We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel for winter sports”
Review of San Gian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Gian Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

i stayed at the hotel in jauary 2013 from 8 till 15 january.
the hotel was renovated. there are new furniture in the rooms. the bathroom is very modern, equiped with TV plasma and a big window wich guest can teint. the hotel located 3 min walk from ski lift (station signal). One can reach the other ski lift by taking a bus. bus stop is 2 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel stuff is vety friendly. espescially in the restaurant. the guy named Paolo was very friendly and always ready to help. the rooms are nice and clean. there is a coffe\tea set in the rooms. In total, it is a good 4 star hotel for a reasonable price paying attention to the fact that it is St Moritz.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norarevya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 361 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Big room, comfy bed and beautiful views. The staff were great, they really went the extra mile to ensure our needs were met. They arranged our dinner reservations, ski passes and helped us navigate around.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived late in the season but the staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was satisfactory, internet wired but solid, room large looking south over the mountains. The room sofa was a great place to watch the afternoon sun on the mountains. The hotel is on the south edge of town but at a bus stop. Don't worry about the reservation here, it will be a good one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It happened to stay in StMoritz during our electric car trip through Europe. In the city travel agency we were told that this hotel has electric car charging station, what we can use. We went to check and it was correct. It was built into the wall outside. 3 phases also available.
We decided to stay there for two nights and enjoy the other possibilities, like the flat screen TV from the bath, the perfect breakfast or the free Engandin card.
Only one comment, we had to pay for recharging, even we were guests there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eri_Sz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a great hotel to stay for either short or long term. The staff are efficient, friendly, capable and extremely helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and the service is second to none. If you stay two or more nights, the hotel provide you with a pass for transport and the lifts and the incline train. There is free parking around the hotel and if you need undercover parking, there is a small charge for this. The restaurant is excellent, the food varied and fairly priced. All the meals we had were great. Make sure you include breakfast in your stay as you will not be disappointed. The staff ask you what you want cooked and it is made fresh and goes together with all sorts of food, bread from the buffet.on arrival and departure. There is free internet wi-fi on the bottom floor, foyer, meeting room and restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gusswisstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The hotel has obviously been renovated recently. The fit out was amazing with fittings we have only ever seen in a catalog. From the bathroom window that becomes opaque at the touch of a button to faucets that light up to show water temperature to a large plasma tv. And those beds are soo comfortable, we slept like logs. The young receptionist who checked us in was lovely and very warm. Nice to see after a long day of travel. Breakfast was really nice with coffee and omelets and croissants being superb. We can recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor and were really impressed by the overall positive comments and decided to book our stay for 10 days at the San Gian Hotel , St Moritz.
The hotel staff were very friendly , helpful and did everything to make our stay comfortable . The food (half board ) was on some days excellent and on others just okay. The location is excellent , a walk of about 7 min from the ski lifts - that's where my positive review ends - the hotel is totally retro - 80's meets bad taste - they seriously need to revamp the entire hotel. Also, there is no internet connection in the rooms, only in the lobby AND its expensive - 10 CHF for one hour! There is no pool or spa as they mention on their site , they have some partner hotel, 10 min away which you can use as their 'guest' - we were quite disappointed by this fact. I wouldnt go back to this hotel, - the Hotel Laudinella , just across the street which was cheaper (we got quotes from them too) - is modern, with 5 restaurants to choose from, we even went into the rooms to have a look (for next time) and they were beautiful. They also have a spa and of course wireless connection throughout the hotel. A much much better choice and its as close to the ski lifts. Considering the San Gian is a 4 star hotel and the Hotel Laudinella is a 3 star - is a surprise - we werent sure how the stars were given but trust me, the San Gian isnt a 4 star, a 2 star is the most I would give it .

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank TravelVav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Gian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gian Hotel

Address: San Gian, Via 23, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Moritz
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Moritz
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Moritz
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#6 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
Price Range: $200 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Gian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Gian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gian St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing