We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Everything you expect from a trip to St. Moritz comes to life at the Kempinski. Fantastic facilities, the SPA is superb, great decor, and location to the lift could not be better. Spoil yourself with a horse carriage trip at night to their mountain restaurant - you will not be disappointed - great views over St. Moritz at night, food, atmosphere and service are outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlorianWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 789 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2009

Stayed over for a skiing weekend. Exactly what you would expect for the price. Staff very welcome and professional, very organised with good ski storing facilities. Ski lift is just 2 mins walking from the main entrance.

Highly recommended if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Tried to check in after at 12.30pm after an overnight flight to be told that no rooms were available. We had to wait in the bar until after 2pm. With hindsight I think the unfriendly reception staff were just making a point that rooms are not available until 2pm, because we found the hotel (and St Moritz generally) very quiet in the week before Christmas. This attitude was not appreciated as we were keen to shower and rest after a long journey.

That was the bad first impression we had of the Kempinski but fortunately things did improve.

The rooms were well proportioned and very comfortable. The food in both the restaurant and bar was excellent, although predictably expensive. Apart from the cold reception staff the other staff couldn't do enough to help us and made a great atmostphere in the hotel. Its a shame the reception staff work so hard to create a bad first impression!

It was very cold during our stay (-20c) and at times I would say that the hotel was not particularly well heated. The area around the swimming pool was particularly chilly. We tried the spa which consists of a series of saunas and steam rooms with a lounge to relax. Bizarrely, for us, the whole area is a "fabric free zone" i.e. swim suits are not allowed although towels are. Why this is considered necessary was beyond us!

The hotels is convenient for the ski lifts but is otherwise in quiet a remote position 30 minutes walk from the centre of Davos. We had a car so only walked into the town once.

Overall the Kempinski is a good hotel with (mainly) excellent staff and facilities but it is a little out of the way and you pay heavily for what you receive.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank JJimBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

A delightful experience - rooms superb, staff welcoming and friendly and the facilities leave very little to be desired - all in a stunning location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LausanneFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

After sometime surfing the net we managed to find an "affordable" rate, it remained expensive but eventually was worth every penny of it. Classy without being snobbish (the service not the crowd!), very nice staff, rooms meeting our expectations and superb spa. If you can afford it, go for it you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

just arrived back home from the beautiful 5 star Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains.
Truly a 5 star hotel. Stayed at a nice Deluxe double room with balcony.
Go there, you wont regret it !!!

Pros :

- clean clean clean !!!
- beautiful well maintained room
- service service service, especially Mr Conrad (reception) & Oliver (driver) only Miss Catlain could be more smiling.
- free internet, via cable
- one of the best breakfasts ever, till 11 AM
- free limousine service in St Moritz
- in the summer free rides on all Mountain railways, if you stay more than 2 nights
- beautiful and big Spa/Wellness/Gym

Cons :

- I dont want to sound picky, but wifi would be better than internet via cable.
- if you choose to have breakfast in the room, they charge you the full breakfast rate, even if you have breakfast included. ( a small surplus would be ok)
- very very pricey restaurants

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebastianHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We spent 3 nights in a "deluxe double" room. The room is big enough, decoration is ok although colors are somehow monotonously. Due to the hotel location, rooms can't have a very nice view. Equipment of the room corresponds with expectations of a five stars hotel (tee/coffee making facilities would nonetheless be great), also the room service which prepares the room twice a day and leaves it very clean.

Breakfast is excellent, in choice and quality, certainly one of the best we had in our great luxurious hotel experience. We didn't try the restaurants because one of the three was closed, the second was also closed two of our three nights, and the third one serves in the same big hall where the breakfast takes place, not enough charm and cozyness for us. The bar has a great choice but also corresponding prices.

Facilities of the hotel are great. On arriving, you get a public transportation pass allowing you to use most of the cablecars of the district. If you like hiking, St.Moritz and Engadine is definitly a good choice. The pool of the hotel is very nice and looks like a thermal bath, but could be small if the hotel is full (apart from the numerous rooms, the hotel also proposes residences, so I can imagine hundreds of people having to queue up within the hotel). The wellness area is very nice, we didn't try the massages but made use of the 6 saunas. Also the sport room is well equiped.

To recapitulate : the hotel deserves its five stars rating but you have to pay for it (restaurant and bar are somehow expensive, having to pay to parking is a shame). Personnaly I prefer smaller hotels, but could not complain about this one.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaigDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#11 of 33 in St. Moritz
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#10 of 33 in St. Moritz
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz

Address: Via Mezdi 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range: $262 - $1,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski St. Moritz combines great hotel tradition with modern service. That is why demanding guests feel at home away from home. At the four restaurants the classical art of cooking with local products is interpreted in a modern way. The Kempinski the SPA offers wellness, pool, fitness and a personal trainer. Taste the Kempinski comfort in a relaxed atmosphere in one of 184 luxurious rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing