We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely surprise in an overpriced town”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A Lovely surprise in an overpriced town”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a small hotel near the center of St Moritz. It is surprisingly affordable and very comfortable. The location is right at the bob sled run and the ski bus stops directly there. Very easy to get to anywhere you wish. For anyone who has been to St Moritz, you KNOW how horribly expensive it is. This hotel takes the sting out of the adventure. A lovely swiss hotel where the staff is always polite, the rooms squeaky clean and the duvets a delight. Large rooms and nice sized bath rooms are the added bonus. I highly recommend this for a wonderful, low key stay in a world famous alpine town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skier003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    50
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
34
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here with our Cosmos tour. It is at the upper end of St Moritz, so it is a short walk to the shopping area. It is an older typical Swiss hotel with lots of charm. No air conditioning but big windows that open. Some rooms have balconies. Our room had an extra side room with a Murphy bed. Wireless Internet free in the lobby. There was a charge to use the desktop in lobby. We enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna area. Nice breakfast and dining area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The hotel staff is friendly, the rooms are larger than most European hotel rooms and clean. the carpeting needs replaced. The dinner was excellent and a good value. Waiters were very nice and attentive. I would stay here again. Indoor pool, and a balcony which I enjoyed sitting on to read.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyHuntingtown_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Bareen as part of our Cosmos Train Tour of Switzerland. It is a "quaint" older hotel that is a significant distance (at least to us) from the town center. Apparently no two rooms are the same. We had a small, but adequate room with a good bathroom. It was not particularly clean. A good breakfast and an adequate restaurant. The staff was very friendly. Unfortunately a new hotel was being built next to it that will block any hope of a view. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay there, as we were mainly there to crash between train trips and not to see St Moritz. There was not much we wanted to see in St. Moritz.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmerTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

A good hotel in semi-central location. Close enough to walk to the ski slopes, basically close enough to walk anywhere in St. Moritz Dorf. Its close enough to all the clubs which will save a tab on the taxi bill. Nice pool and spa area. Half of the hotel is newly renovated. The "old" rooms are small and simple but comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giggles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbald, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Baeren hotel this month and I don't know why the reviews say that the staff was unfriendly. The hotel is about 103 years old and there is some construction at the site next door of a condo-hotel but we didn't hear any noise because we were out during the day touring. The breakfast buffet was very good and the dinners were very good as well. The internet service there was one swiss franc for 30 minutes which was the cheapest we had for the whole 8 days. The staff was very polite and accommodating and we would recommend the Baeren - it was about a 10 to 15 minute walk into the main area of town with an elevator down to the lake area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSArchbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

the owner cum receptionist was very rude with my wife ..we stayed as cosmos scenic tour of switzerland bytrain on 24 and 25 sept as guest.the room was small but the heart of this lady spoilt our mood in this heavenly country where everything looked perfect.

  • Liked — isolaeted place
  • Disliked — receptionist cum owners mis behaviour
  • Stayed September 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Moritz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.4 mi away
Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel
#16 of 33 in St. Moritz
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soldanella
Soldanella
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Steffani
Hotel Steffani
#17 of 33 in St. Moritz
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Via Maistra 50, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family style hotel, individual decor rooms, restaurant, banquet facilities, indoor pool & spa; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baeren Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing