Breakfast was excellent, with a choice of a cooked breakfast in addition to the standard buffet. The overall experience was well worth the cost of the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissKiwiMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel will allways be my first choice. The guys in the reception are extremely helpfull and kind. And we didnt even stay at the hotel, we just drove by and needed help with mountain pass info but we got alot more than just info. The wonderful young lady made sure we we're comfortable with everything while waiting for better weather and snow clearence. With Info about laws, policy enforcement, traffic and mountain rules, and possible alternative routes, they made our day. Imagine what kind of service and great time we would have got if we we're to stay for a night or two :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great Hotel with great rooms. Very comfortable. It is only about 100m from the gondola to the Corviglia. There are nice restaurants and even a casino nearby. The bus station is also close. They have a great Mongolian restaurant that allows you to create your own meal from many types of meats, vegetables, and noodles. The chef then cooks it up for you. It is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark4Success
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

i stayed at the hotel in jauary 2013 from 8 till 15 january.
the hotel was renovated. there are new furniture in the rooms. the bathroom is very modern, equiped with TV plasma and a big window wich guest can teint. the hotel located 3 min walk from ski lift (station signal). One can reach the other ski lift by taking a bus. bus stop is 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel stuff is vety friendly. espescially in the restaurant. the guy named Paolo was very friendly and always ready to help. the rooms are nice and clean. there is a coffe\tea set in the rooms. In total, it is a good 4 star hotel for a reasonable price paying attention to the fact that it is St Moritz.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norarevya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Big room, comfy bed and beautiful views. The staff were great, they really went the extra mile to ensure our needs were met. They arranged our dinner reservations, ski passes and helped us navigate around.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived late in the season but the staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was satisfactory, internet wired but solid, room large looking south over the mountains. The room sofa was a great place to watch the afternoon sun on the mountains. The hotel is on the south edge of town but at a bus stop. Don't worry about the reservation here, it will be a good one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
1.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#1 of 34 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#12 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#5 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#6 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Gian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gian Hotel

Property: San Gian Hotel
Address: San Gian, Via 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your San Gian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gian St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing