We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for St. Moritz”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel Baeren is a very simple hotel surrounded by all the splendor that is St. Moritz. The hotel is charming in its simplicity. The staff is welcoming and friendly; the rooms are simple and clean; and the hotel is located walking distance to the central town and the Coviglia ski lift. The hotel has a spa area which includes a small pool, a sauna, and a steam room. The pool and the steam room are always available, whereas the sauna is only available on select days. Since I was on a ski trip, I really appreciated the ski looker downstairs where I was able to keep my skis and boots (the are boot warmers in the locker downstairs). Also since everything in St. Moritz is super expensive, I really, really appreciated the ample breakfast the hotel provided. On most days, I was able to skip the high priced lunches on the mountains, as a result of filling-up on the breakfast provided at the hotel. All in all, the Hotel Baren, is very simple. It reminds me more of an inn than hotel, but for the services it provides, you cannot beat it prices in a town like St. Moritz.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moipierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Baeren
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel is very clean, everyone in the front desk is extremely nice and helpful; the pool and sauna is amazing! breakfast is complimentary and there is always plenty to eat and choose from (cheeses, assorted fruits, breads, croissants, boiled eggs, cereals, assorted sandwich meats, yogurts, oatmeal) coffee, tea, orange juice, apple juice or water are the drinks of choice; you can put your ski equipment in your room or in a locker; you are across the street from the 2, 5, 6 bus that takes you to the mountain; if you happen to be out late partying you can substitute your room key for an outside door key

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have stayed earlier in this hotel and knew what to expect. The location is ok and the bus stop just in front of the hotel. It was very convenient for our short notice ski vacation over new year and we were very pleased that we could only have room with breakfast and were not obliged to half board and/or new years eve dinner.

Our room was very specious and it was very clean. Our daughter (6) had a nice small annex with her bed which could even be closed.

The swimming pool and the steam bath could use some renovation, but everything worked and we enjoyed having a dip in the pool after the skiing.

The service at breakfast and in the restaurant was very nice. The variety of items at the breakfast buffet was big enough for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erlenbach_zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main village area, or a 1 minute bus ride (helpful if you are wearing ski boots). Staff are nice. Breakfast was a typical Swiss style, as was dinner- both meat heavy but had some great options for vegetarian likes me. Rooms are a decent size, big enough for all the luggage that my father & I brought from Canada, and quiet. It seems that most rooms are newly renovated and our bathroom looked BRAND NEW.
The only thing which needs to be improved is the WIFI which is currently only available in the lobby so it gets busy at the end of the ski day when everyone comes down to check email etc.
Really well-priced for St Moritz.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadaleineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The Hotel Bären is very nice and well located right on main village bus route. Rooms are all a little different but spacious. Some have a balcony. Beds were soft with a fluffy down comforter. All have great views. Staff was very very helpful. Breakfast was typical continental buffet of meat, cheese, fruit , yogurt, soft boiled eggs, and fresh baked breads. Dinners featured local fare and were simple, delicious, with beautiful presentations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here one night while on a tour of Switzerland with Cosmos, so there were quite a few of us staying at the hotel! I absolutely loved it! It was such a cute hotel - not your typical cookie cutter hotel. Clearly an older building that is very well-kept. My room even had a small balcony! The room itself had the bed plus a separate sitting area! And a very large bathroom with double vanity sinks! Way more than I expected! Everything seemed extremely clean as well. There is a pool but we didn't get a chance to check it out. There are some shops and restaurants about a 10 minute walk into town from the hotel. Not too bad. Unfortunately, most things were closed since it was the evening in the fall - not yet ski season. Everything is fairly expensive, but very cute town! There's an amazing view of the lake with the mountains not far from the hotel!
Breakfast was very nice and well organized. With all of us on the tour there at the same time, they handled it very well! Typical continental breakfast - nothing too special there.
Overall, I loved this hotel and would definitely return! There's even a very cute dog behind the front desk who greets you and then runs back behind the desk on his own! Very homey feeling with a wonderfully smelling fireplace in the lobby! Free wifi in the lobby as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been told not to expect too much of the hotels in Switzerland. The Hotel Baren proved to be an exception to this. It has good sized bed, bath and sitting rooms and a balcony with beautiful views of the mountains behind St. Moritz.

The food was OK but not what I would normally order (Broccoli soup, ham and turkey and fruit salad).

There is no internet in the room but it is available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Unless you like carting your luggage up stairs then I suggest that you ask for a room that is close...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arte
Hotel Arte
#23 of 33 in St. Moritz
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#15 of 33 in St. Moritz
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#20 of 33 in St. Moritz
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Address: Via Maistra 50, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range: $184 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family style hotel, individual decor rooms, restaurant, banquet facilities, indoor pool & spa; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baeren Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing