We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint older hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Knoxville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quaint older hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here with our Cosmos tour. It is at the upper end of St Moritz, so it is a short walk to the shopping area. It is an older typical Swiss hotel with lots of charm. No air conditioning but big windows that open. Some rooms have balconies. Our room had an extra side room with a Murphy bed. Wireless Internet free in the lobby. There was a charge to use the desktop in lobby. We enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna area. Nice breakfast and dining area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    46
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

The hotel staff is friendly, the rooms are larger than most European hotel rooms and clean. the carpeting needs replaced. The dinner was excellent and a good value. Waiters were very nice and attentive. I would stay here again. Indoor pool, and a balcony which I enjoyed sitting on to read.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyHuntingtown_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Bareen as part of our Cosmos Train Tour of Switzerland. It is a "quaint" older hotel that is a significant distance (at least to us) from the town center. Apparently no two rooms are the same. We had a small, but adequate room with a good bathroom. It was not particularly clean. A good breakfast and an adequate restaurant. The staff was very friendly. Unfortunately a new hotel was being built next to it that will block any hope of a view. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay there, as we were mainly there to crash between train trips and not to see St Moritz. There was not much we wanted to see in St. Moritz.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalmerTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

A good hotel in semi-central location. Close enough to walk to the ski slopes, basically close enough to walk anywhere in St. Moritz Dorf. Its close enough to all the clubs which will save a tab on the taxi bill. Nice pool and spa area. Half of the hotel is newly renovated. The "old" rooms are small and simple but comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giggles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archbald, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Baeren hotel this month and I don't know why the reviews say that the staff was unfriendly. The hotel is about 103 years old and there is some construction at the site next door of a condo-hotel but we didn't hear any noise because we were out during the day touring. The breakfast buffet was very good and the dinners were very good as well. The internet service there was one swiss franc for 30 minutes which was the cheapest we had for the whole 8 days. The staff was very polite and accommodating and we would recommend the Baeren - it was about a 10 to 15 minute walk into the main area of town with an elevator down to the lake area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSArchbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

the owner cum receptionist was very rude with my wife ..we stayed as cosmos scenic tour of switzerland bytrain on 24 and 25 sept as guest.the room was small but the heart of this lady spoilt our mood in this heavenly country where everything looked perfect.

  • Liked — isolaeted place
  • Disliked — receptionist cum owners mis behaviour
  • Stayed September 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Moritz hotels

Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed here as part of a Train tour. This is a lovely homely hotel in a fairly quiet part of the town with an older feel. The meals are pleasant and the service efficient. It's a short walk to the town centre and the views in the area are supurb although we did not have these from our room on the second floor as a building was being constructed next door. Cow bells could be heard out the front of the hotel but not from our room which was large and had a balcony. There was a large pool however we did not use it.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Languard
Hotel Languard
#18 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Laudinella
Hotel Laudinella
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#30 of 33 in St. Moritz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#12 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.0 mi away
Berghotel Randolins
Berghotel Randolins
#19 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Via Maistra 50, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family style hotel, individual decor rooms, restaurant, banquet facilities, indoor pool & spa; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baeren Hotel St Moritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing