We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint old hotel but clean and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Archbald, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quaint old hotel but clean and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Baeren hotel this month and I don't know why the reviews say that the staff was unfriendly. The hotel is about 103 years old and there is some construction at the site next door of a condo-hotel but we didn't hear any noise because we were out during the day touring. The breakfast buffet was very good and the dinners were very good as well. The internet service there was one swiss franc for 30 minutes which was the cheapest we had for the whole 8 days. The staff was very polite and accommodating and we would recommend the Baeren - it was about a 10 to 15 minute walk into the main area of town with an elevator down to the lake area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSArchbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    46
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

the owner cum receptionist was very rude with my wife ..we stayed as cosmos scenic tour of switzerland bytrain on 24 and 25 sept as guest.the room was small but the heart of this lady spoilt our mood in this heavenly country where everything looked perfect.

  • Liked — isolaeted place
  • Disliked — receptionist cum owners mis behaviour
  • Stayed September 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Moritz hotels

Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed here as part of a Train tour. This is a lovely homely hotel in a fairly quiet part of the town with an older feel. The meals are pleasant and the service efficient. It's a short walk to the town centre and the views in the area are supurb although we did not have these from our room on the second floor as a building was being constructed next door. Cow bells could be heard out the front of the hotel but not from our room which was large and had a balcony. There was a large pool however we did not use it.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Hotel situated at the top of the town, right opposite the clubhouse of the Cresta Run with views all round.
The staff here went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and successful. We were offered a choice of rooms, different options for meals and help with transport around the area. If you're looking for a modern 4* hotel then forget this. All the rooms are different and the hotel is quite quirky. Nothing was too much trouble here. Lovely!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2008

We also stayed here as part of a Cosmos "Grand Tour of Switzerland" trip and loved it. We weren't in St. Moritz for very long, but this nice hotel has hiking trails practically out the backdoor. We encountered our first Swiss cows (complete with cowbells), GORGEOUS wildflowers and fabulous scenery. The staff members were very helpful and gave us some trail maps and directions.

This is a nice place if you're not in St. Moritz just for the glitz and ritz. The rooms & food were some of the best on the trip.

  • Liked — The location & scenery -- reasonable price.
  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exVermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

Stayed here for one night as part of a Cosmos tour.
This hotel has a very welcoming feel with friendly staff and a very much appreciated fire (even in May!).
Had an evening meal here and the food and service were very good.
The hotel is five minutes back to the town and maybe 15 to the lake. Many rooms have good views. Ours was on the top floor overlooking the start of the old Cresta Run and the mountains.
The room was clean, beds comforatble and a good night's rest was had.
All in all, for a one-nighter, couldn't really ask for more.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, excellent views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoomSpY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

Traditional hotel with excellent customer service. Genuine hospitality by owner and staff. Very clean, and excellent food at on-site restaurant, yet reasonably priced for St. Moritz standards. Only 5-minute walk to nearest shops, restaurants, co-op, and ski lift, yet located in very quite section with good view of mountains. Bus stop right in front of hotel to take you anywhere you need to be. Added bonus: hotel's pet dachsund, Leo, will give you lots of kisses if you pick him up.

  • Liked — Convenience, cleanliness, excellent customer service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#21 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Corvatsch
Hotel Corvatsch
#24 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Via Maistra 50, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family style hotel, individual decor rooms, restaurant, banquet facilities, indoor pool & spa; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baeren Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing