We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse hotel, don't stay there.. !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worse hotel, don't stay there.. !!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We wanted to treat ourselves and booked 3 days at Kempinski in St. Moritz, paying over USD 2000 per night. Normally you would imagine to get high quality in return but unfortunately not at Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains in St. Moritz. I can only recommend anybody who seeks a romantic stay to NOT book this hotel UNDER ANY CONDITION if you like to receive an appropriate service for the following reasons:
1. We arrived by car and parked as you would expect in the main entrance to get our luggage unloaded. However, instead of a friendly "welcome", he looked at us confused, almost questioning why we even parked in the main entrance to get our luggage unloaded. I had to explain in two different languages that we are guests and will be staying at this hotel and whether he can unload the car. Very unusual way of greeting their guests in such a apparently high standard hotel.
2. We booked a king-size bed. I explicitly called 4 months ago and requested it. We arrived and were given two single beds. We asked nicely and apparently it was impossible to get another room. Only when getting angry they apparently "tried". So, even if you call and book a specific condition like a king size bed, Kempinski is not able to fulfill their guest's request.
3. While waiting for the lady to sort out our room for 20 minutes, which in the end was not successful, we got offered a glass of champagne. Nice gesture you would think. But problematic was that both champagne glasses had sediment in it. We made a joke whether the hotel wanted to now poison us. Pity that this is Kempinski.. You would expect at least for them to get champagne right..
4. We were not successful to have a king-size bed room, although we booked it way in advance. To make amends, they offered to place a king size mini mattress on top to give the feel of a king size bed. After they told us they could not find a room with a king size bed, they forgot their offer so we walked into a room with 2 separate beds. We asked the person who walked us to our room to arrange to have the king size thin mattress placed on top, so a few minutes later the maids came…..when we returned to our bedroom after dinner, we realized that the maids had only placed a king size duvet but under that there were 2 separate mattresses without anything on top! So we went down to the front desk, told them for the 3rd time now (!!) to do what they offered to do, and that we would take a walk for 15 minutes to allow them time to do this. We return to the room later and a few minutes later the phone rung…They told us that all their maid staff had left for the evening! We insisted they take care of that….after all a romantic evening with beds that resemble being in camp is not exactly what we had in mind….eventually a maid showed up and she simply put a king sized sheet on top! We tried to tell her that it was not what we had been promised or described, but she unfortunately did not speak English or German…only Italian.
5. We were required to book half board and were told at check in that dinner is until 11pm. This was not a misunderstanding as we made a joke with the front desk member how both breakfast and dinner were from 7 to 11 (am for breakfast and pm for dinner). We arrived at the restaurant at 10:25 to a surprised hostess who told us the restaurant was about to close! Bad communication error? Again you have to get upset at them to get any effort to accommodate you and finally after a lot of negotiation they offered us to sit and eat
6. I wanted to open one of the steam food warmers to serve myself some pasta. They must have let it come to an end where it became dangerous, because when I opened the lid the steam came out so strong that it burned my hand so much that I screamed in the middle of the restaurant. I have little blisters and my fingers are swollen. How can something like this happen?

All in all, it is only our first day (more like 2 hours!!) but we both have stayed in many expensive hotels, including the Baltchug Kempinski in Moscow. But we both have never come across such poor service on the first night.

So to conclude: don't stay there, rude staff who is not able to fulfill basic requests, you might end up burned and really, it is not worth it !

We will keep you posted…with 3 days to go we are bracing for more and at least we can get some catharsis by sharing our experiences…

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 296Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski M, Manager at Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Mr 296 Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains.

I was extremely concerned to read of your disappointing stay with us and I apologize most sincerely for the inconvenience caused upon arrival and at the restaurant.

I can assure you that your stay was by no means representative of our usual high levels of service and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Thank you once again for the time during our phone conversation, I know this cannot change what you have experienced but I hope you can accept our honest apologies.

On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you back at the Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz in the near future.

Yours sincerely
The General Manager
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    131
    34
    21
    15
See reviews for
155
354
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monifieth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Outstanding hotel on all levels, staff are the best assett with no request too much trouble, extremely attentive and conciencious.

Little wonder the breakfast has been voted tops in Switzerland for three years.

The hotel fabric is immaclatly clean and well presented, the Swiss tapas restaurant is too expensive even for a hotel of this status, ie; 1 plate of cold meat and 1 rissoto with two drinks 110 euro! unfortunately cost forces the practical guest to venture out to the local restaurants which again only enhances the St Moritz experience, (try the Mongolian restaurant 500yds away).

Room was large and well appointed with bath and shower on suite.

Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanMasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We did stay at the Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains in St. Moritz for one night. We arrived quite early and had therefore as GHA Black asked before for early Check-In, which was no problem at all. The room was ready, check-in fast, friendly and very smooth. At the room, a very nice tray with some home-made cake and other sweets were arranged to welcome us. The room as well as the bathroom were very nicely decorated with old black-and-white fotos of the area and very clean. We even got an upgrade to a better room.

We then headed out to the SPA, where we were welcomed very warmly. The Spa is definitly one of the best in St. Moritz, it has a huge pool with a perfect, not too cold temperature. The variety of steam baths and Saunas is huge, there are several relaxing rooms with refreshments as teas, sirups, fruits and magazines, newspapers, books etc. A huge private spa area is provided for ladies only, which is not standard in Europe and done beautifully. The spa and pool area was superclean and very well maintained, the spa supervisor as well as various employees checked it often, dirty towels were replaced immediately, refreshments refilled, wet zones dried. When we left, we spa supervisor asked us if we had a good stay and said good-bye in person to all of us. A really superbe experience!

Since our friends arrived very late in the evening, we decided to have dinner at the hotel. Again it was no problem to eat late, even after the official closure time of the kitchen. Since the restaurant was already quite empty at this time in off-season, we were offered to eat from the full menu in the bar. The bar had live music by a talented pianist and is a extremely warm and cozy place with a huge fire place in the middle. Service again was excellent, since some of our friends are smokers, we were even offered to eat in a seperate lounge where smoking was permitted.

The food was excellent, all in all a very nice dinner again with a perfect, caring waiter.

When coming back to the room, the turn-down service was already there and did a nice job, leaving again chocolate - yummy!

The breakfast buffet in the morning was huge, even Asian food was offered. Again the service was superb, all wished were fulfilled with a friendly smile and within minutes.

When we checked-out, the luggage was picked up quickly and the bill was ready, took us no longer than 5 minutes although a huge bus group left at the same time.

We will definitly come back again soon, this place is also perfect for skiing as the ski lift is only a 3 minutes walk away.

The hotel is very well managed, the staff extrememly friendly, helpful and trained very very weill. A big compliment to the hotel manager, this place was outstanding, there was not a single negative or even neutral remark to leave. BRAVO!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryhotelsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After reading the reviews here, I booked this hotel on Orbitz. We stayed for 3 nights in early February 2010 (sorry for the delay). After taking several trains from Zurich, we were met at the St Moritz station by a hotel driver in a BMW SUV...very handy for our snowboard equipment brought from Chicago. I had mentioned to Orbitz that this was our wedding anniversary celebration, and was quite pleased to find that the hotel had done many special touches to acknowledge this.
Our room was upgraded to a suite, rose petals on the bed, sweets, wine, and a tapas plate were waiting for us.
The gondola is a short walk from the hotel grounds and the runs are nice and steep, if that's what you want.
The town is also a easy walk and is filled with world-class shopping and dining. We ate in a simple Swiss restaurant the first night, just walked in.
The pro shop at the hotel managed all of the snowshoes and boards we had brought along, the staff was engaging and professional, nothing was a bother (I even forgot a pair of my favorite LL Bean boots under a bench there, they shipped them back to The States for me, no charge).
The breakfast buffet is extensive and, unlike another reviewer observed, there is no attitude from the staff about wearing Juicy sweats. I actually took a photo of my wife wearing hers in the breakfast room (we got a kick out of that)!
We also dined in the Restaurant Cà d'Oro...this was truly amazing...one of the finest dining experiences of our lives. The St Moritz Gourmet Festival was going on that week, and the night we asked for a table in The Cà d'Oro a chef from Vienna was in the house...I honestly lost count of the courses.
The pool is and spa is superb, the fitness room is very well equipped.
This was an incredible experience, the staff was flawless...we had an absolutely unforgettable time at the Kempinsky St Moritz.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soopnatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have absolutely adored our stay at St. Moritz and this hotel as one of the best spots of the known hotel chain.
The hotel is ideally located to the city (close to funicular), in very quiet area and in walking distance to the lake and city center. The rooms are veeerrry comfortable and ergonomicaly designed. Sport shops in easy reach. Gourgeous montains views. Great breakfast. Great laaarge spa in minimalystic design (stones, wood), great pool with steelcase bedding (fantastic experience, century tech!). Great bar with live DJ at evenings. Fantastic service!! Highly recommended for romantic stay!! I wish we could stay longer than 2 days ... Hopefully next time!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olgetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Two weeks travelling around Germany and Switzerland this stood so far out as the best hotel we stayed in. Amazing all round. Staff made you feel at home. We had a delux junior suite and it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our stay with Kempinski was to celebrate a private milestone. This hotel's management philosophy is wonderfully communicated to all the way to the the junior most staff i.e., of good service and willingness to be helpful and be pleasant to guests. Our special moment was greatly recognised by all staff and made it special for us. The facilities were above par. However, it has to be stated that the restaurant tariffs were rather steep and fare offered sometimes peculiar.

Room Tip: Just express your preference, and am sure the hotel will provide it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaman186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#3 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
Carlton Hotel St. Moritz
#6 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Giardino Mountain
Giardino Mountain
#9 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nolda
Hotel Nolda
#7 of 33 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz

Property: Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
Address: Via Mezdi 27, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in St. Moritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski St. Moritz combines great hotel tradition with modern service. That is why demanding guests feel at home away from home. At the four restaurants the classical art of cooking with local products is interpreted in a modern way. The Kempinski the SPA offers wellness, pool, fitness and a personal trainer. Taste the Kempinski comfort in a relaxed atmosphere in one of 184 luxurious rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing